trusting in a plan that I cannot see

The baby mouse

Bernadette

Jack was cleaning out the garage the other day and emptied an old cardboard box, which he thought had junk in it, into the trash barrel, only to find, to his distress, a mouse-nest at the bottom. The mother jumped from the box into the rose bushes leaving a small, baby mouse at the bottom of the box. Not knowing what to do, Jack put the baby into the bushes at the same spot where the mother had seemed to go, but he felt terrible. The baby still had closed eyes and just a little fur.

We decided there wasn’t anything we could do, and hoped that the mother would return for her baby. An hour later, I heard one of our cats, Bodhi, making that cry (the sound that means he has caught something) and I went outside and saw him with the little mouse. My heart fell. I went back inside, but Bodhi’s meows persisted so I went out again, and then something amazing happened.

Bodhi looked at me, picked up the baby mouse (which was on the ground in front of him) trotted up the steps, and deposited it at my feet. When he was satisfied that I was going to take the mouse, he trotted away. I gently picked it up and could tell that it was unharmed. Bodhi had gone into the thickest, most tangled mess of old rose bushes, thorns, and undergrowth, retrieved this baby mouse, and carried it 50 feet, without even a slight injury to its tiny body.

I held this tiny creature in my hand and said to it?, “What am I going to do with you?” I didn’t think that it could live long without eating, so I sat in the studio with it in my palm, but as I looked at it I just felt like it wanted to live. It was about 9:30 a.m.and I had appointments all day, so Jack got a soft towel, and set it inside the studio (right next to the bushes where the mother had gone). We hoped that the mother would be able to find it in there and it would be safe and warm in the meantime.

When I checked on it again at 4 pm, I was hoping beyond hope that the mother had found it. She hadn’t, but it was still alive. I knew that I couldn’t take care of it myself since the next day I was going to visit my new grandson for a couple of days. Suddenly an idea came to me. Earlier this year, I’d met a man who did wildlife rehab and I wondered if he would take the mouse. The only problem was, I could only remember the town he lived in, not his name.

I went on the New York State Wild animal rescue website and tried to look through the names to see if anyone rang a bell. Finally, I just decided to call one of the names on the list and ask her if she knew of this man. It felt like a shot in the dark, because even if she did know who he was, would he take a mouse?

I left a voice message for a woman who lives about an hour from me, telling her about the mouse and asking if she knew the man I was looking for. Fifteen minutes later, she called back and said, “So you have a mouse! This is so odd. In all of the years that I’ve done wildlife rehabilitation, I’ve never gotten a call about a mouse until today, and you are the second one. When I took the first baby this morning, I was wishing that it wasn’t alone. Where do you live?”

Within an hour I was driving north to meet a woman who I can only call an angel. As I drove along, the name, Bernadette came to mind, and I thought this was a good name for my tiny friend. I arrived at the meeting spot and after filling out the official paperwork, this wonderful woman took my tiny friend home with her. Driving away, I felt like I was a part of, and a witness to, the Living Web. It brought me to tears.

The following day, as I drove to my son’s home, thinking about my precious grandson, who I would soon be holding in my arms, I also thought about the little mouse who was being cared for, and who even had a tiny friend to keep it company. I turned on the radio and was flooded with goosebumps. The song, Bernadette, was playing.

 

“Everything in life is interconnected. If we could see these connections, we would be instantly relieved of all of our fears and worries about the future.” Alan Watts

17 thoughts on “trusting in a plan that I cannot see

  1. What a wonderful story about the connections of life…you, Jack, the Mommy mouse, Bernadette, Bodhi, the angel animal rescue lady, the nameless wildlife rescue man, the other person who called about a mouse, and the other baby mouse…nine lives intimately connected in that very instant to celebrate life. I wish I could recall where I read this, but several months ago I read a piece that called goosebumps, “thrill bumps”. And the author suggested that the experience of thrill bumps was that moment when we are totally connected, totally close to and one with God, vibrating at our highest energy, and feeling the intimate connection to all around us. And while I know for sure that we are all connected, it is so cool, hence the thrill bumps, when we feel it so deeply. That swell of love that floods our soul, our heart, our body from the inside out, to gloriously and pleasurably remind us that we are One. Love to you!

  2. Dear Mary, what a wonderful, heart-lifting story! Little Bernadette’s presence in everyone’s lives who encountered her was conspired by a divine force that thrives and vibrates through each and every one of us. I am so glad you followed your heart and pursued (with Bodhi’s help :)) a rescue home for her. Your experience with Bernadette and all the people and animals who she brought along with her….reminds me that everything is interconnected….always. Thanks for such an inspiring story and for sharing your beautiful soul with so many others.

  3. Many years ago I heard the term “familiar other” which I was informed describes how pets mirror their caregivers behavior. One more facet in the diamond of this term polished. Thank you!

  4. What a beautiful story. The tiny mouse was like the mustard seed. That little life brought so many connections into being and so much love.

  5. I had to smile, because I have a little human friend named Bernadette. This was also my aunt’s name. Here, in the Los Angeles area, there are not many who would go to your extremes to save a mouse. I’m a person who captures and releases spiders to the outdoors, so I think we are kindred spirits.

  6. Bodhi sure knows his Mama well, bringing little Bernadette to you, Mary. How amazing nature is – one would think she’d have been a mid-morning snack for Bodhi, but what a different ending to the story. Not many people would drive an hour in their car for a little mouse, – that’s our Mary!!

  7. Have been out of the loop for awhile, Mary. What a sweet post to return to!

    Huge congrats on the birth of your grandchild! Enjoy every minute!

  8. you have such grace in your life. . .I think it’s because of your goodness which enables you to ‘see’ so much.. so glad the sweet little Bernadette found a home and a pal. . . xo

Comments are closed.