Saturday afternoon smile and give-away!

The pack of incense leaning up against very early flowers that I picked yesterday

It is Saturday afternoon here in upstate NY. I met my mother for breakfast today. At the end of our visit, I was telling her about an order of incense that had just been delivered. It is my favorite, and so I order at least 10 packs at a time, because I burn it both in my office and at home. I asked her if she would like a box and she said, “What do you do with it?” When I told her that you burned it, she said no thanks. I had to smile at this generation gap.

So, I thought why not have a little Saturday afternoon give-away?! If you would like this incense just send in a comment that has anything (at all) to do with incense: a memory, thought or just say that you would like it. Make your comments as long or as short as you like. It is light-weight, so I will ship it anywhere in the world, and will choose a random winner on Monday the 26th. Hope you are having a good weekend and if not, try to change your thoughts!

Always keep that happy attitude. Pretend that you are holding a beautiful fragrant bouquet.” Earl Nightingale

77 thoughts on “Saturday afternoon smile and give-away!

  1. I just have to say I love your thoughts and read them every day. They help me. Seems I’m anxious a lot and negative a lot…. But your thoughts and ideas help bring me out of it! Thanks! And about the incense… Our niece taught English in Korea for several years and brought us back an incense holder and some incense. Haven’t used it for years… But you brought back some memories! Think I’ll look around for the holder in case I win on the 26th. Thanks Mary! From your writings you seem like someone I would like to become better acquainted with!

  2. Hi mary, my earliest remembrance of incense is in church during lent. it was not a very good fragrance and did not appeal to me. It is nice to know incense comes in pleasing fragrances!! Happy weekend! carolyn

  3. Oh Mary, I’m going to have to Thank Jon for putting your blog on his favorites. You frequently stir up happy memories. Incense is something I have great memories of. In the late 1960’s I always had some burning in my room. I was always surprised my strict Catholic mother NEVER said anything about it. After nursing school I went into the USAF. I had never been away from my family before and…was I homesick. Incense to the rescue! To Great memories! Cathy Miller, Athens, PA

  4. Mary, I don’t want my name entered in the incense give-away because I get asthma with it but two things struck me as your post came into my inbox…one, you usually don’t post on week-ends and secondly, I smiled when you mentioned the generation gap with your mother. I am at that point where generation gaps with my children seem to become more pointed and more poignant for me and not for them. My son, with whom I seldom have an issue, this week told me that he wanted to refinish a large piece of furniture that his late father had made in his business of manufacturing pine furniture. My son had not been brought into our family until several years after the business ended but I now have only three pieces of this pine furniture left, two of which reside in my son’s home. I immediately said: “But it’s all I have left of your father”…and he said: “I didn’t realize the furniture came with strings attached”. Both of us were feeling hurt. It is after all only a piece of furniture, I told him when I called him back a short while later (having had to hang up over his remark in which I couldn’t handle myself properly at the time). It made me think of a remark my mother made before she died: “you’ll likely have all my mahogany furniture stripped and painted white when I go”. Only one did I do. Mahogany isn’t me but it was her. I am now getting to where my mother was when I was my son’s age (46) and I now know how older people feel. Sometimes memories are all that we have as we grow older and even though there are generation gaps, I tell my kids…with any luck at all, you’ll get to where I am now too.. So I smiled when you mentioned a generation gap. I’m there.

    Sandy P in Canada

    • I’m there too, Sandy P., I’m there too. I’ve getting nailed on both ends: my own mother (94) not understanding why I think the way I do, and my son (47) thinking I just don’t “get it.”

      I’ve got them both fooled though, because I think I’m pretty cool for my age. 😉

      • Suzanne, you’ve given me a great big giggle just now. And your mother at 94, my goodness. That’s wonderful and it’s wonderful that you can think you are pretty cool just as you are sandwiched right in the middle of two generations. Good for you.
        SandyP

      • Sandy…thank you so much for sharing your perspective and feelings about the conversation with your son. Your words really touched me and will make me more sensitive to my mom’s feelings about ‘things’ and memories…I am 60 and Mom is 82…and I know she will always be more wise than I…thanks again!

  5. I love incense, especially when I take my 20 minute power nap everyday. I buy all fragrances and each one puts me into a different mood. I love Musk, and Frankinscense & Myrrh, Mulberry, Cinnamon, Bayberry, and as I type I am enjoying Holiday Cider.

    My problem is I have to “burn” it away from my newly aquired (dropped off because they didn’t want it any longer) Umbrella Cockatoo. They don’t do very well with frangrance and I am to only burn soy candles. So needless to say, my power naps have to be taken quite a way from “Bird”. Since they live very long lives I can only hope she will aquire my tastes in incense.

    Thank you for your website. I enjoy reading your comments.

  6. Incense brings such mixed memories…..my childhood in SE Asia where it burned in the Buddhist temples and also in the Catholic convent I was sent to (by my atheist father!), and later, much later…at a wonderful animal rescue I love where it was burned as a camouflage! There are lots more. I always associate it with the spiritual, calm place I long to be.

  7. My early memory of incense is during Catholic Mass when the priest would walk around the church with it “smoking” from his staff. Whatever that scent was it was not pleasant.

  8. I burn scented candles all the time, and incense is also familiar to me – namely pine or fir to remind me of the mountains nearby! I also connect incense to the church I attended growing up. I would love to become familiar with a new scent, so please consider me as you decide on a recipient..

  9. Mary, Guess I’m not as computer saavy as I think I am. ??? My first comment/under my name states “awaiting moderation??? hope I didn’t do anything wrong. Cathy Miller

  10. I love burning incense! I like to light it then walk around the room with it before putting it in its holder. My husband enjoys it too which is a plus since some husband’s don’t always like “smelly stuff.” 🙂

  11. Ahhh, incense! My grandmother had a little log cabin that burned the cone style, and also a (what I took to be) Buddha that burned it on its lap. Such fun to see the smoke curling from the cabin 🙂 Thanks for the chance to get a surprise, Mary.

  12. Incense brings back memories of my Catholic upbringing. I no longer attend church on a regular basis, but I remember the dizzying feeling I would get when it was used during a service. It also brings back memories of the late 1960’s and early 70’s. Wherever there was a party or get together, incense, among other things was in the air. Both of these are good memories. Recently, though, when I’ve purchased incense, it hasn’t smelled good. Since you have purchased your incense in large quantities, Mary, it must be good. It was a nice surprise to see your post on a Saturday:)

    • In the 1960’s, we often burned incense to cover up other scents that were in the air as well! My mother used to come downstairs and say, “what is burning?!” and we ALWAYS said “incense” (she must have blocked this memory!) Have a great weekend!

  13. My grandma had a little log cabin incense burner, too — no Buddha, though! I was intrigued with the smoke curling out of the little red chimney, and we would inhale the scent and say together, , “That balsam pine, it smells so fine!” Fun memory I had not thought of in years.
    Cynthia R

  14. I love incense and burn it frequently. It always produces a calmness in me. I especially love coming home after I have burned a stick. Open the door, and “Ahhhhhh” I see your brand is a natural incense. that is all i buy but i have never heard of Atmosphere….I would love to be the lucky winner…..

  15. As Army brats stationed in Germany, we took a drive vacation through France and Italy. Visiting the Vatican as tourists in the late 1950’s, it was our first exposure to Catholicism and all it’s relics and rituals. My younger brother (aged about 3 or 4 years old at the time) very loudly announced: “Look, their swinging buckets are on fire!” during a very solemn and quiet part of the service. That was my introduction to incense—embarrassing my parents and sending my sister and I into a fit of giggles! Ah, the memories…..

  16. Well, I must confess to never having burned incense but I would like to try it. Sounds very calming. Wishing everyone a fine weekend with lots of positive thoughts! It’s a lovely day here in northeastern Nevada. The snow has all melted and the sun is shinning.

  17. I had the same experience w/ my mom about incense. Although she loved candles, to her incense was one of those hippie things. 🙂

  18. I love icense and I have definitely had some similar experiences with friends and maybe even my parents. My favorite at the moment is the classic Nag Champa. I burn it in my house and it helps to ground me : )

  19. Mary, My favorite memory is going to confession on Saturday afternoons with my best friend, Sarah. I loved sitting in St. Monica’s RC church waiting for her– the delicious smell of incense and all those beauriful icons. I used to go home and beg my mother to let me convert. We were UU’s, which now I appreciate very much but oh, that incense!
    xoxo

  20. Hi Mary, Incense, what a memory! I’m 53 now so back in the 70’s my sister was 3 & 1/2 years older than me & I remember her burning them in her bedroom to hide the pot smell before my parents arrived back home 🙂 We had the cone shaped ones that we put in the burner that looked like a buddha puffing smoke. We would play loud music & have the black light bulbs in the room. What a happy time we would have.Not just the pot effects but the being young & not having a care in the world. Those were the days. Happiness is a choice & now that I’m older I can see that.By the way, I love your blog. You have such a great happy, positive attitude. Keep up your great work. Thank you.
    Denise

  21. It’s 4:25 in the afternoon and I’m sitting at the computer still in my pjs. I slept late, ate breakfast, read the newpaper from beginning to end. Then got on the computer to look for potential property for our alpaca farm. Found a cute bungalow on 6 acres we may have to go look at….
    About incense. My husband enjoys going to the annual Renaissance Festival and always stocks up then.
    Hope you have a great weekend!
    Donna

  22. Incence I think of church peace quiet happiness no trouble in the world beach ocean flowers the smell of yarn new book sheep animals allof gods blessings such a joy to be here we are all blessed indeed Much love x0x0x0x and thank you for all of your kind words

  23. The first time I ever smelled incense was as a freshman in college in 1969 in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It was all peace, love, and bell bottomed hippies on South Street back then – to a rather sheltered girl from small town Midland, Michigan, the scent was SO exotic to me. I thought I had arrived big time in all ways hip!
    Your post is taking me back Mary, forty years! Can it really be?

      • Oh Kelly! Thanks for sharing that! For as many times I have gone cross-seas to honor my husband’s familly, I would love to go back to Ann Arbor again! And maybe I’ll make that happen – seems like what we project here on the farm sprouts wings! xoxox

  24. Incense! Wow, I don’t think I’ve had any of this in my house since I was a teen. I used to buy it at Mabou in Saratoga back in the 70’s. Of course it was either Sandlewood or Patchouli. My parents hated it, which made me burn it all the more. Thanks for the trip down memory lane Mary.

    Cathy

  25. Oh my, like Susan A my first incense experience was also as a freshman in college in 1969 but in Newark, Delaware! Susan, I could take all of your words and sign my name…a sheltered girl from New Jersey…I was so naive at first I thought the incense was pot (do they still call it pot? weed? joint?)…I learned quickly that it wasn’t! But back to Mary and her incense! I haven’t burnt it in years but I LOVE the smell of your office! And it makes me think of EAT, PRAY, LOVE…thanks for your wonderful surprise Saturday smile! Much love…and thanks for the memories! I am smiling and laughing at all of the comments! Peace everyone!

  26. Incense brings back the memory of a trip to the Buddhist shrines and temples in Japan many years ago. It was fantastic. Love the bouquet of daffodils too, my favorite flower. They are blooming here in OH as well as many other spring flowers, way too early. We’ve had a record setting warm March.

  27. I love burning sage and champa incense. The incense reminds me of my time spent at satsangs at the Siddha Yoga Ashram in Fallsburg, NY.

    What a surprise to receive a post from you on a Saturday. You just increased the joy of my weekend.

    Peace and love to all of you.

  28. Thanks again for all you share. I had to laugh at your mom’s comment about the incense. So, often when I would suggest things to my mom…travel or some new idea – her response was always: ‘What do you want to do that for?”
    Several years ago I decided to become a yoga instructor and of course, that was her first response…

    I can always put the incense to good use!

  29. Om my goodness, I have been doling out my favorite incense sparingly for months now because I don’t know where or even if I can replace it. Would love to have a recommended replacement.

  30. I haven’t burned incense since our pot-smoking days. It was our cover-up, but
    I don’t think we fooled anybody!

  31. Hey Becky, I’m with you re: the incense we burned back in the day while we listened to the Beatles and Santana and Marvin Gaye. I’m glad I came of age back then. Just remembered I hid my stash in the vacuum cleaner hose. Didn’t use that vacuum much! Tee hee. Please enter me in the giveaway and thanks for the memory.

  32. A nice Saturday surprise to find you here in my inbox! Incense reminds me of high mass and college dorm rooms! I have asthma and can’t be around it, but wish everyone good luck on the drawing. Sweet smelling peace to all!

  33. Hi, Mary:

    I burn incense that smells like the ocean. Usually I burn it when I sit down to read a good book. The incense and a nice cup of tea are very relaxing!

    Have a great weekend, everyone!

    Jacquelyn 🙂

  34. Mary, it was like finding a little jewel in my inbox to see this from you today! The quips about incense and “other smoking materials” made me smile: it reminded me of inadvertently taking my son, then 3, to Ann Arbor when the University of Michigan was having Hash Bash! Thank God, he couldn’t read the enormous banner strung across the diag~ when I saw it, I nearly choked! The people watching was great fun, though. 😉 My family and I have laughed about it ever since.

    I would love some incense and I hope everyone is having a beautiful weekend.

  35. Hi Mary and all, I loved burning incense in the little log house with the wonderful pine smell coming out of its chimney. Now I live in a big log house and would love to burn the incense that you love Mary.

  36. I too love burning incense. Love walking into the house and smelling the wonderful smell. Waking during the night and getting a wonderful sniff.

    And what a lovely surprise to see your post today!

  37. What a treat to find a post from you on Saturday. Loved your comment about “if your not having a good weekend, try to change your thoughts”. Incense reminds me of a time in the 90’s when I was working with a wonderful body worker/therapist in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Elizabeth helped me thru a very difficult time in life, and she always burned the most wonderful incense in her office. Found some that she had given me all those years ago and just finished burning it. Had forgotten how much I used to enjoy it. I would love to try yours. Love and blessings to you.

  38. I think incense is amazing! My mother used to burn it in the house. We had this brass hand that was a mold of William Shakespeare that my dad brought back from England when he was on show business in the 1930’s. On this hand she would burn this little cone shaped incense. I always thought that when I could smell it coming into the house that Shakespeare must be smoking again. I omagined him writing a play and having a smoke. So basically I would love any incense that you would pick out! So if I am not the lucky person to get this incense, could you let us know what scent it is? Also it is a great joy to hear from you on Saturday. I am glad you got to visit with your mom, even though they live in a different world than us, I still miss losing my mom to Alheizmers five years ago. I still find myself wanting to stop by the house or call her up and share something with her. Have a great weekend! Joan

  39. It was the late seventies. I was a cool teenager, sporting “earth shoes” by Thom McCan, proud of my cordoroys that matched my colored one pocket tee-shirt that made my two-ring belt that was serpentined with thick brown leather complete a groovy smile.

    I was wandering through a “Pier One Imports” store. I found myself admiring the little onyx animals from Mexico and loved the brass candle holders.

    Suddenly i realized that the scent wafting through the air was ringing deja-vue bells, loud, clear; remniscent of another time.

    It was the beginning of my need to find solace in aramatic energy.

    It was the day I rediscovered the need to listen within. It was incense, mood changing insense. Memory triggering insense.

    I exhale.
    .

  40. Very excited to see a post from you on a Saturday! I love incense, but don’t burn it as often as I use too. Don’t know why, something I just stooped doing. Best memory, taking a bubble bath in candlelight and burning incense. My mother would ask me, “Isn’t that just too much (candles and all)? I just said no, it’s just right.

  41. How wonderful it would be to win some Incense. I haven’t done that for a long time. My massage therapist would be burning some when I came for my massage a couple years ago. It is soothing and wonderful. I would love to experience some from you. Am thankful I found your blog. You inspire me and start my day off on the right foot.
    Joan from Wisconsin

  42. I remember that just about 10 years ago I thought incense was strange, something only weird people would use. How I have evolved in 10 years and how many wonderful things have come my way and I have learned about since opening myself up to all the world and God has to offer us. I now regularly burn incense mysef and have had a few people at my house now look at me as the “weird” person

  43. I love to burn incense as it always puts me in a good mood. It helps me to clear away the negative thoughts and blahs of the day and allow me to be creative or to just be. Thanks for letting me share and thanks for your blog. I love the way it makes me think, smile and just be.

  44. I love incense as well. It clears the air and energies and changes my mood. I would love to have some of yours to see what it smells like. Count me in! Thanks Mary….

  45. Hi Mary-and Jack
    Thank you Jack for carrying our cactus down the stairs! Thanks Mary for the gift! It’s on a beautiful plant stand in our entryway, right in fron of a large mirror.My favorite incense is Pinon. It smells like you’re camping , sitting by the fire, watching the stars! What does yours smell like?
    Thanking you again, we’ll treasure your gift!
    Love
    Lillian and Pete

  46. hello mary
    your “give aways” are always such a pleasure to see…a kind and generous gesture. Burning incense is just one of the many things we can do to make our environment more pleasant for us and our loved ones.
    I read your posts everyday and they always seem to speak to what is going on in my life.
    Thank you and thanks to Jon Katz for leading me to you.
    ave

  47. Oh, the memories you stir up, Mary! I haven’t burned incense in years. Someone mentioned sandalwood and patchouli – my favorite scents from the 70’s! There used to be cream perfumes in those scents that came in a compact (was it by Bonne Bell?). I’m right back to 1975 at Saratoga Performing Art Center listening to Santana warm up for Eric Clapton. There was definitely a haze in the air but I don’t think incense was being burned! Thanks for the weekend post!

  48. I love incense! It brings back wonderful memories……………..I burned it all through my college days…………burn incense and meditate…….after I was married I burned it all the time to “warm” the house…….I still burn it, 45 years later! Thank you for your uplifting post, it brightens many days!

    Jeanne

  49. I would like the incense. Incense always helps me to settle, calm my mind and find that quiet place~

    Peace & Blessings,
    Melissa

  50. I laugh when you speak about the generation gap because my 22 year old daughter loves incense but I’ve never used them and would love to give it a try.
    Enjoy the weekend!

  51. love incense – we burn a cinammon flavored incense these days

    used it in the 70’s and 80’s for one purpose – now i use it just because i like the aroma-

    just to let you know i so enjoy your blog – i try to start the day with it ( i live on the west coast) and i always feel a sense of peace after reading. many thanks

  52. Immediately made my think of my grandmother, whom I loved dearly and who was a fairly “straitlaced” women (in my view) that my mom told me had a Buddha incense burner in the 1960’s. I sure would have loved to ask her about it!! Thanks for sharing Mary!

  53. O this is one of my favorite WFF topics so far! We’re really getting real! I was a freshman in 1967 & it’s always tickled me that the first ‘need’ I had for incense was given to me by the Stanford student body president. I liked those exotic ‘now-you’re-in-India’ scents as well as the ocean ones. Funny how patchouli had a real stigma in my west coast culture as the REALLY hippy smell…as in accompanying dreadnaughts & dirty clothes…(still, come to think of it)

    Fast forward to life with a building contractor, who will not allow flame in the house other than the wood stove! (He specialized in his career in fire repair–I use those Costco electric candles.) I’m teasing a bit re the end of a stick of incense, but like many of you, I just haven’t burned any in years. And even though it’s Sunday morning here in the very snowy woods, I’d love to try Mary’s. And I wonder if Cheryl and her brother enjoyed that “holy smoke” in Italy! 😉

  54. Just an observation—
    One of the best things (aside from the obvious generosity) about Mary’s giveaway contests is all the new names and stories they always engender. Love it!

  55. I brought in some of our Hyacinth and the kitchen smells so sweet. I’m working hard on changing my thoughts.I think I’m discouraged at the slow and complicated healing process of this blessed eye. Thanks for your wonderful blog Mary. And I love incense!

  56. Palo Santo wood is my favorite. Clears the air and negative energy from a room, and smells divine.

  57. I burnt lots of incense in the 60’s and 70’s and still enjoy lighting those sticks!
    I’ll sign up for a little of that Atmosphere Mary….luv K

  58. As more and more love is released into the world, a wonderful healing is taking place. It is like balm poured into wounds, healing and making whole. Love starts within the individual.( From Eileen Caddy), Thank you Mary for relaesing your love on this blog.
    I would enjoy recieving the incense.
    Carol Davis

  59. Thank you for your
    Thoughts about expecting the best to happen. I have been trying very hard to practice this and even when it turns out not to be the best I envinsioned it feels better than worrying about the worst

    • Dear Sandra, First a BIG Thank-You to Mary for her blog. Isn’t that a strange word for such a marvelous type of communication? I have had a great weekend reading the responses to Mary’s offer. Sandra, we are all awash with negative, negative input. The News, people in general and yes even our computers ie:facebook. BUT people like Mary are the light house we need to look for. We are on the right track looking for the positive and minimizing the negative. At the risk of being UN PC…..(heaven forbid LOL) God Bless and have a great week. From another over 40…ok over 50 Babe! Cathy Miller, Athens PA

  60. I loved seeing the daffodils down by the stream where we were hiking yesterday. It was a joy to watch and listen to the birds.

  61. I was a teenager in the 60’s and incense takes me right back to the “good old days”. I’ve always loved incense to enhance meditation or elevate my mood. Enjoy your incense.

    I love your blog and the recipes are always wonderful.

Comments are closed.