Calm expectation

every morning, Noah jumps onto my lap as I start to write

I was listening to a radio broadcast of, The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, the other day. At the conclusion of the program, they said that when C. S. Lewis was a teenager, he suddenly had a vision of a faun walking in the woods carrying a package. Many years later, he wanted  to write a book with this character in it, but had nothing except the picture in his mind of the faun walking in the woods. In a flash, a lion came bounding onto the scene, and the Chronicles of Narnia were born.

I loved this story for many reasons. It says to me that the life I desire is a work in progress, and even though I can’t see the entire picture from where I stand at this moment, it is coming together in a perfect way.  It’s comforting to me to remember that divine ideas have their own timing. When I can wait, in calm expectation; ready to act, but not forcing it, an idea, a suggestion from a friend, an opportunity, a new way of thinking about a perplexing problem, will come bounding into my life and bring with it the answers that I have been seeking.

“He who forces time is pushed back by time; who yields to time finds time on his side. The Talmud

19 thoughts on “Calm expectation

  1. Oh Mary and precious Noah,
    Another perfect post!
    I’m sitting with Simon (black cuddle kitty) in my lap, still working on my plan to send you a picture of the lovely cashmere quilt I won a while ago. Time is on our side! It will happen soon.
    Love from Fran

    • Thank you Fran. Your words, “It will happen soon”, are full of happy expectation!

  2. time has not been on my side lately. i don’t yet know how to balance all my tasks. new challenges (asked for and grateful that they have manifested)….the old life and work…..i feel like sisyphus pushing the rock up the hill again and again with no rest. how do i yield to time and find her on my side instead of chasing me up the hill?

    • It always helps me to gently repeat an affirmation like, “I have plenty of time. I am calm and centered and my life is working really well.” (and I do this especially when I feel like I am feeling overwhelmed by what seems like too little time)

  3. Before saving the White Feather Farm post for last, like savoring dessert after slogging through the daily email spam, etc., I first read the Abraham Hicks message for the day (who among us recommended that site? I really enjoy it, some days more than others) but today the “manifest” word jumped out as we have been talking about that lately. Here is the A.H. message for today:

    “This is always true: What I think and how I feel, and what manifests, is always a vibrational match. But here’s the big kicker: What manifests isn’t manifesting instantaneously. So, you’ve got all this buffer of time leeway that makes you sloppy… If you thought a negative thought and a brick would instantly fall on your head every time, you’d clean up your thinking. But you’re not here to be punished about your thinking. You’re here to use your thinking—and your focus—to create. ”

    And on a lighter note, the minute I read your words, dear Mary of Manchester, “Time has not been on my side lately”, I heard good ol’ Mick Jagger in the jukebox of my mind singing just the opposite: “Time, time, time IS on my side, yes it is!” For a blast from the past, here’s a listen: (and I guess time’s been pretty good to the Stones as they’re still a rockin’ and a rollin’ four decades later!) – all will unfold in its own precious time. Love to all.

    • Hi Susan…like you I savor Mary’s post like a wonderful dessert and several ‘snacks’ throughout the day…the perfect comfort soul and spirit food! Thanks for sharing the AH message…yes, I would certainly clean up my negative thinking if I felt the impact instantaneously. It’s a great way to think about it!

    • i’d forgotten about this one from the rolling stones. i still love them. thanks for posting, susan.

      both yesterday and today the posts are—-what can i say—messages that know where to find me. every post has something in it, but some are flat-out oh-my-god perfect.

      you are the gift that keeps on giving

  4. Mary, I love the CS Lewis story….a wonderful reminder that divine guidance is alive and working for us ALL. Thanks for your insights today about just letting things unfold while holding trust in our hearts and minds.

    And thank you Noah for guiding Mary with your lap dance…..my Orange Boy Felix also likes to sit on my lap while I’m writing on the computer….his plump self spreading over my legs, paws hanging over, purr warming me up for some good writing. I think animals just KNOW to trust in divine guidance instinctively….seems they’re hard wired for it.

  5. I used to read Savannah the CS Lewis stories when she was little. I loved them as much as she did! LBF (my black cat) likes to sit on my lap too while I am on the computer, he keeps my lap warm on cold winter mornings!
    As for time . . . I remember the time my husband was late for a meeting and went rushing out of the house, along the way he saw a fellow on the road that obviously needed help. He stopped and picked him up. Turned out someone had put a lit cigarette in the fellows eye and he was in great pain. Lee took him to ER on his way to the meeting. He got to his meeting on time! He always said it was a miracle and time somehow stopped while he took the time to come to this poor fellows aid. “He who yields to time finds time on his side”

    • Wow, Joanne,! and even if your husband had been late for his meeting, he certainly was right on time for the injured man. Another lyric pops into mind from the song “Right on Time”

      You can’t hurry my God
      No, no, no
      You just gotta wait
      You’ve gotta trust God and give him time
      No matter how long it will take
      But he’s a God we just can’t hurry
      But he’ll be there, don’t you worry
      I say he may not come when you want him,
      But he’s always “right on time!”

      On my walk after reading this morning’s post I also was thinking about the old spiritual Go Down Moses, the people “oppressed so hard they could not stand”, and Moses imploring Pharaoh to Let My People Go – and yet for many in this time on earth, oppression is all they knew or will ever know. No wonder the spirituals abound with lyrics of waiting on the Lord, patience, not expecting glory until passing through this earthly portal as Chery B put it yesterday. Makes me grateful for the freedoms we enjoy here.

    • i can never hear enough of these uplifting stories…thank you so much JoAnne for sharing it here!

  6. Calm, trust, and patience. A powerful trio. I have a favorite quote that transports me right back to those lazy, hazy summer days…gentle breeze blowing, the smell of grass, birds chirping, nodding off in a hammock…”Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine”…(from Dreamthorp by Alexander Smith). What a powerful message you give us Mary that I sit here having just read the winter weather advisory for snow tomorrow and your post instantly transports me to a summer hammock! I think I’ll stay here for awhile…

  7. Woo hoo—must be a musical day!! I’ve been sitting here singing, as much as I can remember, to all the songs mentioned above. I’ll add my two notes:
    “I’m sittin’ on the dock of the bay
    Watching the tide roll away
    Ooo, I’m just sittin’ on the dock of the bay
    Wastin’ time…… Otis Redding

    As for the art of calm expectation—I never made its acquaintance until I retired. The workaday world reinforces the Sisyphus in all of us unfortunately. Retreats, meditation breaks and just plain goofing off should be as high a priority for our society as the break-neck rat race we get swept up in. Just recharging here every day is a wellspring of respite; a mini-vacation!

  8. I love this post today! The words “calm expectation” resonate for me as well. And I love the words to the song “Right On Time”. When I get caught up in wanting things when I want them, which is usually immediately, I make myself take some deep breaths and focus on the moment, this moment, this moment, and that usually distracts me long enough to just be so grateful for Now! Then I can hold that space of calm expectation. Thanks, Mary, and everyone. :)

  9. Another great post Mary and all the comments as well. I know after I retired I felt so guilty to be able to sit and read a book in the middle of the afternoon. I didn’t think I was doing any constructive and I should at least be running my vacuum or dancing around with the dust rag.. I think now that sitting down with dogs on my lap, reading a good book or just plain day dreaming is time worthy and can replenish the soul.

Comments are closed.