It’s all too beautiful

"Love" by Carolyn Abrams (her beautiful website is http://www.carolynabrams.com

I finished my post yesterday morning, hit the “publish” button, but it didn’t work. I tried again, but WordPress indicated that it had already been published, even though it hadn’t. I tried again and still it did not work. I decided to go for a run and suddenly thought, “What if this is perfect? What if everything is, right now, as it should be? Even though I want it to be different, could it be right?” That was such a powerful thought. It was so soothing. Thinking that I need to change something, or that something should be different, when at the moment, I cannot change it, is so hard on both the emotional and physical body. When I decided that maybe the post not coming out at 7 am might be OK (or better than OK), even though I didn’t understand it, I felt a little excited to see how it would be resolved.

I went from being frustrated and irritated at WordPress (and my technical ineptitude) to feeling anticipation. In the car on the way to my office, I turned on the radio and the words, “…it’s all too beautiful, it’s all too beautiful”, were coming through the speakers and I smiled thinking of this very 1960’s song. It was such a wonderful affirmation for the day. The post that I had just written, was about using affirmations to create a better reality. I laughed as I sung, “It’s all too beautiful!”  all the way to my office. When the song finished, the D.J. said, “That was Ichycoo Park by Small Faces, one of the classics from 1967, the summer of love.”

I remember that song. I was 12 years old when it came out, and suddenly I was right back there…zip. 45 years ago…time passed like it was nothing. If I am still around in 45 years, I’ll be 101. No time to waste on silly things like worry and regret and fear of the future. It will all be OK, somehow it will be right, maybe it will all be “too beautiful” for words. I like that thought.

The video of this song is below….today is a good day to celebrate the “spring of love, 2012!”

32 thoughts on “It’s all too beautiful

  1. Mary, your words “No time to waste on silly things like worry and regret and fear of the future.” accentuated my focus on a need to celebrate life daily. Once in a while I find myself in the company of very critical people. I don’t like to hear others being criticized, nor do I like criticism aimed at me. It always looks like..feels like poison darts in my minds eye. This week Lily’s (my Therapy/Hospice dog) and my Palliative Care friend died. Our visits with our friend were always positive and loving. His last words on a phone call to me were, “I love you!” He demonstrated such love of his family and for us. His face, his voice, and his love shine through! His memory is a reminder to me to Celebrate daily and wrap myself in loving thoughts, loving people, loving animals, and loving projects! Thank you Mary for sending words that triggered and jelled my thoughts..enjoy your day.

    • Thank you for this wonderful story Marjorie…the best last words in the world, “I love you!”

  2. Mary – I remember that song, too. I was 10 that summer. Thank you for putting that refrain back in my mind. Your recent posts have been exactly what I needed to hear right now – how often has that happened?! My oldest daughter is probably going to be moving farther away from home for graduate school and I’ve been focusing on all the challenges she’ll face (how is she going to find a good place to live, how is she going to find good doctors, will she be safe, etc., etc.) instead of the positives this opportunity represents. What if this is exactly where she should be at this point in her life, what if this is the perfect place for her to further her growth in her field of study?? This isn’t about me and how much I’ll miss seeing her. After all, isn’t our goal as parents to have our children become independent and pursue their dreams? I had lost sight of that. Thank you for opening my mind to the wonderful possibilities awaiting her.

  3. Thanks for a wonderful post, especially “Thinking that I need to change something, or that something should be different, when at the moment, I cannot change it, is so hard on both the emotional and physical body.” I’m dealing with a work situation that is causing me to be angry and to stress. This is a reminder that I have a choice not to handle it that way. It will be my birthday gift to myself today.

  4. What an absoutely wonderful way to start my day! I’m singing in my office and all my troubles are fading away. I was 10 when this came out – but I think I love it more now.

  5. “Itchycoo Park”…..ahhhhhhhhh…….summer of ’67….a beautiful time in my life. Life was changing, everyone was coming into the energy, thinking new thoughts and trying new things. I was 24, already had my first-born, but took full advantage of finally being able to bloom in an atmosphere that finally fit.

    I blinked my eyes and it’s 2012…and once again, I’m taking full advantage of being able to bloom yet again. And your current lesson, Mary, of “What if everything is, right now, as it should be?” is part of it. And you’re right. Telling yourself this takes a huge burden off a person. As my Reiki Teacher tells me all the time, “You can’t push the river.” Words to live by at 69. 🙂

    • I love the wisdom of your Reiki teacher Suzanne…a great image! and the thought, “..taking full advantage of being able to bloom yet again.” so perfect…happy humming!

  6. Love the song.-“Itchycoo Park”.. just what I needed today…
    thanks Mary…you are a gem…

    thanks Suzanne T…love your Reiki teacher’s quote…
    “You can’t push the river.” …. gently down the stream ….

    and yes, a “spring of love, 2012!” to each and everyone…

  7. Thank you, Mary for being telepathic in that you hit the nail on the head mostly every time. It really is all too beautiful and our job is to enjoy it. :o)

  8. Oh so sweet! I was 16 that summer…had my first real boyfriend and kiss, and also had mono! I remember sitting in the sun on the beach with my cute little transistor radio and listening to this song! I just love the positive and uplifting ‘what ifs’…it’s all so beautiful! Thanks, Mary! And a wonderful birthday to you, Charlotte!

  9. Mary, thanks once again for such a great post. There is tremendous bravery in letting go of those pesky fearsome thoughts. I remember that song too..what a great tune to have rollin’ around in my head today. And thanks again for posting Oscar’s photo yesterday…..he surprises me daily with his Orange Boy Kitty antics and his ability to let go of fearsome thoughts at the drop of a hat, to go jump in the tub and invite play with anyone who’s watching.

    • Oh my goodness, it was a pleasure to post that sweet face! (and I love wandering through your website looking at your animal paintings that have so much depth and soul…it is a meditation just to see what you do)

  10. I was 16 in the summer of ’67 and so remember this happy song too! Mary, I love when you pair your posts with the oldies but goodies! I marvel at how music has the power to transport us back to another time, (I could almost smell the Coppertone sunscreen, Kathye! and the dial on your transistor radio!) I feel re-energized after hearing that pretty song! Want to make it last today and on to tomorrow – It’s all too beautiful!

  11. That time in the summer of love ’67 (or was it ’69?) I had graduated from high school and would start college in the fall. A marvelous freeing time from 4 yrs at a girls’ boarding school to the incredible joy of Stanford’s first co-ed dorm. I received a turquoise ’67 Mustang & drove it to freedom away from a cloistered family and school. Wa-hoo. But now I’m 3 weeks into a diabetes diagnosis and it feels like the world is very dark and not at all beautiful. I hesitated to share this, but maybe some of your readers don’t leap into joy so easily and have tough stuff to handle. It IS good to see how everyone seems to feel & I’m trying to cope. Nothing to do but hang in there and make the best of it.

  12. Kathi, I am an (almost) 11 year breast cancer survivor. I know how dark your days must seem right now, and I am not walking in your shoes, so I can’t tell you what’s best for you. I can only talk from my viewpoint.

    It is a horrible shock to get bad health news and it throws you into an abyss that you never expected to see. I was fortunate to become one of the survivors, and looking back on it all, I can see exactly when I decided that yes, I was dealt this blow, and the only thing about it in my control, was to do what it took to get myself back to health. I went about the surgery and all in an almost mechanical, detached way (probably because I was frozen with fear). When the physical remedies had been handled, I realized that my mind was still in a glue-pit of fear, and that is when I forced myself to take charge of my daily viewpoint.

    It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do and, believe me, it was a long, tough slog. I didn’t wake up the next morning all bluebirds and butterflies. I worked at it and it took me almost a full year before I could actually say that I was feeling more positive about my outcome.

    Please do not beat yourself up over this. You CAN do it but it is not instantaneous, and you will have days when you will also say, “The hell with this. I can’t do it anymore.” And once you’ve gotten that out of your system, you’ll go back to trying again. One day, for no apparent reason, you will suddenly realize that your feelings don’t seem quite as pessimistic, and that will be the time to grab what you’ve got, remember what the feeling is like, and run with it, always pulling yourself back to it as you move off the mark.

    Be kinder to yourself, don’t expect miracles in the next second. In time, your health issue will no longer be news to you. Once the initial upset wears off, you will see more clearly that you can work with this and still live a great life. Know that all of us here will be with you in thought and support. ~Suzanne Tate

    • Suzanne…what authentic realistic perspective you offer to Kathi and really to all of us at WFF. I so appreciate it. Thank you for sharing with us. I was ill all of last Spring. Not with a life threatening illness but a debilitating one nevertheless. One that left me exhausted and somewhat depressed. It took months of treatment until I was feeling better again. The biggest thing to handle was not being in control and like you, I tried to do everything and anything I could to get myself back to health. There were dark days and less dark days. Something that Jon Katz once wrote about the light of each new day being a call to life really resonated with me. Most days I would force myself through a routine although very much on automatic pilot. For me, one morning I woke up and knew and felt things were different. It is exactly a year ago today that I began my treatment. And I marvel in the fact that I feel so wonderful just a short year later. Kathi, I wish that for you. You said it…’hang in there and make the best of it’…the fact that you ‘joined’ WFF speaks volumes about your strength and outlook on life! And…wow! A turquoise ’67 Mustang! My dream color and car! Weren’t the 60’s great!

      • Kathye, so glad you’re feeling well again. It’s never too late for that Mustang! 🙂

  13. That song brings back great memories of the Jersey shore. I was 12. Every summer my family would go for two weeks to Ocean Grove, NJ. My best friend Claire came with us. We had so much fun walking the boardwalk to Asbury Park where all the excitement and rides were. The smell of salt air, hot dogs and cigarettes. When I hear that song, it makes me feel cool, like something good is going to happen. I liked the part where we could skip out school. Thanks for the happy memory Mary. Happy Birthday Charlotte!

  14. O thanks very much for the kind words, Kathye and Suzanne! Yes, it’s always the climbing back that counts. Nice words for all. In ’85, I also had a mastectomy.

    It’s great to be reminded of the inevitable ups and downs. Moments of normalcy grow if we keep our faces to the sun, despite those clouds, again.

    Appreciate your taking the time–I’ll reread often!

    • What an incredible woman you are! And what an incredible group of woman we’ve met through Mary’s blog…all of us who strive to keep our faces to the sun and who look for the rainbows after the rain…I’m so honored to “know” you all…Sweet dreams…

  15. Great song! I don’t remember this one. And thanks, again, for this message – we are exactly where we are supposed to be. I keep seeing this everywhere. It must be true! Happy Day. 🙂

Comments are closed.