Opulent thought

Which thought will I choose today?!

So much of the talk today, in spiritual circles, says that to achieve wealth, we must think/feel wealthy. And yet, if we currently don’t have money how can we feel wealthy? It seems like a catch 22 situation. We are told to “act as if” you already have the thing/condition/experience that you are seeking, and it will become yours, and yet this can feel almost impossible to do in practical terms.

In, “The Hidden Power” by Thomas Troward  (a series of articles written around 1900) he says;

“We must be opulent in our thought. Do not ‘think money’, as such, for it is only one means of opulence; but think opulence, that is, largely, generously, liberally, and you will find that the means of realising this thought will flow to you from all quarters whether as money or as a hundred other things not to be reckoned in cash.”

I just loved this, kept reading it over and over. Think big, generous, expansive thoughts, about life, about anything and anyone! I know the difference between big and little thoughts. A few days ago, I stopped by my favorite coffee place to get a tea to go. As I stood waiting, and waiting, the woman at the counter called  several times to the man who usually fixes the teas. When he finally appeared he said in a slightly sarcastic way, “What? Are you in a big hurry today Mary?!” I felt instantly insulted and then thought that maybe I would not go back there came. I caught myself. “What is going on with me today that I am attracting this?”, was my second thought, because I had just had a similar experience someplace else, and this type of interaction is really unusual for me.

I know the difference between big (opulent) thought and small (contracting) thought. Small thinking keeps score; never forgets an insult, does not consider another’s point of view, does not say “hi” first; waits to be noticed, gets it’s feelings hurt if it isn’t.  Small thinking is suspicious thinking, cynical thinking. Small thinking punishes by withdrawing love/attention. Small thinking says that to feel better about myself, I should compare myself to others; and someone comes up short. Small thinking is “better than” or “less than” thinking.

And because we are not separate components; body (material world), mind (thoughts) and spirit (All that IS), whatever we do, say, or think, affects ALL areas of our lives, including our finances. When I went to bed last night, I played a little game, in my mind, of trying to think a big thought that I had never thought before. One thing led to another and I eventually fell asleep feeling great. I woke up with a new resolve to clear out all of the small hurts and petty complaints that keep me limited. I am really looking forward to today!

10 thoughts on “Opulent thought

  1. I have found that this is true Mary- especially when I accept the withholding parts of myself (the scorekeeper, et al. – which is also indeed a generous act), I have been able to tap into the riches of my creativity. I may not have money stock piled, but I do feel rich beyond measure at times.
    Thank you for your honest post today! ox

  2. Thank you, Mary! Did you read my mind this morning and purposely answer the questions that were floating around in there?! Whether that’s the case or not, thank you!

  3. I love this! So often the “small is beautiful, cheap is holy, poor is the only path to salvation,” gets in the way truly appreciating the bounty that is here. I often think of birds and squirrels who “squander” fruit and seeds by taking one bite and then leaving it for the another bite out of another fruit. Parsimony can be a good thing but great and foolish thoughts will lead to a smile and a smile will brighten any day.

  4. Love this post, Mary! As I was reading, a song I once heard came to mind and in spirit of thinking large, I wanted to share it here. It is, ” My Declaration”, by Eliza Bennett. I don’t know how to link it here, but you can watch a video of it by going to you tube and searching for the song or the singer. It’s from the movie “Inkheart”. Have an expansive day everyone!

  5. Lynne, your words “stock piled” just jumped out of the page at me – you used it in reference to maybe not having a stock pile of cash in the bank, but I thought right away, what is it that I stock pile? What things do I treasure that unlike the stock market, will never fluctuate in value, but only appreciate? Love, friendship, the companionship of a faithful animal pet, knowing that every day the sun will rise to a glorious new beginning. . . This is the stock pile of wealth we can all count on. I think of two cellists, Yo Yo Ma and the late Jacqueline Du Pre (he played on her Stradivarius after her untimely death to multiple sclerosis) – they are both known for their expansiveness, their BIG tone, their magnanimous interpretations, Jackie, especially, for almost over romanticizing certain composers – but it is their daring to step out of the confines of the normal interpretation, to say something so big from their hearts – those are the performers that leave one in tears, that transcend the ordinary by daring to express all that they feel in big big ways. Thank you Mary for reminding us to think big, love big, live big! And push away small thoughts like crumbs into the dustbin. Happy Big Day to everyone.

  6. Had some “winks” from the beginning of my day. Fun to pay attention to them. First I read this morning ‘s post where this quote stood out for me – “What is going on with me today that I am attracting this?” Then went to read from one of my daily books prior to meditating. The thought there was “What can I learn from this situation?” Then I read from an email the following:

    Q #508: According to the teachings of A Course in Miracles, how do I understand what is the lesson I have to learn from a situation that keeps coming over up and over again, which is more difficult each time? Is it that I have not been successful in getting the point, or might it be better to consider this a lifetime lesson and give up hoping not to repeat it?

    A: Any situation that seems be a difficult one that recurs in our lives is simply a lesson in forgiveness that we have yet to accept. And what does that mean? That there is a guilty self- accusation that we are not yet willing to look at and so must keep projecting outside of ourselves so that it seems that the cause of the guilt and the pain is external rather than internal. The forms that these projections take are the specific relationships in our lives that seem to bring us distress and pain. But rather than seeing them as situations to get over and hopefully avoid in the future, the Course invites us to look upon them as our special function, the particular form in which we learn that our brother is guiltless and that therefore we are innocent as well (T.25.VI.4,5,6,7; T.25.VII.7,8,9).

    Now the specific form of the lesson is “suited to your special needs, and to the special time and place in which you think you find yourself” although “the content is [always] the same” (T.25.VII.7:3,2). And this simply means that the form is the one that the ego originally made in order for us to feel at the mercy of someone or something else, so that responsibility for how we feel seems to rest on the outside situation. And if we have managed in our lives to escape from the situation at one time or another, it will simply reappear in a somewhat different form (a “new” relationship), for it is always mirroring what remains to be healed within.

    The specific situation represents a particular expression of whatever specific belief about the separation from God we are unconsciously holding onto — betrayal, abandonment, rejection, loss, inadequacy, etc. And behind each of those thoughts stands the self-accusation — for this is what we believe we did to God when we chose our individual self over His Love. *****So if we can identify the unforgiveness or judgment associated with each recurrence of the difficult situation, the next step is having the willingness to accept responsibility for that thought without self-condemnation, that is, “with the Holy Spirit’s kind perception of specialness; His use of what you made, to heal instead of harm” (T.25.VI.4:1). And it is in that process of looking without judgment that we are released from the inner guilt that has been fueling the external projections.***** Does this mean that the external situation will no longer occur? Not necessarily. ***But it will mean that we will no longer interpret it in personal terms, that is, we will no longer feel in some way victimized by it or at its mercy, as we are learning to recognize that nothing outside ourselves can affect us.***

    In Jesus’ words from the end of the text: “Trials are but lessons that you failed to learn presented once again, so where you made a faulty choice before you now can make a better one, and thus escape all pain that what you chose before has brought to you. In every difficulty, all distress, and each perplexity Christ calls to you and gently says, “My brother, choose again.” He would not leave one source of pain unhealed, nor any image left to veil the truth. He would remove all misery from you whom God created altar unto joy. He would not leave you comfortless, alone in dreams of hell, but would release your mind from everything that hides His face from you” (T.31.VIII.3:1,2,3,4,5).

    Wink, wink, wink (and more winks)

  7. Mary,
    I am trusting in the hidden power, greatful for my new friends in the Whitefeather online community and inspired by your posts.
    Thank you,

    Jeannie

Comments are closed.