Good evening

6:30 this morning (I ran with my iphone so I could take this photo like I promised!)

I arrived back home a few hours ago from an incredible trip. Thank you everyone for the thoughts, wishes and prayers. The meeting with my friend Christine was healing and deeply rewarding. As I drove away I felt a sense of “completion” which I am still processing.  My knowing that we are always guided, directed and supported and that we can, and must, follow the little voice, (that at times feels so small as to be almost imperceptible) if we want to live the kind of life we know is possible, has been so reinforced. I wish you all a peaceful evening.

If you knew who walks beside you, fear would be impossible. ~A Course in Miracles”

17 thoughts on “Good evening

  1. Great picture , Mary. Glad to hear you are home and that this was such a healing experience. Blessings to you, dear friend!

  2. So happy the meeting went well. I had a similar experience recently. Ain’t life interesting!!!!

  3. The quote, your healing story, and the beach pix are all very inspiring – but I’m most impressed and even envious of your 6:30 AM running.
    Welcome Back. Mary Rita.

  4. Thanks for sharing the outcome of the day, a great quote (you really have a way with finding them!) and your lovely pic by the water. Was it from somewhere in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, “you never know what’s going to happen when you step out of your front door.”?

  5. Thanks so much for this story, Mary! Another version happened to me recently when a dear close friend was battling cancer, and another mutual friend advised me (well-intentioned) to NEVER write or say anything to her that “smacked of death”. I then spent six months carefully editing every e-mail and staying silent through her relating of chemo side effects, etc. on the phone, and I now realize I let friend #2 block me from my own intuition about sharing whatever fears or demons were coming up, and therefore missed a lot of true connection with her before she died. It’s a hard lesson to learn, when you can’t go back and change it because the person is gone from the mortal plane . . . and now I am processing on whether to try to gently tell friend #2 that it wasn’t helpful to avoid those topics, or just let sleeping dogs lie.

    This covers so much, I think — listening to our own true inner voice to guide our interactions, confronting our own fears in order to respond to a friend’s fear and suffering without overlaying what’s ours onto theirs, being there for someone who is going through tough times and supporting them by not brushing away or denying their suffering, as well as clearing the air and being kind but truthful in order to keep the depth of a friendship alive rather than falling into careful superficial interaction. Such difficulty, and I could have avoided it all by simply hearing what friend #2 had to say and then using my own best judgment to use or not use her advice. Sometimes we have to learn the hard way I suppose.

  6. I had wondered if you are a student of The Course in Miracles. I assume you are? Your quote was so helpful in starting my day. Thank you for all your caring thoughts that you take the time to share. I know they are meaningful to all of us who follow your blog. This is a place where “oneness” is felt.

    • Hi Mary, I am a lover of all teachings that help me to expand my mind/beliefs/awareness of a larger reality! I am not a student per se of the Course in Miracles but have enough knowledge of it to know it teaches about living/seeing through the eyes of Love. Thanks so much for your comments!

  7. So glad that you had a great trip and special time reconnecting with your friend. I love the quote at the bottom of your blog…I need to save that and refer to it often…thanks for sharing.
    love, Marian

Comments are closed.