A friendly world

another life

Jack and I took a ride yesterday to the area where I grew up.  This part of upstate NY is still very rural, remote and poor. Stony Creek is a little town about 10 miles from my hometown. I used to go there on weekends, to a bar named the Stony Creek Inn. They played country-western music, fights broke out on a fairly regular basis, and there were many more trucks parked outside than cars.

We were trying to find a goat cheese farm named Nettle Meadow, and got lost twice. Both times, we stopped and asked for directions (no iPhone service). The friendliness, of the men who tried to help us, was so sweet, but Jack always meets people like this, whether in a city or in the middle of nowhere. Jack is a friendly man. He is not put out by helping people, and that is what he attracts back.

“Loving people live in a loving world. Hostile people live in a hostile world. Same world“. Wayne Dyer

30 thoughts on “A friendly world

  1. I once was walking between subways in NYC, in a long wide corridor. It wasn’t rush hour so there was plenty of room for everyone. I watched as a woman in front of me collided into a woman coming the opposite way. They both started yelling and swearing at each other. It struck me as evidence that we create the reality we believe in. There was so much space that to collide you’d need some kind of unconscious intent. And if one of them had bumped into me, I would have been incredibly apologetic. But they found each other, and confirmed their truths.

  2. This is so true, Mary! I choose to believe in a world full of kind, loving people, that is what I see the vast majority of the time.

    For example, yesterday an acquaintance of mine put out a plea for donations to assist a dog needing $3000.00 (yes, that’s right) in surgery to repair a shattered rear leg; the dog had been hit by a car in a poor area of Kentucky and left by the road to die. ***The dog chose life*** , despite a vet’s recommendation to euthanize him…. the rescue staff could see the dog had a strong will to live, so they worked to save him. And better yet…

    Within twelve hours of posting their plea for help, the rescue group had raised the money to save this dog’s leg!

    Just as with the story of the search for the lost dog in the desert (your “Help is all around” post of 2/21) the world IS full of kind, friendly people. What we believe becomes true for us. Clearly, the legions of the kind and friendly are well-represented here at WFF!

  3. Last month my visiting 19 year old niece and I had the opportunity to be good samaritans to a disabled woman, a stranger, whose new, electronic wheelchair had somehow locked. It was in the parking lot of a restaurant. She was alone and awaiting the arrival of a friend. After helping her my niece and I were talking about it over lunch. It was the first time my niece had been a good samaritan and I was asking her how she felt about it. While she felt good about it, she said she initially was a bit nervous as her parents had always taught her to be careful, especially in parking lots, and especially around vans. And this was all of those things. So we talked a little about quickly assessing risks, helping others in need, going with your gut, etc. The woman and her friend ultimately came into the restaurant and were very grateful. I could really see the impact this had on my young niece. The very next day, my sister and niece began their 7 hour ride home. Less than an hour from our home, they hit a patch of black ice on the road, slid across both lanes of traffic, and came to rest in the woods. They were shaken, but unhurt. Immediately, a man in a truck who happened to have flares, stopped to help. Then a second man, in a Comcast cable truck, stopped as well. And shortly the State Police arrived. Thankfully, all was well. Later that day my niece said to me that she couldn’t believe that we had been good samaritans the day before and the very next day they needed good samaritans and there they were! Yes, I said, the positive energy we put out certainly does come back tenfold! I was so happy she could see that! And happy endings for all.

    I am so fortunate to know Jack and his friendly spirit! And it was Jack who led me to you and your blog! I will always be grateful for his willingness to share! Hope you found the farm and your goat cheese! Sounds yummy!

  4. Yes, there are alot of nice people out there.
    When my radiator blew on my CRV, I got to an off ramp of the freeway, but not quite off.
    I was on the pnone immediately with the auto emergency service, but as I was connected, at least 3 people in their vehicles stopped to ask if they could help including one gal who stopped and yelled across the road to see if she could help.
    I actually was shocked by all the good samaritans out there.
    All you hear about on the news are about those people you have to be wary of.

  5. I love to hear stories of kindness and people helping each other… I try each day to do at least one good deed for someone….I think that’s the main reason I am involved in the therapy dog program with my two dogs…it is so rewarding for me… “A tree is known by its fruit; a man by his deeds. A good deed is never lost; he who sows courtesy reaps friendship, and he who plants kindness gathers love” Basil, St.

  6. Loved your story, I also grew up in Stoney Creek, Tn., sounds just like the same place, there is good eveywhere you LOOK for it. 🙂

  7. I do believe in the goodness of people and love these positive stories. I think Jack creates an aura of goodness around him and people respond to that. The opposite is true too. I had a friend here that was a very bitter person. She thought everyone hated her (even though many of us reached out to her with kindness) and she always had a scowl on her face. She couldn’t wait to move away to a place where people were nice. I wanted to tell her that no matter where she iived she would carry her negative self with her and unless SHE changed she would always met what she called negative people. I am sad to say I never had the courage to be that honest with her. It may have helped.

  8. One thing I love about my morning walks in the desert is that I see beauty all around me, and it is timeless. The mountains, the sagebrush, the animals, they know not what day it is or what year it is. They, and we! live under blue skies, and can welcome each day for the brand new creation it is. Often in the evening I look at the sun setting, the drama in the sky as colors change by the second, and think what a masterpiece of art is unfolding right before my eyes. God paints us a sunrise and a sunset every day, no two will ever be alike, and that is where I live, not “in this economy” or with the word ALERT plastered across my forehead as it is displayed across the screen of a certain news station. Just yesterday in the Abraham Hicks post, they offered this thought: “You cannot worry about someone and love them at the same time. Most people mistake the emotion of worry for the emotion of love. They think that worrying about somebody means that you love them.” Maybe I’m getting off the track here, but what I take from this quote is that love is so much more powerful than fear. By casting out worry, we make more room for love; by casting out negative thoughts, goodness will flow unimpeded like a stream cleared of boulders. Kathye, what a wonderful story you shared about your niece and her experience just one day later, being on the receiving end of kind and caring people. A beauty-filled day to all!

    • I live in the desert too Susan, although the high desert which is a tad different. I love walking through the sage brush and the fresh smell of the sage scented air. The sunsets and sunrises are a miracle aren’t they? We have the Ruby mountains at our doorstep and it is a blessing to enjoy their magnificance. I agree that worry is not productive, I think we may be concerned about someone and that is a little different. Cast out the fear and live in love . . . I like that! Thank you.

      • Hi JoAnne F! You mention the Ruby Mountains. Every year, come late August, my husband and I head to Alder, Montana from Vermont and fly fish on the Ruby and other rivers and view the Ruby Mountains! Anywhere near you????? It is a most beautiful area…so peaceful…we love it!

      • Kaythe, my Ruby Mountains are in Nevada. Not the same as yours but lovely just the same. I live in Spring Creek which is a little valley south of Elko. We have so many wonderful places in this amazing country of ours, aren’t we lucky?

      • Kelly, I am so glad you shared your story about Skeeter and Zane. It’s one I can’t forget. Loving dogs, and having raised sons, I always bless the three of you on my walks when I think of how deeply White Feather Farm has enriched my life.. May you continue to rejoice in Skeeter’s health, and enjoy Zane as he grows into manhood with a beautiful Mom at his side! Hugs from Arizona!

  9. I do believe this to be true! I pray many days for a blessing but most of all I pray that I may be a blessing to someone. I’ll never forget one day talking to a women that I encountered at a T.J. Maxx’s. As our conversation went on about trivial things ahe shared with me that her young grandson was going through a lot. He had cancer and the treatments were terrible. The whole family was scared and stressed mostly worried that this precious little boy wasn’t going to make it. I shared with her that I knew someone who had a child ( a number of years ago) that had the same type of cancer and went through a lot of pain and uncertainty and now he is healthy and had been cancer free for years. This grandmother was so thankful we had talked and was so filled with hope that we both were uplifted. Hmmmm chance meeting I don’t think so. When we are friendly and courteous we are open to receiving and giving blessings.

  10. I have come to believe that anyone we meet in a given day, nice or nasty, is an angel of opportunity presented to us to quietly practice sending love and good energy. There are times when you will come across a person in actual need in that moment and then you can choose to help overtly. I try to make it broad-based and send it to everyone who crosses my path.

    And by the way, Mary, my condo development shares its ingress road with the development next door named…..Stony Creek! The cosmos laughs with us again..:)

    • Suzanne, those three words “angel of opportunity” have been buzzing around my head all day long since reading your post. An angel is quite simply a messenger, or so I have read, so whoever enters our path, is a messenger of opportunity – it says again and again, our response to life is what colors our quality of experience, enjoyment, fulfillment, happiness. Let us welcome the messengers and be humble to their presence.

  11. Good stories I also enjoy. My teacher Pearl used to ask that she be led every day to people she could help and that others who might help her be led in her direction. Good and productive affirmations all around!

  12. I adore this quote and the insight to your Jack. What a wonderful world you get to live in and cheers to all of us to do the same. Thank you, Mary. Your words are greatly appreciated.

  13. Years ago I went with friends to the Stoney Creek Inn to hear the Stoney Creek Band. I remember it being a lot of fun. We had a great time dancing to the music. Thank you, Mary, for a great memory. It is so nice that those kind people helped you find your way.

  14. Hi Mary,This is so true. I try to surround myself with the friendlys and lose the hostile ones. I was witness to a totally hostile,angry,unnecessary “melt down” last night so I uninvited myself, took my book and peacefully retreated to bed.
    Today was fine! Have a good weekend. PS: Your man sounds like a gem.

Comments are closed.