Taking my vitamins

another wonderful photo sent by a friend!

There seems to be  a theme this week, in the posts, of helping others. My mother reminded me, at breakfast on Saturday, that even witnessing an act of kindness has a positive impact on our health. When I see a video of someone being helped, it makes me feel better…that is, until the negative part of my brain starts saying things like,”What about all of the other animals (or people) out there?” or “How could someone do this?”…then I don’t feel so good.

When this happens I try to dismiss that social-political-critical self, that wants to ruin my moment of connection and love, and say to it, “Thank you for sharing, but I am going to feel good right now because it is healthier.” I think of these stories as my vitamins, and I like to let my system absorb them, let them really soak in…

….a simple act of kindness directed toward another improves the functioning of the immune system and stimulates the production of serotonin in both the recipient of the kindness and the person extending the kindness. Even more amazing is that persons observing the act of kindness have  similar beneficial results…Kindness extended, received or observed beneficially impacts the physical health and feelings of everyone involved.” From The Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer

The video below is of a blind dog rescued from a trash pile. It is lovely to see the rescue workers move right in and help him out. I was crying tears of gratitude and joy as I watched the kindness extended to this little dog!

http://www.godvine.com/Blind-Dog-Living-in-a-Trash-Pile-Gets-Rescued-1290.html

17 thoughts on “Taking my vitamins

  1. Mary, I can sure attest to the fact that good endorphines happen as a result of doing something positive for others. I do volunteer work Mon/Tues. of each week, the first, at an office in town, which gets me out and into another world entirely from home; the second, with Victim’s Services, which I do from home in the form of telephone calls. Yesterday, I made two connections with moms of teens who were going through issues and I came away from both calls, flying high with whatever happens to us when these things happen. I made a meaningful connection with both and felt that I’d relieved some of their stress. I’ve lived in the country 24 years now and while I run a B&B and do my designwork in my studio, it wasn’t until 2003 that I really began to volunteer my time. That year and the next, my husband was required to be away from home for six months each and I would sit at my computer, my only connection to the outside world, totally bored, totally to the point where I could not stand myself a minute longer. When I saw an article in our local paper for a new programme of calling seniors in their own homes, once a day, I figured that I could easily do that and this was the beginning of my volunteering. No matter what, I wouldn’t be without it now. I do feel good when I am helpful to someone else, in some way. I get back twice over whatever it is that I give out.

    SandyP in Canada

  2. Yes, Mary and Sandy! How very true is everything you’ve both just said.

    When I was younger and I would hear people saying that they gained far more from their volunteer activities than they gave, I listened with a jaded ear and thought they were trying to be self effacing and socially correct.

    Now that I’m retired and have the opportunity to volunteer and make the kinds of connections Sandy is talking about I understand what that means. I truly gain far more from my volunteer activities that I give. These kinds of connections are life saving as well as life enhancing for me.

    I love Mary’s analogy of kindness as vitamins. Starting today I will allow myself to notice and absorb all acts of kindness, to let them really soak in, beginning with Mary’s marvelous message each morning!

    From Fran

  3. I am off to take my vitamins…:) Yo momma was correct! all always amazing.. these things that are not physically touchable..as you say wonder and love..

  4. Oh my gosh, that video is wonderful. I think Fiona’s resilience is a life lesson for humans. Thanks, Mary, and like the other WFF members, I love the vitamin analogy, too.

  5. Yes Mary, and all commenters in our wonderful WFF flock, this is such a life-affirming post today, and it feeds our bodies and souls because the kindnesses we see/perform also feed the Cosmic Web in which we all live. It’s a win-win situation.

    I saw the video story of little Fiona last week. This video was a MAJOR vitamin for anyone watching. And while many similar stories do not have such happy endings, the ones that do are the ones that feed us and make us stronger to continue the work of connecting and saving. They prepare us to be ready to do the right thing, should the occasion arise in our own lives.

    We are truly blessed that we have been given the ability to feel compassion. Feeling that and, sometimes being able to help a fellow traveler or creature….well, that is a gift without parallel and a worthy reason for gratitude.

    Blessings and cosmic hugs to all of you…today and always.

  6. Oh so appropriate that Fiona’s story is on Godvine.com. I’d never heard of it but love the image and message it sends. Godvine versus grapevine…so easy to choose! And what a sweet heartwarming story. Such a compelling objective to never let anything ‘ruin our moments of connection and love’…xoxo

  7. The video is really something, full of hope and compassion. Thank you for sharing with the flock, Mary. I love the vitamin analogy, no overdose possible! Love to all.

  8. Tissue alert! I cried through the whole video…that little Fiona and her ability to bounce right back and start loving all over again. If good thoughts and good intentions aren’t vitamins for the heart and soul, I don’t know what!

  9. This story about the little blind dog went right to my heart… saw it on the news last night and what a good feel, happy, joyful story! This is what it is all about!

  10. Big dose of Vitamin C for compassion in sharing that video with us Mary! When little Fiona’s tail started wagging fast is when I had to reach for the tissues! wow. Thanks for nourishing our hearts and spirits every morning, Mary, and to all who share here.

  11. “HOW could someone DO this??” is also my knee jerk reaction. Thanks for a wonderful suggestion on how to absorb the nutrition of love. As always, Mary, you provide the framework for practical solutions towards a compassionate world.
    From baby birds to blind puppies, tossing back one starfish at a time……..
    Namaste.

  12. I have watched the video three times and cried harder each time. I feel like I need to go to all the corners and find these little dogs. What a wonderful outcome for this little girl pup.I gave my dogs an extra big hug. Thank you Mary for sharing this video and of course your writings for this day.

  13. I echo the comments! I, too, have found deep meaning in volunteering at our local shelter, where many Fionas come through. We help them be ready for their forever home. I found a car window sticker I happily display: “Wag more. Bark less.”

  14. My goal is to volunteer regularly at the shelter here. I have wanted to do this for such a long time. So far it’s a month away as per my eye follow up yesterday. Two of the four stitches were removed and that’s progress. I can’t wait to get my new glasses and feel secure enough to move on with my life.
    Good deeds and humility are a total win win situation for everyone! Serotonin and Endorphins are the best vitamins out there.
    I started to watch the video but couldn’t. It broke my heart to see that pup. I knew it was best for me that I not watch it. Maybe another time.

  15. Just start out when you’re ready. Just petting kittens or puppies (or lonely adults) will help them immensely and you, too. There should be an orientation and guidelines. Our shelter is right next door to the Thrift shop that supports us & all the staff have great spirits. Good luck!

  16. Sweet video! What a wonderful outcome! Cindy, there’s a positive surprise in there, and it definitely is a happy-ending story. Brave it if you can . . . .

    Mary, thanks, it made my week. As a “mom” of a series of older dogs who’ve come to live with me for various reasons and with various problems, I can tell you that it’s all in the perspective. I’d much rather coddle along an older shy dog, slowly bringing him out of his shell, and ending up with a happy gentle dog who lives with me 3-5 years, than take on a youngster who’d chew my house up and drive me crazy with the energy of youth. My older dogs are so sweet and they settle into the household routines very fast. I only wish I could help more of them; since I work full time I only have 2 at a time, but someday I will have more at once, when I have time to give each what they need.

    Love the blog; the recent pet pictures have been delightful; my favorite is the two dogs and a cat in the cushy chair. Thanks for sharing your life with us!

Comments are closed.