Heaven on Earth

my morning coffee spot and new wind chime

I went out yesterday evening to shut my cars windows before it rained. The sweet guy who mows our lawn had just left and as I walked around the back of my car I noticed that the rear window was shattered. A stone must have flown up from our driveway and hit it. I am sure that he didn’t notice it as he zipped around on his riding mower, with his protective headset on.

I felt stunned and thought, “I should do something, but I am not sure what that is!” It was 6 pm and too late to call for an appointment to get it fixed. I decided to cover it with a blue tarp and went back inside. I sat down to read and opened to the words, “Heaven on earth is happening simultaneously with the way our lives are showing up, right now in this moment. The trick is to be able to access this coexisting state, day in, day out, moment by moment, not just when in pleasant, ideal circumstances.”

I was going to take a picture of my car to post with this blog and then thought, “So many wonderful things happened yesterday, why would I choose the one thing that felt not great to capture forever and show to the world?”  We do this sometimes. We “showcase” our pain/drama/chaos because it makes captivating reading, telling. It also becomes a way of life, and leads to a very emotionally rough ride.

As I repeated to myself, “This is not a big deal, the solution will be perfect”, and kept saying these words to myself, my emotions calmed down too and I started to feel the way that I wanted to feel instead of letting my thoughts/feelings take me on a wild ride and leave me exhausted and depleted at the end (still with a broken windshield that had to be taken care of today). It has taken me many years to realize that I can choose how to think about anything.

I ordered the windchime, in the picture above, last week and it came yesterday too. It is really magnificent. Yesterday was a great day. Today is a great day.

A particular train of thought persisted in, be it good or bad, cannot fail to produce its results on the character and circumstances. A man cannot directly choose his circumstances, but he can choose his thoughts, and so indirectly, yet surely, shape his circumstances”  James Allen  (1864-1912) from the book, As A Man Thinketh (a great little book by the way!)

10 thoughts on “Heaven on Earth

  1. Isn’t it amazing how big a revelation it is that we can choose our own thoughts? It has taken me years to come to that realization as well!

  2. In sync, again. Just came in from looking at the morning mist over the mountains with my coffee to read about your favorite morning coffee spot!

    I like today’s quote, and here’s one for you & our white feathered friends:
    “The Laws of Thought are the Laws of Destiny. Whatever you believe with feeling, that you bring into your life.”
    Emmet Fox: Find and Use Your Inner Power

  3. Mary, you’ve got me thinking today. I’m noticing that pain/drama/chaos draws my attention by engaging a need in me to ‘do something about it!’. When something happy/beautiful/blissful happens I can be an observer and just let it move me gently, but when something happens that is random and chaotic, I feel pressure to rush into action and fix it, make it ‘right’ again, without stopping to observe how I feel. This is a map for traveling through life that was handed down to me, and it was a while before I was able to examine its veracity.
    As I think back, the most disturbingly random occurrences in my life have happened when I needed change, didn’t realize it, and my knee-jerk response to ‘fix’ external events and people resulted in frustration and more chaos. I was following an out of date, misdirecting map built by ideas and impressions about ‘how it is’ and ‘how it should be’ without knowing that there are other, better places to go. Since life is an important journey, a traveler needs a good and current map to have the choice of visiting interesting places instead wandering into bad neighborhoods. I’m so glad that I learned to update the map.

  4. I love your post today, Mary. (Well, I love them EVERY day.) I have started noticing how many truly bright and expressive people comment on your blog. Some of them even bring an additional dimension to the whole subject. Aren’t we lucky to have access to you and to each other?!

    (My first thought, when I saw today’s picture, was a line from a Credence song… “Doot, doot, doot, looking out my backdoor.”)

    • I couldn’t agree with you more Suzanne! I love reading each and every comment and so appreciate the depth that they bring.

  5. The old adage “You are what you eat” could be taken a step further. We know how important it is to feed our bodies with good nutritional food – it makes us feel better, perform better, and sustains our physical well being. We are also what we feed our spirits and minds. That’s why it is so important to watch what we ingest, be it the shows we watch on television, the ‘noise’ we allow into our inner sanctuary, – the books, magazines we choose to read. Coming to this blog in the morning fills me with inspiration for the day from Mary’s message and all the comments of so many caring friends. Food for the soul. Thanks all!

  6. I have recently been having a bit of success in the “as a person thinketh is what doth becometh” department. I am finding it requires a considerable amount of commitment, humility and faith – in the process. I must say that I am so encouraged and inspired by my small successes – which in my mind is nothing short of miraculous Mary! – and your quote for today is well taken. As always, thank you!

  7. The pain/drama/chaos ‘show’ came to me from infancy and I played my role for more years than I care to remember. I cannot convey how empowered and lightened and calm -centered my life has become since I learned to change the channel!! It sounds so simple and is so profoundly effective. I am ever grateful for finding a community of like-minded, loving souls who reinforce, on a daily basis, that the choice of ‘story’ is mine to shape. I love being in the director’s chair—with life and love as my scripted focus. Everyone here brings affirmation that it’s the way to peace. Blessings to all.

  8. Hi Mary,
    I just read this and had driven by your place on my way to work the other day. I had noticed that you had some kind of covering on your car and, not getting a clear view, I thought that you had covered it to keep the road dirt off and thought further how cute that was of you in taking care of your new car! I just had to share that.
    Thanks for the message. I , too resonate with it. 🙂

Comments are closed.