Indulging our affections

view out my side window this morning

Several strange things happened this morning; I overslept (just got up at 7 am!), and saw a winter wonderland as I looked outside. I never think that I am going to be ready for the snow, but I like the feeling of change that it brings, like it is saying, “We are now putting the curtain down on what came before. It is time for the next “act.'”  What character will I play in this new scene? I get to choose.

“The moment we indulge our affections, the earth is metamorphosed, there is no winter and no night; all tragedies, all ennui’s vanish, all duties even”. Ralph Waldo Emerson

17 thoughts on “Indulging our affections

  1. I love the seasons and I am looking forward to a snow-covered garden… How wonderful! You have prayer flags in your garden?

    • Yes they are…sent as a gift by a friend, right before I did the “Big Dreams” ceremony in that very spot!

  2. We had our first hard frost this morning, brrrr. I noticed the prayer flags too. They add color to the monochromatic scene, lovely.

    • That is a wonderful idea Florence! It makes me smile to think of you hugging your cats (I think I’ll do the same right now!)

  3. I know I’ve written many times of our desert heat – so it’s hard to imagine you waking up to snow already Mary, and it’s still October! This morning I am relishing in a 60 degree, (cool for us) morning with the patio door open (windows and doors shut solid for 5 grueling summer months) so just the sound of my wind chime and feeling the breeze is my sweet enjoyment this morning. I even notice the dogs walk with more pep on our morning walks now that the summer heat has passed us. I love the autumn. Isn’t it also a beautiful sounding word? Happy Halloween Weekend to all! Snow for the trick or treaters? wow!

  4. Wow, a definite change of season. And what a juxtaposition to what I woke up to all this week: humpback whales very close into our bay. Their arrival means the beginning of the migratory season here, much like the snow heralds a new ‘act’ back east. (I send a link to our newspaper’s photo of these leviathans next to an awe stuck kayaker–hope you can access it.)
    Stay warm, feathered flock!

    http://www.scsextra.com/story.php?sid=109624&storySection=Local&fromSearch=true&searchTerms=October+27th%2C+2011

    • Thanks for this link, Cheryl! I can’t imagine how wonderful it would be to see this migration on a daily basis. I’d be bawling my eyes out all day, every day!

      • It is pretty amazing,Suzanne; between the whales and the elephant seals, that breed just north of here every year, it’s why I feel so very blessed to be living by the sea.
        What is lost in this smaller picture is the kayaker’s lower jaw sitting on his chest! I’m sure it is a ‘moment’ he will never forget. 🙂

    • I just love that picture! Thank you. And Mary, your post is just lovely. It was one of the most beautiful mornings I have ever encountered with the sky a lovely pink/purple/blue and the snow covered trees…magical.

  5. Like Susan A., I live in a very warm climate (South Florida) and I’ve just about had enough of hot, humid (very humid!) weather. Even after almost 40 years here, I still miss snow at Christmas time … Halloween, not so much! But what a special surprise and a gorgeous picture, Mary! Thank you, and peace to all who gather here ♥♥

  6. Was 26° when I got up this morning but no snow yet. I do love the first snow but winter seems to linger on so very long here (northern nevada). I rejoice when spring arrives! Seasons are wonderful. Time for the next act!

Comments are closed.