Dipped in God

A friend sent this photograph last evening and I just loved it!

I used to go to bed at night, letting my mind wander all over the place until I finally fell into a restless, fitful sleep. In those days, I always woke up still feeling tired. Sleep was necessary, but not refreshing or renewing. The more I began to focus my mind, especially right before I fell asleep, on good thoughts, the better I felt in the morning. Then I started to notice that important thoughts; new ideas and solutions to issues that I had been wrestling with, were almost being “presented” to me while I slept.

It’s odd that this part of us, the need for sleep, is looked upon by so many as a necessary evil. If we can’t figure out why we need the amount of sleep that seems to be right for us individually, then we somehow label it a weakness. I’ve heard people say with pride that they only needed 4 hours of sleep a night. As if the more hours we stay awake and alert, the better we are.

Something very important happens during sleep…some connection that is vital to our well-being in a way that is beyond scientific, rational explanation. But to reap the benefits, we need to drop the worries and concerns of the day and turn our selves over to the great healing and renewing power that is waiting for us, just below our conscious minds.

And if tonight my soul may find her peace in sleep, and sink in good oblivion, and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.  D. H Lawrence

29 thoughts on “Dipped in God

  1. Thanks for the great heart-warming photo, my soul also loves
    to be dipped in the sunlight…Thank you Mary for another personal
    GPS tool -.guiding us into the light of life… “Good Day Sunshine”…

  2. …once in my own despair i dreamed a voice that said, “touch sun.” after the dream, every day, wherever i went, i put my back, or the sole of my foot, or my palm on the suncats–the rectangles of sunlight–on walls, floors and doors. i leaned and rested on those golden shapes. they acted as a turbine to my spirit. i cannot say how, only that it was so.

    women who run with the wolves–clarissa pinkola estes, ph.d.

    • Thanks, Virginia,for a reminder of this very wonderful book! It was (and is) superb and way ahead of its time.

  3. How precious the photo is along with your inspiration at the end. We learn so many things from animals. I am so happy to have found your blog, thanks to Jon Katz’ blog. I just love his photos/stories about the animals as well. I have forwarded both blogs to my daughters and neighbor and they thank me for them.
    Joan in Wisconsin

  4. Thanks Mary for sharing that wonderful, heartwarming photo!

    I loved your blog and the message. Thankyou for being there for all of us who love you, your photos, your blog and your wisdom.

  5. LOVED the title of this post! And did you know that the word God is dog inside, out? 🙂
    For so many years I’d hear people say they could get by with 4-5 hours sleep and I too would feel like a failure that I couldn’t. I happen to be someone who needs lots of sleep. But they say sleep is good for your health on so many levels, so now I realize I’m not a failure, but quite healthy. I like that. 🙂

  6. I love the image and the thought for the day! My cat loves the sun spots too. Virginia, I love the idea of touching the sun spots! I think they give us peace and energy, perhaps that is why our critters love them too. And . . . going to bed with nurturing thoughts! Good idea. I have had many scary dreams when I have gone to bed with troublesome thoughts in my head. Thanks again Mary and WWF!

  7. The moment I saw this photo, I looked around for my dog and . . . sure enough, there she is, three feet from my chair, lying in the only two foot square block of sunlight in the room. So smart!

  8. Mary…such a great photo….dogs seeking the light. And thanks for the wonderful mental images of going to sleep with pleasant thoughts and a sincere desire for deep rest. I have been sleep-challenged lately and today’s post is a beautiful nudge to remember that how I enter the world of sleep has everything to do with how I will experience it.

  9. This is perfect! I woke up this morning feeling guilty for having slept 9 hours…My first thought being, “What a waste of time”?! Normally, I never sleep more than 7. Even though the last few days have been more stressful than usual, I still wasn’t cutting myself any slack for needing those 2 extra hours. Now I am grateful that I was actually able to get the rest my body and mind needed!

  10. Hi Mary:

    I stumbled across your blog today and I’m glad I did. That photo is so heart-warming. I learn a lot from my dog, whose curled up asleep at my feet right now.

    You’re right that sleep is so beneficial for us. We need to fall in love with sleep again and take a sleep vacation each night. If you want to know more about what I mean by this, then read here: http://thestillspot.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/do-you-take-regular-sleep-vacations/

    Blessings!

  11. The photo is such a good example of what we can learn from our animal friends—they sleep the sleep of the innocent, the blessed, the serene, the very best of life. One of the most pleasant things about setting my own schedule now that I am able to stay at home is the daily nap with one of my special cats. The very essence of bliss and relaxation—the nap with a cat curled up next to me.

  12. When the space was long enough, I would sometimes lay down in the sun with my dog, just for fun. She would glance at me as I did it and then just go into a ‘sun nap’ and forget about my being there. Sooner or later, though, she would shift position, see that I was there and come lick my nose. Great memories. Thanks, Mary.

  13. Thank you Mary for the great photo and message!
    My son was born premature and he became jaundiced. When I was being discharged from the hospital, the pediatrician instructed me to lay him in the sun spot from a window! When a professor was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer I heard the still, small voice within say that sun exposure to as much of the body as possible was healing. I often tell patients that cannot be in the sun to imagine a full, warm sun shining on them and filling every cell with golden Light of the Son. “The Sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings” Malachi 4:2

  14. Awww, that photo looks like ‘leap-dogs vying for sun drops.’

    Every morning, just minutes before the alarm clock chimes, our sweet dog, Zoey, leaves ‘her’ bed and comes to my husband’s side of the bed and gently nudges his arm—as if to say “Okay, up with you; now it’s my turn.” The moment his feet hit the floor, she jumps up in his warm spot and snuggles with me until we wake gently, hours later. It’s the best way to start the day!!
    [Her internal clock keeps mysterious impeccable time; it’s amazing.]

  15. How I love this quote Mary, “I have been dipped again in God”! and to see those precious pups basking in the sun! As for sleep – remember when we were mothers of young children and going to bed was a really important part of the day? First the warm bath, maybe some cocoa, a story, a prayer, a cuddle and kiss, the lovely ritual of tucking them in, all safe and sound. Maybe if we took time to savor the process of preparing for sleep, we’d sleep even better. Today’s Abraham message was profound for me, – I’ll share it here. It’s certainly a powerful way to end the day, in appreciation.

    “If all you did was just look for things to appreciate you would live a joyous, spectacular life. If there was nothing else that you ever came to understand other than just look for things to appreciate, it’s the only tool you would ever need to predominantly hook you up with who you really are. That’s all you’d need.”

    Sweet dreams tonight, one and all!

  16. That photo of the sweet pets being dipped in God’s sunshine is heartwarming.
    I’ve always been a night owl and when finally asleep it can be for too many hours than I want to divulge here! I read your post a while back which began with you napping, and it felt comforting to hear. It helped me not to feel guilty for a long night’s sleep or an occasional nap. I used to self depricate and feel ashamed around my sleep issues. Not any more! Life’s to short!
    Thanks again for a great piece Mary.

  17. Whew! I spent the last two days figuring out a tech snafu that kicked me off Mary’s blog. I finally had to re subscribe. It was a tense moment or two! White Feather Farm is my crack! Love to all and thank you Mary for your insight.

    • Terri, ME TOO! I would hit post and be told immediately that my email address needed to log in. . . Fortunately for un-tech-savvy me I had a date with my son today who got me all signed in within minutes, worked his magic, which at least it seemed to me, and I’m still not sure what happened. But I too, panicked, WFF-less for a day? No way!

    • This happened to me too, Terri. When I went into the “confirm” email, it told me that my subscription had run out. Then I went back into Mary’s website and posted a comment to someone else, and the next email for confirming worked. I’m so tech-ignorant, that when something clears itself, I’m astounded and I celebrate!

  18. I love to sleep, and I don’t feel quite right when I can’t sleep and dream for at least 7 to 8 hours every night. Our dogs sleep on our bed, and snuggle like puppies with us all night. They both also love to have a nap in a patch of sunshine whenever possible. Dogs just know how to love the best stuff!

  19. “And if tonight my soul may find her peace in sleep, and sink in good oblivion, and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.” D. H Lawrence

    Mary, this speaks to me of peace…I love it…”to be dipped in God”,, gives me goose-bumps!!!

    This photo of the animals in a sunbeam is the best, another way to feel “dipped in God” xoxo

  20. A wonderful picture! I love it when there are dogs strewn all over the floor (we have three dogs and two cats, so we get scenes like that occasionally.) Good sleep is a blessing, for sure. Thank you.

Comments are closed.