Time to hatch

Eleanor in one of her oddly uncomfortable sleeping poses

I really appreciate the funny and different positions that our cats assume. They get inside, on top of, or underneath almost everything in the house, and then contort themselves to fit and fall asleep like that. Almost on a daily basis, either Jack or I will call to each other, “You have to see this!” which means that someone is looking soooo cute! Babies and little kids tend to get in odd positions too.

It seems as we get older, we start talking, walking, sitting and even lying down in the same predictable patterns. I very rarely walk into a room and find Jack curled up under a chair, and I am OK with that, but I have noticed lately that we sit in the same chairs or on the same part of the couch, every evening when we “settle in”. There is a slow-creeping inertia that I can feel lurking around the corner, and it bothers me. It isn’t unusual to see a group of young kids on the playground skipping together, but I have never seen a couple of middle-aged women (or men) skipping up the street. We become almost afraid of moving in different patterns.

The element of surprise and change keeps life fresh, and calls new and fresh opportunity to us. It might be fun to change one thing today; sit in a different chair, wear 2 different socks, look in the mirror and tell yourself that you are wonderful, skip up the street,….

“It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad”. C.S. Lewis

25 thoughts on “Time to hatch

  1. What a beautiful tortie! One thing I found with my cats is that even though they are creatures of habit and seem to prefer the same sleeping spots day after day, there always comes a day when all of a sudden, that spot is no longer the favorite, and they move on to something else for a while. Could it be that, once again, they know something we don’t?

    • Yes, Eleanor is beautiful!
      My cats are like that with toys. They declare one particular toy an absolute favorite, so I go out and purchase a good supply. Then they change and declare another their current favorite. Maybe to encourage me to change. You are right Ingrid, they most likely know something we don’t!
      From Fran

  2. This sounds like those of us who always sit in the same place in church! Everyone knows it’s our place and they each have their own spot too. We have a small congreation and a small church, but I think it’s true of larger ones also. If a spot is empty we know who is missing.
    I’ve been thinking about growth being change a lot recently. For me sameness is comfort and predictability, so I’m trying to balance comfort against change in order to grow. i’ll try the two different socks today and see how that feels!
    Thank you Mary!
    From Fran

    • Fran, I am SO in your pew! “For me, sameness is comfort and predictability,” you wrote. I have never been one to embrace change without kicking and screaming all the way through it. I’m really bad at handling surprises, too, even if they’re fun ones.

      I hope you will let us know how you made out with the ‘different socks’ test. I failed after one hour. Wonder what that says about ME?!

    • I had to laugh Fran when I read about sitting in the same place in church. My precious Nana (gone now) moved in with my Mom years ago. Nana came from a small desert town into a big city with Mom. She started going to a much bigger church and complained that no one ever spoke to her. She came home one Sunday all smiles (she had a great sense of humor) and said “Someone finally spoke to me! They told me I was sitting in their spot!”
      Let’s all try something new today!

    • I agree Fran, the outer change is not really important compared to the inner change…the willingness to see something with fresh new eyes (especially ourselves)

  3. Hay I skip all the time AND I don’t have any sock that match! I guess I need to change to wearing matching sock today and try not to skip- its very hard going to the barn and not skipping! Well I just plain can’t not skip.

    • If ever I saw a “skipper” it is you Patty (and for all of you who do not realize it, Patty is the person who adopted Wonder!)

  4. it’s so true! I remember watching my in-laws and their friends who never sat lower than a chair move so restrictedly – I watch the same in myself but I have a solution! Paula Josa-Jones’ course Breaking Into Blossom http://www.horsedancing.us/blog/breaking_into_blossom/ is more than a little helpful. She has spent most of her earthly life doing improvisation and teaching it and she is a master. Check her out http://paulajosajones.org/cgi-local/welcome.cgi she’ll help with the hatching!
    thank you for bringing this up – I think it is SO important for us all!
    Pam

  5. This just makes me smile. Patty you go girl! If we all skipped to work it would give us a new perspective. I too am a person who is comforted by familiar patterns of behavior. Then again, I started reading this blog a year ago and that was a new thing for me. Here’s to keeping things fresh! Love to all.

  6. Great post and C.S. Lewis quote. No doubt as my husband and I age that we gravitate toward more of a routine that is sometimes hard to break. And we recognize the need to ‘change it up’ once in a while! One of my favorite ways to break the routine is just to drive along a different route…even if it takes longer… just to experience the change of scenery…and perhaps notice something I’ve not observed before. That change is easy and feels good! Years ago, I learned a simple experiment to demonstrate just how locked into certain habits we are. And how difficult it is to change even a small habit. The experiment was, if you wear a watch, to wear your watch on your other wrist for just one day. It was completely disorienting for me at first…almost like my equilibrium was off. Small experiment, big lesson. I will skip out to the pond today! Hmmmm…I can picture doing a cartwheel???!!!

  7. Mary, can skipping also include giving ourselves permission to SKIP the usual to-do’s and really do something out of the box today? Sometimes we need to be the ones in a marriage to initiate this too. Since my husband retired, he must take great comfort in doing the same things at almost the same time every single day. He’ll even look at the clock! to judge if it’s the exact time to go to the gym, or have lunch, or even mid afternoon piece of fruit. I try not to say much, but I have to admit it drives me crazy as I see it as a sign of becoming rigid (i.e. old!) and not just going with the flow, being spontaneous, – so maybe that will be my goal today. To find something just fun to do and get us out of ROUTINE!

  8. I don’t feel that I’m afraid of change…I feel that as I’m aging I’m becoming more discriminating. I know where I like to sit…it’s the most comfortable place in the house: natural light, warm, next to a table I need, etc.
    I know what the best cheese is for me…I no longer settle for one that’s not quite as good but maybe on sale.
    I know what breed of dog I admire the most and, therefore, own. I know what my favorite style of house is…etc., etc., etc. Not disagreeing just saying there may be more than one reason that we choose the same things. Have a lovely day, Kay

    • Kay, you really made me stop and think about my own reaction to change (what I had posted under Fran’s comment), and I can see exactly what you mean.

      It seems to be a common idea in our culture that one must embrace change, if only for the sake of saying one can do it. And so many times the discussion of change, or lack thereof, is mentioned in conversations dealing with ‘getting older.’

      Your take on this post is refreshing and ‘allowing.’ Thank you for gently pointing out that one need not rush to the ‘gates of change’ just because they can.

  9. My friend Nancy emailed me this morning (while I was writing this post!) to say she had cut her hair. I just stopped into the coop (where she is the manager) to see her/it and give her a hug. We skipped from the front of the store to the back and ran into our friend Bill (a retired pediatrician) who started laughing when he saw us and then we all started laughing together. He said, “what are you 2 doing?!” and we said, “Skipping!’ and laughed some more. I’ve never done that before…I’ll remember this day. I love that!

  10. Well, the two different socks test didn’t seem to phase anyone at all!!!~ I volunteer in the youth section of a local library on Wednesday mornings Nobody said a thing so maybe people there didn’t notice, or were too polite to mention my “mistake”!

    I do find that at my age when I do something out of the ordinary, others, especially my grandchildren, look at me with a bit of a skeptical smile as if to say well, “she could be crazy, but she looks harmless enough.”

    Anyone ever read the poem Warning: When I Am an Old woman I shall Wear Purple. by Jenny Joseph? It’s readily available on the internet for free reading.

    I think I’ll go out and purchase something purple to wear tonight.
    Thank you Mary for the nudge toward moving out of my comfort zone to foster growth. I do agree that growth has to do a great deal with change of attitudes but skipping, laughing and wearing purple all make that more likely to happen!
    From Fran

    • Yes, Fran, a wonderful poem that has faded from the sunlight on my wall. It’s been my anthem for at least 10 years—especially the line “and learn to spit”! It’s sorta like skipping; it garners the stares, raised eyebrows and giggles from most people who catch me doing it!

      • Cheryl B., I love this poem and had forgotten about the ‘spit’ part. I guess if I really wanted to test my comfort zone, I could find a place where there’s a sign that says “No Spitting Allowed!” and try it there. Now THAT’s a challenge! 🙂

  11. I love to skip….a wonderful way to embrace/welcome –
    the 4 year old waiting patiently inside each of us….

  12. What a happy post. I already do the different sock and glove thing. I love skipping but really enjoy jumping. Ron has several pictures he was seriously trying to snap with my big face across them. I love to jump up into the lens!

  13. Just something small – but my husband and I switch sides of the bed every once in awhile. I told him I did not want to be stuck sleeping on the same side of the bed for the rest of my life and therefore we switch it up whenever we feel like it.

    “Every man can transform the world from one of monotony and drabness to one of excitement and adventure.” ~Irving Wallace

Comments are closed.