Imagining the life of our dreams

Debra Saum's cat Oscar in her tub! Her wonderful website is: http://www.debrasaum.com

A few days ago, I noticed that I was feeling a bit off. Then I had a dream that I was back in school and my sons were babies and I couldn’t get to them…..back in struggle. This is an old dream for me and a signal to look at my thinking. It wasn’t hard to see what I had been envisioning (about this new project that I had taken on). I’d been trying very hard to figure out how to do it. I was feeling somewhat alone and afraid that I couldn’t do it. I wasn’t staying true to the end result and seeing it done, I was mentally and emotionally in the frustration of, “How am I going to do this?” I was actually imagining it failing.

If I am not being totally honest with myself, or self-aware enough to notice what I am thinking during the day time, my dreams always show me. And when they are fought with negative feelings and scenes, I know that my thinking has slipped into an old track and my mind is entertaining negative images and scenarios. Equally true, when my dreams are  filled with wonderful, expansive, new and exciting or interesting scenes, even if I doubt my current path, I am reassured that I am heading in the right direction.

It is as if we are playing repetitive tapes in our minds constantly while we are awake, and get so used to these thoughts and images, they have become so much a part of us, that we don’t question or challenge them. Also, we don’t really think that they are that important, or believe that our thoughts really have much to do with our lives.

Emile Coue once said, “When the imagination and will power are in conflict, are antagonistic, it is always the imagination which wins, without any exception.” So I can want something, have a huge desire for a better life, but if I only imagine difficulty, struggle and lack, no matter how much I “want” something new, what I imagine will win out.

So how do we start playing new tapes?  How do we use imagination to create what we would like instead of what we dread or fear? First, we have to see (become aware of) what we are thinking and then start saying/thinking something new. I love the simple, yet powerful affirmation below. I’ve put it up here before but it is a wonder if used “properly”. If I’ve been thinking unhappy, negative thoughts hundreds of times a day, I won’t change if I start saying something new 3 or 4 times a day. Really give it a try. Write out an affirmation and put it in your pocket and say it, feel it, every hour or half hour, then notice what changes.

Every day, in every way, I am getting better and better. Emile Coue

9 thoughts on “Imagining the life of our dreams

  1. I read a book last year, I think it was called The Wishing Trees. In Asia there is a custom that one writes a wish (or affirmation as Mary suggests today) on a piece of paper – fold it and tie it to a tree branch. Sort of another version of prayers tucked into the Wailing Wall perhaps? No matter which, I do believe too, that writing something down gives power to the words. Conversely, to actually burn something to ash that contains a personal confession or a hurt done to us, helps to let it go and visually see it gone and powerless to hurt us anymore.

  2. Mary, I am learning from you, the powerful affirmations that show up in our dreams…messages that we are on the right track, show us a truth, or signal to us that we are indeed out of balance. Your wonderful post today reminds me of that old saying that whether you think you can or think you can’t you are right…as you have often told us, our thoughts drive our feelings, our attitudes, our behaviors. Being more aware of our thoughts, when we’re driving, or walking, or vacuuming, or pushing a cart down the aisle at the grocery store, can allow us to course correct more quickly if we find we are loitering in that low energy place and work a little harder to change those thoughts and ‘spiral up’!

    • I love your phrase ” if we find we are loitering in that low energy place….”
      Interesting how words – or the turn of a phrase can bring such powerful meaning to something.

  3. All this time when I would get this same recurring dreams, I couldn’t understand it, but to assume that I was tired. So know I know. Yes I am going to put this affirmation in my pocket and keep saying it, like praying without ceasing. This also reminds me of Mary’s(mother of Jesus) last house I visited in Turkey where everyone would roll out a prayer on a handkerchief and stick it in her fence in her garden wall. this is very hard to do when it is raining and minutes later the rain turns to snow! And then you have no cloth hankerchief. So this is so much better and easier. And now I know what those dreams mean and I can truly change my thoughts for once and for all! thank you Mary I can’t tell how much I needed this! Joan

  4. I felt negative energy creeping in today… it seemed to compound in no time…
    then I thought of one of your amazing posts about inviting good things to enter our lives – replacing what bad things could happen in a situation-with thoughts of something positive/good taking its place…..

    and Voilà…my energy changed…it remained a busy, odd, crazy day,
    however, my vision of the situation was spot on- expecting better….
    allowing room for some positive energy to enter….

    who said you can’t teach an old dog new tricks…woof…
    …thank you, thank you, thank you….

  5. Oh Mary, I love Debra Saum’s website.I couldn’t resist subscribing to it. Her images along with your affirmation and touching thoughts have made my night. Sweet Dreams, Cindy

  6. I had a struggle dream last night. In the half-awake daze of the dream, I was frustrated that I was late for class, and besides I was drawing a total blank about my teaching plan. What was I going to teach them when I finally got to class late and embarrased? I was searching my brain…when it hit me… I am retired. No students to get to. What a relief!

    I realize that this dream indicates that I am frustrated and fearful with some aspect of my life. But it also indicates ultimate relief. And thanks for remindiing me about the wonderful and simple quote. Here’s one I found recently on my “Yogi” teabag: Say it straight, simple and with a smile.

  7. Banishing negative thoughts and freeing yourself from bad emotional things in your past are some examples of stuff all Lyme patients have been hearing about from the various LLMDs who treat this (this is part of the healing process as these negatives cause us to remain sicker).

Comments are closed.