May my heart always be open

A bluebird on our "church" bird house this morning

It sometimes surprises people when they find out that I don’t go to church. I have gone to many churches, and attended many different religious/spiritual celebrations, services, and rituals, and I find my deepest feeling of connection comes from silent, alone time. Sometimes this is outside in nature, but often it is sitting with my first cup of coffee at 5 am, in the living room, listening to the cats eating their breakfast, meditating on the goodness of this life.

Whatever “place” you choose to be in this weekend, may it be one of deep peace and connection to the Love that is who you are.

MAY MY HEART ALWAYS BE OPEN  by e.e. cummings

may my heart always be open to little
birds who are the secrets of living
whatever they sing is better than to know
and if men should not hear them men are old

may my mind stroll about hungry
and fearless and thirsty and supple
for even if it’s sunday may i be wrong
for whenever men are right they are not young

and may myself do nothing usefully
and love yourself so more than truly
there’s never been quite such a fool who could fail
pulling all the sky over him with one smile

47 thoughts on “May my heart always be open

  1. Thank you for a Saturday Morning post, Mary. My daughter-in-law and son, Emily & Robin, arrived last night. My heart was open and happy.

    Thank you, also, for the lovely poem. I will share it with them.

    Happy Easter to you, Jack, your Mom and sons wherever and however you spend it. With an open heart, Mary Rita.

  2. Ahhhhh Mary…such a compelling message for this Easter weekend…and it began with your unexpected surprise post. Thank you. I felt such a sense of peace and calm come over me as I read your words and e.e. cummings poem. A bright sunny morning just perfect for re-centering, and living from our place of love and peace. Happy Easter to you and your family. Happy Passover and Easter to our WFF family. With a wide open heart from Vermont…where this morning the sky is Robin’s egg blue, the breeze is warm, the daffodils are just blooming and all is right with the world. Much love…

  3. Thanks for what I would call a very “sweet posting” on this Saturday before Easter! Meditating on the goodness of this life – I love that line.

  4. yes, yes, ahh—–the sweetness of spirit that we are all connected to. my solitude is my deepest connection to the divine.

    i love you mary, blessings on your house,
    virginia

  5. Whenever I see a weekend post from you, Mary, I feel as if I have been given a gift. Today’s gift was so special, and conveyed such peace and connectedness.

    Happy Passover, Happy Easter, Happy Spring to all. In whatever way your celebrations manifest themselves, may all your skies be blue, may all your breezes be warm and may you be energized by the wonderful blessing of being alive.
    Many blessings.

    • What a lovely thing to say Suzanne! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    • Thank you Maya…it delights me beyond words to think that the posts are welcomed with such an open heart!

  6. Thank you, Mary, for this little Saturday morning treasure. That poem is going up where I will see it every day.

    Passing along a sentiment from the radio yesterday about this weekend: What ever your celebration, be spiritual, be happy, be together. Do something for someone else.

    Much love to all of the Feather Flock.

  7. Ahh, Mary… I too find my connection in nature and small silent moments. Love to you and all this weekend and beyond.

  8. One of my very favorite poems of all time! I love the quirky way he says things, truly playing with words. We are having 10 people (family) over for mid-day dinner tomorrow, and the very next morning we are having new carpet installed. . Am I crazy? There are books piled in all the hallways, – (they move furniture, but all books/knicknacks, etc are our responsibility) – I was starting to feel overwhelmed yesterday until I wrote down, “It will all be fine!” on a piece of paper and slipped it in my pocket. I felt like I had the support of the whole flock with me. Taking time to savor the Friday posts mid-afternoon also helped. Thank you Mary for such a sweet Easter posting!

    • I somehow knew that you would like this poem Susan! Sending you thoughts of happiness and inner calm during your busy days,

    • As Julian of Norwich said, “…All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.”

      And so it shall, Susan. One week from now you will be loving your new carpet and barely remembering its installation. Life is good. 🙂

    • Nothing like brand new carpet! And just think, you don’t have to worry about dirt, spills, or anything else on the current carpet/floor as it will be brand spanking new on Monday…and bring with it a new freshness for the spring! It WILL all be fine and worth the few hours of craziness! Please share the color so we can have a mental picture! Enjoy Easter with your family Susan!

      • Thanks so much Kathye and everyone! The color will definitely be more ‘dog’ friendly as in out with the light light beige we inherited – going to a warmer touch of gold. That’s a nice thought – scrunching my toes in soft new carpet, Terri! – bet my two dogs will have to do some try out rolls and back scratching too – again, Happy Easter everyone. Off to sleep so the bunny can get back to work in the a.m. 🙂

  9. I echo the thanks of others for this precious Easter post.
    Have a peaceful day filled with all the things, people, cats, dogs and blue birds that you love.

    and I read this recently: going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car. I don’t mean to be irreverent by this!

  10. What could be better than finding a basket of colored eggs and chocolate bunnies? Why, a surprise Saturday morning visit from the Farm, of course!
    I, too, find my most spiritual places in the still moments and glorious surroundings provided in nature.

    I remember watching Flip Wilson’s very funny Reverend character of “The Church of What’s Happenin’ Now’ back in the 1970’s. And just realizing how profound the concept of church being “what is now, what is the moment”!
    Blessings, blue birds and love to all.

  11. I have so enjoyed reading all the above comments but especially appreciate your quote,Marilyn. Mary, thank you for sharing the little bluebird and your comments about Church. I so agree, as I feel enveloped by the “new life” expressing itself right now. Nature is so generous with her Gifts of beauty that are drawn to an open heart.

  12. Dear Mary, You have made my weekend And given me a great gift. I was raised as a Roman Catholic. Always felt guilty about not attending formal church services in recent years. Now I know why I feel so calm and wonderful on my hikes. Just me, my dog and my God in His glorious nature. Whether it is sunny and bright or cloudy and gray. I ALWAYS feel His presence outside in nature. Thank-You, Have a Blessed Easter. Cathy Miller

  13. “the goodness of this life “…” and connection to the Love that is who you are”

    so grateful to be one of your flock members….lovely spring moments
    to all the feathered ones out there…tweet…

  14. Thank you Mary for giving us all an opportunity to share the warmth of each of us. It means a great deal to us to BE with each other. Wishing everyone peace and personal freedom.

    • It is such a blessing to me to be a part of this very loving community

  15. Ditto ditto from the deep woods. Snow’s melting and we can put out the deck chairs (but be sure to bring them in). Lovely morning to feel and send Light to all! Cheers from ~Kathi (feeling better)

  16. I don’t attend church due to an allergy to perfume. I don’t actually need to be there to be blessed by God. There sure are other ways to get a good teaching, say from programs like In Touch ministries with Dr. Charles Stanley. There was actually a United Methodist minister who made fun of my perfume allergy, going on and on about being allergic to the body of Christ. What a nerd.

Comments are closed.