one flower: the contemplation of mystery

The little vase and flower...even the way that this photograph came out is a mystery. A beam of light had just poured into my living room, and I put the vase on the corner of the table, took the picture and was so surprised to see the way it looked!

I pulled out this little vase to give to a friend a few days ago and kept looking at the size of the opening thinking, “It will only hold one flower.” I decided against getting a flower, and gave her another gift instead, but didn’t put the vase away. When we met on Sunday, she handed me a flower. One flower. I didn’t realize the serendipity of this until I got home and saw the vase on my kitchen counter.

A day spent without the sight or sound of beauty, the contemplation of mystery, or the search of truth or perfection is a poverty-stricken day; and a succession of such days is fatal to human life.” Lewis Mumford

16 thoughts on “one flower: the contemplation of mystery

  1. It really is stunning! Very cosmic and multidimensional, which reflects the serendipitous (love that word!) interaction with your friend! Thanks for sharing this, and the powerful quote.

  2. It’s true art, Mary! Just wonderful. I too am often delightfully surprised when I take a photo…especially of animals….and the results are not at all what I had expected…a gift of light. A reminder that the light is always with us, eh? And the one flower….so poignant.

  3. I have been reading back through your blog – what a wonderful, warm, inspiring, and wise place to visit. I’ve been smiling so much my jaws ache. You are an inspiration – your honesty is breathtaking. WOW! Several times I tried to comment, but alas the comments for those entries were closed. But never mind – I’m subscribed now and will journey with you from now on. Thank you for finding me so I could discover you.

  4. Oh Mary…I’m just catching up with the past few posts since I was away. I can’t help but to juxtapose yesterday’s picture of your friend’s daughter, Delaney, with today’s solitary flower. Both full of vibrant color, both looking up, both full of beauty, fun, hope, growth…light.

  5. I have only “one” thing to add today – as this song started singing itself inside my head as I read Mary’s story about the one perfect flower and that beautiful vase. It is one of my very favorite songs sung by Gillian Welch. “One Little Song”. Enjoy!

    There’s gotta be a song left to sing
    Cause everybody can’t of thought of everything
    One little song that ain’t been sung
    One little rag that ain’t been wrung out completely yet
    Gotta a little left

    One little drop of fallin rain
    One little chance to try again
    One little bird that makes it home every now and then
    One little piece of endless sky
    One little taste of cherry pie
    One little week in paradise and I start thinkin’

    There’s gotta be a song left to sing
    Cause everybody can’t of thought of everything
    One little note that ain’t been used
    One little word ain’t been abused a thousand times
    In a thousand rhythms

    One little drop of fallin rain
    One little chance to try again
    One little bird that makes it home every now and then
    One little piece of endless sky
    One little taste of cherry pie
    One little week in paradise and I start thinkin’

    Gotta be a song left to sign
    Cause everybody can’t of thought of everything
    One little song that ain’t been sung
    One little rag that ain’t been wrung out completely yet
    Till there’s nothing left

  6. Beautiful photo Mary! Your talents are many. It really is the small quiet moments that add up to make our lives more lovely and serendipitous (love that word). Susan, I love this song and this artist, going to check out I tunes for her!

  7. Gorgeous photo! And thank you for sharing this quote. Reading it made me realize that, according to Lewis Mumford, I have no poverty-stricken days. For that, I am most grateful.

  8. a flower
    a photo
    a long forgotten quote.

    we gather
    we ponder
    we collectively take note.

    every day a message
    whether written or implied,
    open hearts and minds
    here peacefully reside.

    welcome home.

  9. This is a breath of fresh air that just filled my lungs and balanced me after a tumbling two days of an emotional rollercoaster around some sickness in the family. Thank you, Mary. That quote is priceless! You are so comforting.

    I always wish I could just “like” so many of the comments that follow your blogs in support all the WFF gang. Headingoutside I so agree!!!! “Thank you for finding me so I could discover you.” Well put!

    This blog makes for such a nice peaceful part of my day, always!

  10. I too saw a stylized chicken in this photo. Gorgeous. Thank you for the reminder to pay attention, to SEE the beauty in the everyday.

Comments are closed.