a contest

My skin balm!

This post is a bit different than the others and I felt a bit unsure about proposing it because I did not want you to think that I was plugging my product on my blog. …well, I guess I am…sort of, but I am more interested in getting increased exposure on the web and thought that I could do that by holding a little contest.

I got this idea from a very fun website of Elizabeth Harper’s, http://www.sealedwithlove.com. I met Elizabeth a few years ago and she is very funny and full of fun and started running a weekly give-away on her website which I love entering, even though I haven’t won yet (my sister Jayne did though).

I will ask you a question (answer to be found by looking at my website) and you can post  the answer as A. B. or C.

When did I begin making the balm? (answer is on the History page)

A.. in the late 80’s

B. In the mid 90’s

C. In 1997

my website is: http://www.marysskinsurvivalbalm.com

I’ll randomly choose one winner withthe correct answer, and send you a free gift of the balm that I make:  Mary’s Skin Survival Balm .

Good luck (although I do not believe in luck) and I will choose a winner on March 12th which is, according to my calendar, Plant a Flower Day.

Love and fun,

Mary

53 thoughts on “a contest

  1. Hi Mary,
    The answer is B. If I don’t win, I will definitely buy some. Looks like a great product!
    Diane

  2. Hello Mary,

    Thank you for the opportunity to enter your contest…the answer is 1997… I wasn’t sure just where to enter?

    I’ve been reading your most interesting blog which I discovered by reading Bedlam Farm’s amazing daily journal/photos/youtube videos…those soulful donkeys
    make me smile each day…Jon is an amazing author.

    I’m so grateful and enjoy growing/learning through the amazing “friends” I’ve found through my computer visits.

    Thank you,
    Sue Vincent

  3. The answer is B. Ooh, I hope I win, I hope I win. But even if I don’t I need to try something different on my cracked heels. This cold winter has done them in!

  4. Answer to your contest:

    Has to be B because you’ve been making it for over 14 years which would have been C.

    Still enjoying your posts. Keep them coming!

    Mary N.

  5. Well, Mary, this is a bit tricky because you state that you have been making the skin balm for over 14 years. 2011-14 = 1997. In the history section, you state that you have been making it since the mid 90’s. So the answer could be either “b” or “c”. However, since you said that the answer was in the history section, I am going for “b.”

  6. The answer is B.
    I really enjoyed reading about your product and in fact just ordered some. I found out about you by reading posts by Jon Katz, whose books I love, and who I am friends with on facebook. I love how easy it is to connect with like minded people today.
    I lived in the mountains of New Hampshire for 2 years back in 2000-2002. I was recently divorced with 4 grown kids and needed an adventure, so I built a log cabin in a remote area. I painted and roamed the forest for 2 years and had a grand time. I learned to heat and cook with wood and mostly how to be strong and peaceful.
    I am now back in Wisconsin enjoying my 4 sons, a daughter, 4 grandchildren and my painting. Oh, and I am living happily ever after with my former husband. Go figure!
    I look forward to reading your posts.

  7. The answer is B. I loved reading about your product and your family. Thank you for the opportunity to enter your contest!

  8. The answer is B, but, like others, I wan’t sure just how to tell you this. Perhaps if you continue the contest, you might have directions on how to enter with an answer.

    Thanks, Carole

  9. Mary, I love your idea of a contest to gain a little exposure for your product. I have read about it and do plan to order if I don’t win. Sounds like great stuff and I love how you say you make it when you are in a good mood… I love that! The answer is b!

  10. Hi Mary
    I have loved reading your blog everyday, after Jon Katz introduced it on his blog.
    It is the first item, that I read in my morning email.
    The answer to your question is B. The ingredients sound great and very natural.
    I would be excited to win!

  11. Hi Mary,
    The answer is B. I think a lot of us would like to know how to buy this, if we don’t win. -Suzanne

  12. I’m gonna go with B, although it could possibly be B, or maybe B, but I’m gonna stick with B. Good morning, Mary! 🙂

  13. B. mid-nineties. I used “Mary’s Skin Survival Balm” on my face just last night before going to bed. I bought it at The Village Store in Cambridge on Main Street ( I volunteer there). I had seen it before and almost bought it because my name is also Mary and I liked the tin. But I actually bought it last month, while working there & reading on the tin that it was a product of “White Feather Farm”. I use it often. From one Mary to another, Thank You: I endorse you & your product!

  14. Mary,
    The answer is B – mid 90’s. Your product sounds wonderful. I’m going to have to buy some.

    I enjoy your posts so much. They lift me up. I find myself saying what a wonderful post and feeling great after I read them.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  15. The answer is B. I did order some and will certainly keep this in mind as a gift source also. Thank you. I love getting up every morning and reading your blog and think about it all day. Thank you, found you through Jon Katz’s blog also. Love you both.

  16. The answer is B. I enjoy reading your blog each day – it always makes my day a little bit brighter. I, also found out about you from Jon Katz’s blog. I look forward to ejoying your blog for a long time to come.

  17. Mary thank you, there is so much to be thank ful for. Over the past couple of weeks since I started reading your blog, (found it on Jon Kats blog) I find so much to be thankful for, and now when I’m frustrated, and feeling down as I was yesterday, I realized this feeling and situation was actually a blessing.

    And the answer is B!

    Carol Davis

  18. YAY!!!! What a fabuliscious idea for your wonderful gifts:) If you do this again let me know and I’ll add it to my newsletter. In the future we could have a SUPER DUPER UBER PRIZE GIVEAWAY!!! and invite all our mates to give away prizes and add them to their newsletter and they would promote our giveaways in their newsletters and we would promote them, oh I like that idea…..when shall we start? I wonder if there is a “Give Away a Gift” day just like the Plant a Flower Day? Hmmmmm……just flew in to say hello….off now……XXXXX

  19. The correct answer is B! I’m a new reader (as of yesterday) of your blog, but expect to become a regular.

  20. The answer would be B.

    I’m enjoying your blog very much Mary. I can’t wait to receive your balm. I ordered one for my mom, too.

    Have a nice day, til tomorrow!

  21. The answer is B! Please enter me in the contest and thanks for the opportunity to win. I am a daily reader and am inspired by your comments. Thank you.

  22. I have been wanting to ask you if you are familir with Susan Wittig Albert and her wonderful herb books and website?

  23. The answer is B.

    Thanks to Jon Katz for introducing you to me. Your thoughts help clarify my own, as do his…

  24. Yay! A contest. I love to enter contests but so far haven’t won very often but forever optimistic. The balm sounds wonderful. I’ll have to try it.

    I’m new to your website but love it….it resonates with me. Thanks for making it a staple in my day.

  25. I choose “B”

    Love your blog and appreciate how much you share with us. You brighten my day and have contributed to changing my daily attitude. Thank-you!

    • thank you Jean! I tried to email you but it bounced back…I appreciate your following my blog!

  26. Great idea Mary – I appreciate your daily comments and thoughts. The answer is B – mid-90’s. Can think of great use for the salve.

  27. Hi Mary,

    The answer is B….

    I love your skin balm. Dave was just saying we need to place and order.

    Thank you for all you do!!

    Jenn

  28. Hi Mary,
    Answer is B – mid 90’s. Thanks for the chance to participate.
    I am a new blog reader; started after Jon Katz mentioned the blog. Thank you, and thank you to him, too.
    Jan

  29. as i went to your webpage for the answer, I was thinking that for sure I would win, because I really don’t need this product — but after reading about it, I realize I DO need it, so now probably won’t win 😉
    almost forgot — the answer is “B”

Comments are closed.