Seeing beyond my eyes

"Sometimes a friend and a good cup of tea can save your life." Acrylic on very old board

Sometimes a friend and a good cup of tea can save your life.” Acrylic on very old board (details below)**…also, I am setting up a temporary gallery in Jack’s shop (30 West Main St. Cambridge, NY) beginning this weekend and ending with a show August 15th, 16th and 17th.

I’ve been painting a lot lately. I don’t need to discipline myself, set up a schedule, or carve out time, to do it. The desire is so strong, that it has swept everything (that could be a possible distraction) away, and so I am giving in to it and letting it carry me along.

This doesn’t mean that the little critical voice inside my head has been swept away too. It still says things like, “You should be writing more (and I’m sure that if I was writing more, it would then say, “You should be painting more”) What are you going to do with all of these paintings after they are finished? What if they don’t sell? What if no one likes them?…..”

Even though, up to this point, over 20 paintings have sold, and they have been met with appreciation, the little voice in my head doesn’t care about these petty details. Its job is to point out what is wrong or what could go wrong and if I believe it, it will stop me from going forward. My approach has been to notice it going on and on, about all sorts of potentially bad things, and to keep on painting.

There is such a huge difference between noticing and believing this voice.

The Spirit of Universal Love is the voice that I want to follow, and it offers non-stop guidance (in the moment, and for the moment) and I know it because It feels and sounds like a YES, it feels and sounds like a deep sigh, it feels and sounds like Love.

“The habit of seeing only that which our senses permit, renders us totally blind to what we otherwise could see.” From the book, Out of This World, by Neville Goddard

 

** this painting is done on a fabulous piece of old wood, (8 x 13 x 1 3/4th inches, and weighs almost 3 lbs) that came from an old warehouse by the ocean. I originally had the idea after having a cup of tea with a friend and feeling so much better. Suddenly the idea of a cup of tea (and a feathered friend) coming to the rescue made me smile. I’ll be happy to send you additional photographs if you would like them. More details can be found on MY ARTWORK PAGE    The cost of this painting is $175.00

11 thoughts on “Seeing beyond my eyes

  1. Mary, I love your work, and thank you for sharing it with us! We are fortunate to be following your inspiration as it sweeps you along…

  2. Dear Mary, your art is just lovely! And I love the quote from Neville Goddard. I’m so glad you are allowing yourself to be swept along with your paintings….the creative flow is such a powerful and healing presence.

  3. Hello Mary,

    Your reference to the little critical voice reminds me of a book “The Chimp Paradox” which is about exactly that and how to stop it. It’s written by Professor Steve Peters, a consultant psychiatrist, and although the title may sound flippant, it’s a serious book, but readable at the same time. You may already know about it, but in case you don’t I’d recommend you to look at the website.

    Kind regards,

    Carol (Shoreham-by-Sea, England)

  4. Mary ~ LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your painting! Please don’t stop…well you can take a break – but it appears to me that you were meant to share your talent. Thank You!

  5. Your talent is a force to be reckoned with! It is so unique and joyful. I wish I could have one of each. This was meant to be.

  6. Carolyn Myss identified this voice as our “saboteur”. As you described, it will tell us everything that can go wrong. How good that you were able to recognize it for what it was and not as truth.

  7. Mary – I took a look at your art page and I really love your style. Love the robin egg blue background, the antiqued gold crowns and bird imagery. I started thinking that they would make good note cards. Also, wonderful silk screened tea towels. Or prints suitable for framing. I hope you will consider this. Especially the note cards, as your art would be sent out into the world for others to enjoy. I will be your first customer.

  8. Dearest Mary,
    Will you paint any smaller versions of this? I love it and want to give it to my English sister-in-law counselor friend.

Comments are closed.