The best day of my life

Today (acrylic on old 2-piece board)

Today (acrylic on very old wood)*

Yesterday was the best day of my life. I got up early and took my cup of strong, black, coffee outside where I sat on my very soft upholstered chair (that barely fits on our tiny front porch) and said, “Today is the best day of my life.” I’ve been doing that for a few weeks now, and when I remember, I also say it during the day.

It seems to open new ways of seeing….like the magic words, “Open Sesame”. I consider these words, “Today is the best day of my life” a prayer. I am setting an intention and alerting myself to be watchful for the wonderful things of life that are just waiting to be recognized.

I don’t say these words because I have just bounded out of bed full of the feeling of joyful expectation. i say them because this is how I want to be…and as I repeat them I do begin to feel an inner change. Coincidentally (and I do not believe that anything is coincidental) some incredible opportunities have presented themselves in the past few weeks.

So as I say good morning to all of you today, I wonder if you’d like to join me in saying, “Today is the best day of my life!” It costs nothing to try…except of course a possible confrontation with that egoic mind which might say back, “How can you say that? Your life is a mess! It’s easy for Mary to say or someone else (anyone but you) but your life is far from good and this day can’t possibly be the best. You’ll be lucky if it isn’t the worst!” …thank god you don’t have to feel a certain way to call it into being.

We have the power to change our minds (and our lives) through our thoughts and words, and knowing that, I will boldly claim, (as I sit here writing on my couch, fully aware that after I post this, I’ll be cleaning up the mess that our elderly kitty, Noah, just vomited in the corner of our living room) “Today is the best day of my life!”

 

Words  are singularly the most powerful force available to humanity. We can choose to use this force constructively with words of encouragement, or destructively using words of despair. Words have energy and power with the ability to help, to heal…..” Yehuda Berg

 

* this painting, along with a few others, is for sale on MY ARTWORK page

 

 

18 thoughts on “The best day of my life

  1. As I write this I am at the Buffalo, NY airport experiencing a 4 hour flight delay. How wonderful to be saying that “Today is the best day if my life!”
    Wishing you all a happy day 😊✈️

  2. Thank you, Mary. You’ve set the tone for my upcoming week and more, going forward. My life responsibilities are overwhelming lately. I will use this affirmation to change my perspective on it.

    Enjoy your day. Make it your best! :)

  3. Mary, truly, today is the only day of my life, this is all I have, this moment in time. You’re right, words control our minds and how we look at our life. This is a good mantra you have placed before us today. It’s like a breath of fresh air cleaning out my mind,
    SandyP…in Canada, over the border from where Marion is taking her flight today

  4. Dear Mary, thank you for such a positive and powerful statement! I am particularly in need of this reminder to use my words to create what I really intend for my self and my loved ones. I will be using this lovely mantra throughout my day and for the days to come!

  5. When I take my early morning walk, I will join in with everyone here in this beautiful invitation to the new day – it is ours for the making. Imagining others in our flock saying the same words sort of laces us all together in such a lovely way. Thank you Mary!

  6. Whoa…Before I even opened my laptop lid, there it was. This vibration, this unexplained energy, wafting through the ether and atmosphere, crossing many plains, cresting mountains, fording untold rivers and streams, emanating east to west, I think. I could feel it. Like one absorbs the pulsing of chants or hymns. SMACK–it hit me.
    TODAY IS THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE!!
    You guys are powerful—keep it up! You’re all the best. :)

  7. One curious thing I’ve found is that there’s a point in my morning shower in which everything becomes okay with the world – i.e., that today will be a good day. It doesn’t usually happen when I’m first out of bed, but about 2/3 of the way through my shower. Not sure why, but I do know it consistently comes to me about that time. And it does help to go forth into the day and have a good day after that!

    Thank as always for sharing. You come up with the best insights!

    Nancy

  8. Often times I add to your statement – “…and this is the first day of the rest of my life!!” What a great reminder to live in the NOW. Thanks for sharing. Mary Ann

  9. Cheryl-beautifully expressed, Nancy -when you said you find good thoughts washing over you in your morning shower, my experience too! Susan – we seem to enjoy our morning walks… Every kind soul here- I am so happy to read your words. And Mary – this week I have been thrown back into a family crisis (..having to do with my 94 yr old mother ‘s broken hip. ) there was a lot of tension, drama , family button pushing etc. However your posts have helped me keep centered and on course. Even in the middle of everything I am realizing that even a crisis is not really a crisis as long as all intentions are for the best possible outcome. So I am ready to understand and also proclaim that today is the best day of my life.

  10. Intentions send out energy to make it so. Thank you, Mary. This is the best day of my life.
    I thought of Lynn McTaggart’s book The Intention Experiment. She puts the research with the belief that intentions do in fact have power.

  11. Mary, you’re so right. We can’t change the weather, or other people, but we can change our thoughts, and thoughts can change actions/reactions, I wish I’d understood this when I was younger, but better late than never!
    Thank you!

  12. Thank you Mary, I will say this every morning I open my eyes to a new day. Today is the best day of my life. Cheryl b, you always make me smile – thank you.

Comments are closed.