only happy in pairs?

There is a great scene in the movie Enchanted April where, after everyone has had an awakening, the elderly woman, Mrs. Fisher (played by Joan Plowright) says to Lottie and her husband, “Everyone has paired off. It seems like the world can only be happy in pairs.” Lottie then gives her a kiss on the cheek and says, “Then you and I will be a pair Mrs. Fisher.”  We all need to feel that we are loved, cared for, and special to someone; that when we walk into a room, someone’s eyes light up.

I was watching Oprah yesterday and she was talking about her epiphanies. One was when Toni Morrison basically asked, “What does your face look like when your child walks into the room and sees you? Are you always checking for what is out-of-place or do they see that you are delighted to see them?”

I have a friend, Tim Ide, who when I call (usually to talk to his wife Jenness) and say, “Hi Tim, this his is Mary” , he always says in this most cheerful voice, “Well hello!” I really love calling them, and I know that part of the reason is that he seems happy just to hear my voice.

So even though I can’t see you, I am sending you all a big smile, and hoping that you know how much I appreciate you being a part of my life through this blog!

Below is a wonderful National Geographic clip about an unlikely pair, an orangutan and a dog…

13 thoughts on “only happy in pairs?

  1. I was treating myself to a read in bed this morning when I heard my phone ring with an email notice and when I saw “White Feather Farm”, I knew I was in for a bonus treat. Thank you for a couple minutes of treat most days, Mary. I too am always happy to “hear” your voice. Here’s to a peaceful world where we could all realize and appreciate those that are special in our lives.

  2. You speak to the heart and do feel like a dear friend. Thank you for caring about others!
    I so love this video of dedicated hearts. I have two Labradors Retrievers. Lily, a Therapy/Hospice dog and Luna Lovegood, her daughter each have dedicated hearts. Makes my heart smile!
    enjoy and Thank you!

  3. Hi Mary,
    Thank you again for your great post. I love the video and wish the whole world could fellow their example. What a wonderful world it would be.

  4. Mary, your post today reminded me of a dear friend who passed 6 yrs ago. Whenever I would call her she always would greet me with genuine delight in her voice. What a gift. Thanks for the reminder to give the gift of a cheerful greeting to others.

  5. Wonderful video! And believe me Mary, regarding your daily blog? The pleasure of it and the “happy to hear you” is ALL ours!

  6. I had the pleasure of seeing a young mother and son greet each other after being apart for only a few hours. The expression on their faces was pure joy!

  7. Your post and video are so heart warming I had to immediately send it to my sister and friends. Thank you!

  8. Such a funny, sweet video. I wish more people were as loving & giving as that orangutang, Surya and as trusting and receptive as Rosco, the dog.
    I sent the video to my children & my sisters. Thanks, Mary

  9. Sending a big smile back at you~ I read your blog each morning before I start my day. Your words bring me calm & peace each day – great way to start the day!!!

    : )

  10. I love the video Mary! These loving creatures can teach us a thing or two about acceptance and looking beyond what divides us. And about your blog, well let me just say reading it is a gift to us all, thank you!

  11. Thank you for the big smile. I can feel it. Since I started reading your blog, I have found myself at difficult times or annoying situations asking myself what Mary would say about it. And you know what — my attitude changes and things are better. Thank you.

Comments are closed.