enthusiasm vs. sour grapes

I found this statue the other day and fell in love with it

I realized as I started to write this post, that I had never written about money in such a direct way before, even though it is a “subject” that I think about every day.  Being able to do (and have) what we desire in this life is wonderful, and yet admitting that we would like to be wealthy or well-off financially, is socially unacceptable. When I am talking with a person who would like more money, almost always they will say something like,”I’d like to stop living month-to-month, but I don’t mean that I want to be a millionaire or anything like that!”  As if being a millionaire was somehow taking a step down as a spiritual human being. Why would we limit ourselves with this kind of thinking?

I bought the book, that I quoted below, a number of years ago because I was really struggling with the idea of wealth and spirituality. When I read the line about enthusiasm, I thought, “How enthusiastic have I been around money?” …not very. The dominant energy that I held about money was;  disappointed, discouraged, powerless, sometimes angry, confused longing, frustrated….a long way from enthusiastic expectation!

When I went through my, “Give it all away and serve those less fortunate” phase, on top of finding out that the less I had, the less I could do, I also saw the hypocrisy in myself. I have absolutely no issue with how anyone chooses to live, but if I feel deep down, that I cannot earn (or attract) a significant amount of money or financial abundance, and so I renounce money, I am not really making a choice. Only once I know that I can have something, am I free to give it up, free to make a choice.

A fun thing to do this weekend might be to start thinking more enthusiastically about money and abundance. Try saying a blessing over your wallet or purse. If you see a coin, say thank you. Smile at your money. Have fun. Make it a game. Start sending out a new signal and watch what happens!

Money is energy. Your life is energy….Throughout history, philosophers and the great religious leaders have taught that there is divine abundance… We are loved and provided for. Money is just a symbol of the infinite goodness, the compassion that gave us life….money is energy and generating energy requires nothing except enthusiasm.” Stuart Wilde, The Little Money Bible

27 thoughts on “enthusiasm vs. sour grapes

  1. For many years, raising 3 of my children alone, I didn’t make much money. At one time, I worked 3 jobs ( 2 part-time). The one good thing I passed on to them was a good work ethic. Things got better,and so did I. When I met Pete, I was doing pretty well. When I stopped worrying about if I could afford something, things changed, and I relaxed. My blessings are many. We are always given what we need. Thank you Lord.

  2. Dear Mary, You give us so much HOPE, food for thought. I just recently turned 58. Not a true milestone, although I find I am More content, calm and centered. I have learned…for the most part,as we humans can be so silly, to live in the moment. I’m taking a few days off from work, a mini vacation. Time for walks with Maude, my beautiful dog, a nap or two,and blessed time with my husband Bill. Money? We have enough. We are working on a small happy life like our friend Jon writes about. God bless you Mary and ALL the folks that read your blog. Cathy Miller

  3. So true! Even though I’m relatively impoverished from my post-graduate studies, undertaken rather late in life, I’m encouraging myself to let go of ‘things’ … to give furniture I don’t need away, rather than having a yard sale. As long as I believe that the universe is abundant, I don’t need to clutch on to things, but can relax knowing that what I give away will come back to me in another form. And I feel abundance from the simplest things: a walk on the beach with my dog; a good meal cooked from local ingredients, shared with friends; the occasional bottle of wine. Too much ‘stuff’ would just hold me down!

    Hey Mary, you and Jon and Jenna have inspired me and I’ve started writing a blog about my journey towards sustainable living and an appreciation of the divine comedy! I’d love it if you’d check out my first post, “Manifesting Vermin” … a comic adventure by a single woman living in a rural setting! 😀

    http://discoveringlifesrepurpose.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/manifesting-vermin-48/

  4. Hi Mary! Great blog, as always…! Thank you, thank you…

    There is so much drama and baggage around money no? Sometimes we can shift the ‘sour grapes’ by shifting our thinking about money to it being only a means or tool to achieve the things that we want. So declaring ‘I want to teach myself and my children by traveling the world, or I want to help charities that are doing awesome things for people or animals (or start my own) or even I want to learn a whole new field just because it facinates me (rather than being work-related) gives you energy and excitment rather than the drama/baggage around ‘I want/need more money.’

    If we think of money as tool, the whole dynamic changes. No one goes around beating themselves up because they don’t have enough hammers in the house or think badly of themselves becasue they have 8 when they only ‘need’ one. What if I just want to have enough hammers for what I need/want to do and build and I want them put away and available for when I need them? What if money was just like a hammer??? 🙂

    • Great analogy Constanza! Anything that I can do/think that makes money feel less scary and more “friendly” is an opening inside and I can feel the relief.

  5. Very timely, Mary. I just finished extricating a client from a difficult situation. Great for them, but “bad” for me in terms of loss of future income. I’ll have to trust in good karma on this one.

  6. One of my favorite Angel Cards (Doreen Virtue) is the Abundance card. She says, “The source of all abundance is God, and you at some level had faith that the Creator would supply your needs. Your faith, even if it was small, triggered the abundance that is manifesting for you right now. Keep your faith as it will ensure a steady flow of support materially, psychologically, emotionally, spiritually, and intellectually. A wonderful affirmation to help you stay in the stream of a steady flow of abundance is “I accept good graciously into my life. All of my needs are met abundantly for me now and always.”

    I like that thought, ‘staying in the stream’. What impedes the steady flow may be the stones (or boulders!) we place ourselves. Step into the flow. .

  7. Hi Mary – this is a lesson about money and abundance that I also have learned. There’s a bible quote I was taught as a child about a rich man having difficulty fitting through the eye of a needle &/ or getting into heaven (you know the one).

    I attribute my new wisdom about money to Suze Ormand, financial adviser, author, and T.V. personality. Her rule of thumb is: People first; money, second; things third. She explains this concept and it makes sense to me. She also conveys the idea, as you have indicated, that money is energy. The more we have of it the more we can do, not just in terms of material things, but also in spiritual terms. I am thinking of Bill & Melinda Gates and their foundation.

    There is nothing wrong with money – the problem is with some of the people who have it, how they abused others to get it, and how they hoard it instead of using it for their own joy and to help others.

  8. Odd how a change in thinking can change your whole life! I read another book several years ago “Busting Loose from the Money Game” by Robert Scheinfeld – I’ve never (well, hardly ever) worried about money since. There always seems to be enough.

  9. Hmmmm, steady flow of abundance…flowing stream….current….currency….The metaphor is perfect, the vision easy to imagine. Now dismiss the “How” and see what opportunities make themselves available. I’m ready.

    • Oh isn’t that the biggest challenge sometimes; the “dreaded hows”….Thank you Maud…I am ready too!

  10. My husband and I are facing possible foreclosure of our home, and bankruptcy. As you might imagine, this is a difficult time for us, to say the least. Even though this is our situation, I feel that I’ve been given an abundance of life’s gifts. I am employed, healthy, have friends, two wonderful adult children. I’ve had the same husband for 33 years. We’ve had some really rough spots in our marriage, but are still committed to each other, especially now. If i had to exchange my gifts for all of the money in the world…it wouldn’t happen. Maybe I am actually happy that I don’t have much money. It has forced me to focus on the many things that I do have. Thank you, Mary, for inspiring me to take a few minutes to reflect, and be grateful.

    • Michele, anyone reading your post will come away feeling inspired by you, just as I am right now. You are facing some possible life changes but are doing so with such the right attitude! You’ve chosen to focus on the blessings you still have, and those will become your foundation for ‘re-starting’ your lives.

      Thanks for sharing your story so that others (like me) can hold you in thought and prayer….which is a gift for us. Many blessings and lots of hugs……
      Suzanne

  11. I love this message, and need it! Thank you! Also Michele I am going to be praying for you and your family. Thank you Mary! Joan

  12. Once again, Mary, your timing is spooky!
    I’m smiling enormously at my couple of Lotto tickets for tonight’s drawing, the largest jackpot in history. I rarely every buy a ticket and my friends chided me on how high the odds are, and what a waste of money (unless you WIN) it is. All that being true, you can’t win if you don’t play.
    So I let my mind run free with what I would do if I ever won a fraction of the jackpot: one of the first things that popped into my head was I’d charter a cruise ship and invite everyone in the WFF family for an all expense paid vacation. We could all meet and share in the abundance of our community—how fun would that be!!!! (And Michele, your home would be yours, unencumbered.)
    I’ve had such a good time envisioning how rewarding it could be to share the wealth, my modest 5 bucks makes me feel like I’m already a millionaire. A girl’s gotta dream……:-)

    • What a fun vision Cheryl! Jack bought a couple of tickets last night too. Have a wonderfully abundant weekend!

  13. I love this post and couldn’t help when you said if we see our money to bless it, to pick it up, remembering Soupy Sales back in the day . Remember the scandal when he told all his kid viewers to pick up Mommy and Daddy’s money and send it to him? There I go free associating again!
    Have a great w/e Mary. Thanks for your wonderful blog. 🙂

    • Oh Cindy, You are to funny. Soupy Sales??? I haven’t thought about him in years. Free association…that means you have a fine brain that still works. Mary, you have such a fun group of readers. CHEERS to us all. Enjoying the weekend, Cathy Miller

  14. I read this story on your blog and reread it again then decided I will Bless my bag. Shortly afterwards I received a sms that my no claim bonus had been paid in. Wow so excited.

    • Well, I didn’t win this time but I think if we set the intention, we’ll make it happen. I haven’t given up—maybe another venue— but I’d love to one day meet you and everyone else I’ve shared heart and feathers with.

Comments are closed.