Why wait? Admit the greatness of today

The Battenkill River

A couple of days ago, We went tubing on the Battenkill River. You never know, here in the northeast, how many hot days there will be, so when the forecast says 90 degrees and sunny, if we can, we go tubing. Half way through the trip, one of our friend’s tube sprung a leak. We doubled up and made it to the end and as we were getting out of the water,  I said, “Oh, it is going to be hot over the next week and you guys will be out a tube.” Our friend’s wife said something like, “He will be on-line tonight ordering a new one and it will be here in a day. He always has important things delivered overnight.”

I was impressed. I almost always go for the “super-saver shipping”, which is free and can take a couple of weeks to arrive. With some things, that I really don’t need, I am ok with that. But the idea that I could miss the window of opportunity for an entire season of tubing to save $20 is not acceptable anymore to me. I didn’t used to be so concerned about money. Getting a river tube overnight would have been a “need” when I was younger. I am tired of saying that life was easier back then. I want to take full-advantage of every moment of life. I do not know what tomorrow will bring and I won’t be worrying about it if I am living well now.

We seem to be going through a period of nostalgia, and everyone seems to think yesterday was better than today.  I don’t think it was, and I would advise you not to wait ten years before admitting today was great.  If you’re hung up on nostalgia, pretend today is yesterday and just go out and have one hell of a time“.  ~Art Buchwald

19 thoughts on “Why wait? Admit the greatness of today

  1. I love your quote! It is already all alright…and now.. What fun to be living…can’t go back, can’t go forward.. the photo is of now.. How good is that!!!! Thanks!

  2. Great post, Mary! The older I get, the more able I am to live for whatever good is in the moment. The way I look at it is, I’ve already lived much longer than I thought I would, so let’s get the good stuff in before it’s REALLY time to croak.

    Thanks for another great reminder.

  3. Yesterday I splurged on a bright orange (couldn’t resist the cheer!) double insulated thermal type cup (holds a whopping 24 ounces) at lovely little cafe we have hear called Wildflower. Yes, it was $9.99 and I didn’t really NEED it, but I was so hot, Arizona, you know – and I had a particularly great yoga class, and I found a Sponge Bob sheet set for a little boy I am going to be taking care of this weekend, and on and on. I was just so enjoying my little time out all by myself, and I just went for that orange cup! I love little things that end up reminding me of an especially lovely day, a “just because” kind of remembrance. Yes, seize the day! I have a funny cousin who reminds me from time to time that his mother said to enjoy every moment ‘this side of the sod’! Love to all.

  4. Mary – What a great post! I laughed out loud at the Art Buchwald quote and then again when I read Suzanne’s comment. This blog never fails to make my day. Thanks, all!

  5. I love that when I read your blog & see the pix of the Battenkill River – I can be there in 15 mins. My daughter took our Labs yesterday afternoon. I’ll admit that I haven’t been tubing yet this year – but have that planned for Sunday – oops that’s not today. I am throughly enjoying today. Just got back from Yoga at the new “Y” in Greenwich. There was an “inconvenient” detour due to road work. I saw a part of Greenwich countryside I hadn’t seen before! “Twas a grand detour, ’twas.
    P. S. Love ” the other side of the sod” comment.

  6. Hi Mary,
    You remind me to play. I’ve got to stop thinking in terms of daily “to do” lists and just roll with life and learn to play again. Thanks for the nudge!!!!

  7. What a fun post & comments today! Love the “til it’s really time to croak” quip, made me laugh out loud after three long days out of town at a less-than-scintillating class! Thanks, Feather Flock.

  8. Mary – that’s called WISDOM. It’s amazing some of the stupid things we did younger, like not spending $20 and denying ourselves so much fun. Yep, been there and done that one.

    Nancy
    http://www.dogear6.com

  9. Mary- you r so observant and tell the best stories. More importantly, let’s go tubing when I get home!!
    Xo

    • I just ordered 2 more river tubes and a floating picnic basket in honor of your return!

  10. You can’t be hung up on yesterday or living each day for the future…need to enjoy today and each today that comes after. I’m having a great day already having spent time with you this morning, Mary, and reading your words of wisdom…how did you get so wise, my friend? Hope you have lots of sunny and warm days this summer to enjoy those tubes!!!
    xoxo

  11. Thank you, Mary, for the lovely daily words. I am borrowing your Art Buchwald quote for my FB page. I love it and wish more would realize that today is important.

  12. Eventually we do get it right-the very important things that make for a sweeter, better life! Thanks for the inspiration and sage advice shared! Amen!

Comments are closed.