I’m ok

Life is good!

Travelling to cities for me is a big deal and truthfully, I just don’t like them….I want to like them. I want to say how exhilarating it is being in a cultural center, but my entire being is generally saying something different like, “Get me out of here!” There is a line from the movie Shirley Valentine (one of my favorites) where she is out with some girlfriends and they are talking about sex. She says, “I think sex is like supermarkets, you know, overrated. Just a lot of pushing and shoving and you still come out with very little at the end”. I have to admit, this is how I feel about cities.

But I also know that it is important to stay as centered as possible, no matter where I am. I realize that my external circumstances are really far less important than what is going on inside of me. When I am feeling less than good, I need only check to see what I have been thinking and ask myself if I have been mentally critical of people or the situation. If I am walking around thinking how much I don’t like something, then I am not going to have a good experience. I can’t blame anyone or anything outside of myself for that.

At one point during my trip, I was trying to make my way through the crowds, feeling overwhelmed, and saw this little dog just standing with an empty Poland Springs bottle in his mouth. He looked so funny and cute.  I sat down on the steps a few feet away from him and felt happier….it was as if he was saying, “Everything is fine, you’re ok.  Stay centered. Drink some water….or chew on the empty bottle…whatever!”  Animals can be so grounding….such great reminders of what is important; like laughing more and not taking life so seriously.

9 thoughts on “I’m ok

  1. Now THAT is one of my all time favourite films!! I actually own a copy of Shirley Valentine, pre-dvd/cd tho.

    Largest town I can cope with is Falmouth, Cornwall, UK, where my family live. Walkable (just have to re-learn where the cars are coming at me from), incredibly scenic, my happy place. Cheers, Shelagh.

  2. Mary, I print so many of your posts and file them for future reference. I also forward them to a friend and a family member…both deep thinkers who are open to learning and, as we all are, sometimes struggling to find their way. I write this morning to ask (again, I think :o)) whether you are planning to make a book of your blogs. You must! So readable, enjoyable, full of wisdom and guidance. I think the sun may actually come out today…have a lovely day. Kay
    PS Something happened to my first comment…it posted without a message (not that I could have typed a wrong key or pushed a wrong button, of course!).

  3. It is so true what you said about the external circumstances vs. the internal dialogue, thanks for the reminder, Mary!

    It’s important to stay connected. In my line of work, I do a lot of traveling – and it is hard being out there in the big world. I make a point to fix in my mind a peaceful moment – as I did yesterday – sitting on a fallen log in the woodland down by the river amongst the early spring wildflowers and wild leeks, watching the river flowing by … and – I try to bring it into the fore at times that try the soul – in the hard moments of being away.

  4. Interesting post in line of my own recent experience. Hmmmm
    I just returned from staying on the 12th floor (anything higher than 1 floor is too much for me!) of a hotel in a city. I had a marvelous time except for the sleep part. The sirens made me concerned about what was happening. I truly have become accustom to quiet. Last night at home, I came to w/ coyotes talking. I smiled and went back to sleep until birds brought me back. Nice.. Love it..

  5. I so agree with you Mary. City life is stressful for me too. Where I live there are no street lights, sidewalks or freeways. My family can’t understand why I chose to live in this “God forsaken” place! Quite frankly I have a hard time finding God in the city. I opt to listen to the coyotes howl and the birds chirpping rather than sirens and brakes screeching. Each to his own! We all have our own comfort zones. I’m glad you are back!

  6. Funny that we grew up in the same small town and feel exactly the same way about cities, well, big ones anyway. I’m usually OK once I get there but just the thought of going there as I plan a trip can often make the anxiety level begin to rise. Just maybe it’s the cities I’m heading to in the U.S. I’ve been to Europe and never felt uneasy in the cities there…hmmm, something to ponder…

  7. Good morning, Mary! First, LOVE the picture of the bully… our beagle also enjoys empty water bottles as chew toys! Second, what struck me most about your post today is when you were describing how you “check yourself” if you’re not feeling 100% by assessing if you’ve been thinking badly about something. I love my mother dearly. That being said… that woman is perhaps the single most negative person I’ve ever encountered in my life! To her thinking, nothing is as it should be, no one is treating her with respect and compassion, and nothing will ever be good again… EVER. And she’s honestly baffled as to why something happens that she didn’t want to happen. Mother, meet Karma… Karma, I believe you’re already familiar with my mom. She even goes so far as to wish bad things on other people! Oh my goodness, she frustrates me to no end with this negativity! But she just doesn’t see the connection between her negativity and the negativity that comes back to her.

    Okay, I don’t know where I was going with this. Perhaps I just needed to vent. Thanks for letting me vent, Mary! 🙂

    Hugs!
    Deanna

  8. AHHH. All is right with the world; Mary is back at the keyboard. You were greatly missed! And I concur with Kay Owen—your thoughts and insights would make a wonderful book or daily diary; grounding in smiles for all of us who are fortunate enough to read this blog.

    I have a hand painted sign over my dinner table which reads:
    ” blessed are we who can laugh at ourselves
    for we shall never cease to be amused.”

Comments are closed.