Missed the boat?

Noah: the Zen kitty

A friend sent me a slide show last night of 50 photographs (the link is below). The images that I loved the most, were the ones that were not posed or trying to be dramatic; they just were. For a large part of my life, I have had the feeling that I should be something different than I was. When I was younger, I thought I wasn’t old enough to be respected and successful, and then I seemed to cross some line and started thinking that I was too old; that I had somehow missed the boat.

The idea that we are perfect just as we are, right now, and that our lives have been perfect, is something that I have recently started considering. What if everything has been right? What if there were no mistakes? What would my life feel like if I stopped blaming anyone (even myself…especially myself) for not being good enough (smart enough, ambitious enough, thin enough, wise enough, relaxed enough, focused enough, vigilant enough, disciplined enough….), and just said, “From now on, I am going to look for the perfection of life; in myself, in everyone and everything around me.”

You are not too late. You are not too early. You are right on time to live your perfect life now!

Click this link to look at some gorgeous photography that was sent to me (I don’t know who the photographers are but if you do, please let me know) foto12

40 thoughts on “Missed the boat?

  1. For Mary and all far flung friends of White Feather Farm – I couldn’t help but think of this poem with your post, Mary – and I would like to share it with all of you – (it was a life changer for me):

    The Summer Day
    Mary Oliver

    Who made the world?
    Who made the swan, and the black bear?
    Who made the grasshopper?
    This grasshopper, I mean-
    the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
    the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
    who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
    who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
    Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
    Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
    I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
    I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
    into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
    how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
    which is what I have been doing all day.
    Tell me, what else should I have done?
    Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
    Tell me, what is it you plan to do
    with your one wild and precious life?

    All my love …. Lynne

  2. Beautiful post, beautiful pictures, beautiful poem! Everyday I am grateful for and rejoice in the perfection of what is around me…the sky, the birds, a stone, a flower, that tree! Today I will rejoice in myself…and who knows where that will lead me…

  3. I guess like most people I live with my inner critic far too often. Many times I can shoo her away and get into another space but there are days when she is very persistant and creeps into every corner of my being. Thank you Mary, that was a good post. Can’t download the photos so can’t comment on them.
    SandyP in icy Ontario, Canada

  4. Mary, for me this moment is perfect. Reading your thought provoking words, then the comments of the early birds here, especially Mary Oliver’s poem, thank you Lynne, love to all and have a “perfectly wild” day!

  5. Mary, the photos were amazing! I loved the photo of Noah also…beautiful and stately looking cat!

    I have always felt inferior to others and now in later life I feel that held me back from recognizing the potential I may have had in those earlier years….but no longer…now I live for the moment and try to have a positive attitude and be thankful for every day …and joyful…..thats important to be joyful! It not only affects your attitude but those around you also….

    Love your blog and look forward to it every morning!

  6. Life does not get much better than reading Mary’s daily message, viewing those spectacular photos, reading the comments from the flock, many names already so very familiar and cherished, drinking my Tangerine Green tea, and in the background the classical station playing Vocalise by Rachmoninoff. Beauty, beauty all around. We cannot bring yesterday back, nor hasten tomorrow into being. So let’s just love this one perfect and precious day, for it will not come again. Thank you all for starting mine with a resolve to notice all small things beautiful today.

  7. A little chuckle for today – as I was typing “classical music station” I chuckled to remember what my little eight year old grandson Jacob said to me recently. I most often have this station on in the background when home, so Jacob said to me, “You sure like castle music a lot, don’t you Grandma?”

  8. What a lovely post this morning Mary and beautiful photos to look at. We should all take a deep breath look around and see the beauty that surrounds each and every one of us, and ask ourselves, what IS IT we plan to do with our one precious life??

  9. Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you!!
    William James

  10. nothing feels right or perfect about my life right now—— no, it’s not that i am ungrateful or even that i feel ungrateful. i generally believe that there are no accidents or mistakes in my world! i don’t ever remember not being a seeker; for what, who, where?

    seems it’s been a bleak landscape for some years now. why do i say this on this comment panel when most are upbeat? i must tell on myself even though it feels sacreligeous—–even though the slides are outstanding—–even when i want the barren to disappear.

    still, i’m not too late or too early, just here.

    • If you don’t already know, Virginia, this is the safest and most loving place to unburden yourself, even if you feel you are in the minority by NOT making an upbeat comment.

      We are all basically strangers here to one another, never knowing the others existed until we were guided to this blog. Now we know each others’ names, and have a general feel for what each is about, based on a few months of all the posts. We are all part of this flock, headed by one of the wisest women I’ve ever had the privilege to know….our Mary. And so are you a part of it, maybe moreso because of your honesty in saying that things are bleak for you.

      Stay with us, and keep up your searching. I know whereof I speak….one day, something good and bright will begin to come into your mind and heart, and that’s when you will pick it up, hold on to it and begin to recognize that perhaps your searching, however long, may be starting to produce dividends. Until such time, we’re all here for you, thick or thin.

    • I echo Suzanne’s words of loving support, Virginia. You wrote that you cannot remember not being a seeker – that’s big! It says to me you face life with eyes wide open even if the landscape seems bleak and has for some time. Maybe, it’s like a prolonged winter, but underneath it all, there are sprouts waiting to bud, – spring will return Virginia, and you have us all in your corner waiting for life to blossom for you once again. Be gentle with yourself. We care about you!

    • I’ll preface these remarks by saying I know very little about anything—hence, a seeker, like yourself. But the honest reality is that here, “where most are upbeat” I’d venture to say we have all been where you are: “nothing feels right or perfect about my life.” I don’t think it gets much bleaker than not wanting to get up in the morning; been there, done that.

      A philosopher, Alan Watts, many years ago captured my ear at a time when I needed it most. He reminded me that without darkness there is no light; we must experience both sides of the coin. Feel it to its depths! But also find the quiet spot within where we can begin to make choices about how we want to shape what is ‘just here’.
      And you’ve found the perfect environment on this blog. Dwell here for a daily dose of Mary’s Mind Medicine. It is not only a good start, it’s preventative maintenance for the soul. Sharing helps dispel the feeling of isolation. Please stay.

      • thanks to all of you for the words of encouragement and heart-felt concern as per my comment. even as i was ordering my thoughts about my long-time current situation, i could have guessed with fair certainty that nearly all of us have experienced similar events and circumstances. it is probably why so many of us have become part of this community of friends and support.

        there are many days that i don’t choose to comment but i rarely miss a day with mary and the readers of wwf. we are blessed; we are all welcome here.

        hugs and love for the thoughts and intentions sent out for all and double for mary for putting this together. i love your transparency.

      • Thanks for the nice reply Virginia….there is alot of love and caring on this site and everyone can feel it and thats why we all love Mary and this blog. We are all here for eachother and each and all of us have had our dark and dismal days but there is sunshine on the other side and you just have to have the courage to take that step to the other side of life and try being more calm, content and happy. Its not easy sometimes but worth the effort! We love you….hang in there!

    • I’m really glad that you wrote Virginia. We have all been in that place. Sending you loving thoughts today

    • Welcome Virginia! I have learned to trust the process…trust yourself…trust this loving blog community…and one morning you will wake up and know that something has shifted…

  11. Wonderful and timely post, Mary, and the pictures were awesome. You always nail it. I love that about your blog.

  12. Hang in there, Virginia! I was down for so long I can’t remember it now, and all your efforts to move toward the Light cannot fail. I notice you’ve been given four sturdy blue dots in your symbol–you must be courageous and strong! Step by step you’ll climb! Try even a little something new and positive each day & they’ll add up. And don’t be afraid of medications to help you on your way. You will get better!

    • i don’t know quite why, sounds kinda silly, but i like the-four-sturdy-blue-dots thing! somehow i feel like i will see that again somewhere soon and i will remember that you mentioned courage and strength.

      i can only pray that i too will look back on this time in life and it will only be a faint memory.

  13. A quote from “A Course in Miracles” came to mind –

    “All things are lessons God would have me learn.”

  14. Virginia, I have been in that dark place as i have recovered from rectal ca and chemo. One step at a time and the light will come with G-d’s help. Sending positive prayers and thoughts your way.

  15. “You are not too late. You are not too early. You are right on time to live your perfect life now!” I love this and will embrace it as my new mantra…thank you Mary…love and hugs, Marian

  16. This is awesome to hear. I doubt myself and my choices sometimes and it makes me feel better to learn that other people have the same concerns

  17. These photos are amazing!! Such vibrant colors. I can’t wait to show some of the insect close ups to my grandson. Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Donna

Comments are closed.