Looking for the new

Sand, photographed by Yanping Wang, Beijing China

I started to write this morning and nothing seemed to come out right.  As I sat here looking at the blank screen, an email came in.Nikon holds a photography contest every year called “Small World”.      http://www.nikonsmallworld.com/leaderboard

I looked through these images of little things, highly magnified, with amazement. The image above is of magnified sand! I couldn’t make it any larger, but you can see it if you go to the website. I will never look at sand in the same way again. There is another photograph of a butterfly’s tongue. If I had been able to write, I wouldn’t have taken the time to look at these images. I love the thought that I saw something this morning, that I had never seen before…never even thought of.

To see the world in a grain of sand, and to see heaven in a wild flower, hold infinity in the palm of your hands, …..”. William Blake

16 thoughts on “Looking for the new

  1. These are amazing photos that show what can’t usually be seen. What beauty there is in our world on so many levels. Thanks so much for finding this to share.

    • I really appreciate you saying that Barbara!…lifted my spirits right up!

  2. Mary, what amazing photos! Thank you directing us to this site. The microscopic world is one of great beauty and mystery to be sure. My favorite was the butterfly tongue. Have a wonderful day of discovery everyone!

  3. This proves that there is more beauty in this world than we have even dreamed of. Thank you, Mary, for guiding us to this.

  4. Beautiful, Mary! It makes me think that, if everyone took the time – actually stopped being busy and took the time – to notice something beautiful each and every day, what a happier, more peaceful world we humans might live in. Thanks, Mary, for promoting this thought by sending these incredible photos.
    Jan S

  5. Such awesome photos! And I so appreciate your perspective on looking for the new and the beauty and surprise and awe of that! I had to smile when I saw the picture of the white down feather! This was surely meant to be this morning! Thanks, Mary!

  6. Mary, maybe you were meant to have one of those mornings when your own personal muse decided to take a day off, but what you found to share with us is of such astonishing beauty! To realize there are worlds of beauty inside of the surface beauty! I know I will be bookmarking that link to savor over time. A butterfly’s tongue? Mind boggling. This poem pairs so nicely with William Blake’s that you quoted –

    Flower in the Crannied Wall

    Alfred Tennyson

    Flower in the crannied wall,
    I pluck you out of the crannies,
    I hold you here, root and all, in my hand,
    Little flower—but if I could understand
    What you are, root and all, and all in all,
    I should know what God and man is.

    • saying that my muse decided to take the day off is just great!….thanks Susan

      • For a long time, I have been a lover of words, I just had to connect ‘muse’ with music, and musicians! of course! The Muses (Ancient Greek) are the goddesses who inspired the creation of literature and the arts. They were considered the source of knowledge, related orally for centuries in ancient culture, that was contained in poetic lyrics and myths. So, our dear Mary, your “muse” was probably lounging today with your sweet cats, in the sheets that you only so recently remembered to bring in!

  7. Lovely, lovely… it is a small world after all…I didn’t get to check out your blog until 9:30 pm, an amazing way to complete my day…being open to all that surrounds us …can you imagine a photo of the energy surrounding this group of “soul companions”… Thank you, Mary… I think your muse saw what we needed to see…

Comments are closed.