What will my intuition toss up to me today?!

My friend's daughter, Delaney. I noticed that she had 2 different socks on and her mom said (with a big smile), "She is always doing things like that!"

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote that Gordon Ramsay was coming to our little town (Cambridge NY) to film an episode of his new series, Hotel Hell. I also wrote that I didn’t have any interest in watching it, which was true. During the buildup to the show, the town was buzzing with energy. Some people were excited and happy, others indifferent or critical. As I began to listen and observe what was happening around me (and inside of me), it felt like there was the potential for a good time, but I also watched myself trying to be uninterested. There was a part of me that thought I shouldn’t care that this was happening.

One of my “rules for living” is to see the world as freshly as possible, to always trust my intuitive feelings, and to go with the positive pull of Life, even when it doesn’t makes sense. Especially when it doesn’t make sense. Even when it means that I might look foolish. I finally let myself be pulled into the adventure, until I noticed that every time I drove into town, I was trying to catch a glimpse of the chef and crew.

When several people in town (who read my blog) asked me what I thought about it all, and I said I thought it was fun, I was met with questioning looks like, “What? I thought you wrote that you didn’t like things like this?”  The gist of what I had previously written was, “trust your feelings”. If you are watching or participating in something that is making you uncomfortable and tense, if a deep inner voice (not the ego’s critical, fearful, judgemental voice) is saying, “this is wrong, this doesn’t feel good. Stop it. Get out.” then listen to it. Don’t be afraid of what the crowd will think, follow your own heart. I wrote that what I observe, I will eventually feel in my body and energy field, and I was observing a lot of fun.

A few days before the actual filming started, I thought, “I would like to be invited over there”. That was it. I had the thought and let it go. Friday afternoon, I was finishing up some email correspondence and a friend called and said, “I have been invited to the hotel for a special surprise Saturday morning and can bring a couple of friends. Do you want to come?” I was speechless. My previous intention came to mind instantly and I said yes!

I wrote in my blog on Friday that noticing when things were different was one of the ways to open doors, and by Saturday evening, I could have filled several pages with “What was different in the past 24 hrs!”

Every single person, event and circumstance is multi-faceted. When someone says to me that a person is “a jerk”, I know that they mean that the side of that person being shown to them is a jerk. We call out the aspects of life that fit our belief systems. I still don’t want to watch reality TV, have no interest in witnessing anyone get yelled at, or put down, but this was not the part of the event that I lined up with. The Saturday surprise was a blast. (I am not allowed to talk about what happened until after the show airs sometime in the Spring). Everyone was kind and fun and we had a delicious time!

It is always with excitement that I wake up in the morning wondering what my intuition will toss up to me, like gifts from the sea. I work with it and rely on it. It’s my partner“. Jonas Salk

17 thoughts on “What will my intuition toss up to me today?!

  1. I can’t wait to hear what happened at this suprise event. Could it be that our own Mary might have been an extra at this event, and she might have gotten paid??? I can remember when several scenes of Steven Spielberg ‘s War of the Worlds was filmed in part of Virginia. A lot of people were extras. They got paid. Most had fun. Some were vexxed by the whole thing, but all in all it had a good impact on the state. There was one ineresting account of Tom Cruise plunking down a goodly sum of money to help a young girl out (you’ve seen those jars in convience stores were you donate to something) who needed a surgical procedure done and her family didn’t have the money.

  2. Wonderful! I love noticing the changes, and the doors that open. It feels fantastic! I also love Delaney! She’s a Super Star!

  3. I think that when a person is able to switch lanes so to speak and change their ways of thinking and viewing things it is amazing and like this venture for you…it turned out to be something fun that you enjoyed and it might have otherwise been missed if you had not taken advantage of your inner intuition……..thanks for sharing this Mary!

  4. I’m glad you were able to go along with the feel good, fun part of you and that your intention led to an unusual experience. Staying open to what comes our way, gives us great adventures. Sometimes I catch myself thinking, I’m not supposed to like that or want that, but another part of me really does. Then I realize that it’s some old belief still kicking around and I can let go of it. What a relief!
    Have a great day, everyone!

  5. Wonderful happy Monday reading Mary! I love the little girl looking up, such expectation! And the quote – from the man who developed the polio vaccine no less! I read this on intuition: “Some scientists have contended that intuition is associated with innovation in scientific discovery.” and “Jung defined intuition as “perception via the unconscious”: using sense-perception only as a starting point, to bring forth ideas, images, possibilities, ways out of a blocked situation, by a process that is mostly unconscious. Jung said that a person in whom intuition was dominant, an “intuitive type”, acted not on the basis of rational judgment but on sheer intensity of perception”

    So, once again, paying attention, being mindful, not necessarily because we expect to have an Ah-Ha moment, but by staying in a state of mindful expectation, who knows what life will toss our way today, as Salk said. I’ll take these thoughts with me on my walk this morning.

  6. It’s wonderful to be able to “go with the flow” isn’t it. Glad you had a wonderful time Mary, you go girl!

  7. Mary. Thanks for sharing your process….so enlightening and uplifting. I love that you just went with the flow of things, following an inner guide that allowed you to change preconceived ideas. I’ll think of this story when I get stuck in my own “gotta do it this way, not any other way” ruts.

  8. Thanks Mary, I find myself many times in similar suitations and it is good to hear you need to listen to your little voice as it talks to you. I think many times we make up our minds and then we miss a lot of wonderful experiences. thanks!

  9. My dad was a pediatrician and knew Jonas Salk personally. He always spoke of him with great respect and always commented on how Dr. Salk seemed to have something more going on than the average MD. Now I see why.

    And the lesson I take from your post today, Mary, is that it’s not always bad to switch horses in mid-stream! Now THAT is a true ‘life-opener.’ Thanks for showing us how.

  10. Mary I think we need to remember why Gordon Ramsey is there in your town. He has come to “help” these people realise what they have lost, to reignite their dreams, guide them back on track. They have probably forgotten why they started this venture in the first place. They need to find their passion again. I know Gordon’s methods seem harsh and shocking to some people but how else can he break through their tired malaise and despondency? A kick in the pants is what we all need sometimes. Remember, his actions always stem from his heart, his intentions are genuinely good. I know his controvertial methods make good television but he really does help people and communities.

  11. Mary,
    I look forward every morning to reading your post. Today I thought I would love to buy you lunch! I’m just putting it out there so that one day, our paths will cross. Blessings to you and Jack.

Comments are closed.