Nap time

Eleanor sleeping on the Turbo Scratcher toy

We got home last night at 10:30 which is super-late for us, but we were having such a great time, that we didn’t want it to end. The cats really don’t care how late I go to bed, they want me up by 5 and I generally oblige (because they won’t give up until I do).  I sat at my computer and tried to think of something to write but drew a blank so I looked at real estate on-line, ate oatmeal, looked at a book with some gorgeous pictures of Easter celebrations…still no inspiration. …it is sort of delightful to be a little tired out from having a good time!

“Writing is 90 percent procrastination: reading magazines, eating cereal out of the box, watching infomercials.” Paul Rudnick

29 thoughts on “Nap time

  1. Well Mary, your blank is beautiful! Trust one of your lovely kitties to provide inspiration for you and joy for your readers. I love your observations,and the picture of Eleanor, so I went straight to Amazon and ordered a turbo scratcher and the hurrucane version for my kitties. They thank you too.

    Happy Monday to all.
    From Fran

    • Good morning Fran and thank you! (The Turbo Scratcher is my cats favorite toy)

  2. One of my cats likes the Turbo – and – in the same way that Eleanor does – she just lays across it. I don’t recall her ever using the ball aspect of it. Nice to see a shared habit.

  3. Ha! Now I know why I am procrastinating about writing my lecture!!! I feel less guilty! It will get done.

  4. Mary,
    Thank you for sharing your “humanity!” You deserve an occasional respite
    from delivering all your thought provoking, inspirational material. In fact,
    your “writer’s block” and photo of beautiful Eleanor (perhaps unknowingly to you) “delivered.”

    My cats love the Turbo (didn’t know the toy’s name till today) – I play with
    them – I roll the ball in their direction and most of the time, they return it. Good fun for 2 and 4 legged participants!

    Bless you for being YOU and all your precious “furry” children!

    jekyllcat

  5. Our cats love the turbo scratcher. They also sleep on it when they want too. Last night Simba, the 12 year old was laying beside it resting near my bed and along came Little Joe the soon to be 11 month old and made the ball go round during the night and when I looked at Simba he put his paw on it and stopped it. Then a few minutes later Simba decided to do. It was quite comical. I love it and I love them as they make my day and night.The girls Bootsie and Snickers, both 8 months are always playing with it when they run in the room. Bootsie with her 7 claws on each of her four feet really wacks it and makes it go fast and then she runs back at and does it again.

  6. Hi Folks

    I left a word out of my comment…………..

    on the sentence …. Then a few minutes later Simba decided to do it and make it go round.

    Lindy Fellober

  7. Mary, you didn’t draw a blank and never can go wrong with a picture of one of your cats demonstrating sublime serenity.
    One day, tell us how each cat was named. Eleanor sounds like a good place to start.
    Have a happy week!

    • Eleanor was found as a tiny abandoned kitten (only a few days old) and the date was very close to Jack’s mother’s birthday (who was named Eleanor)…when we brought her to the vet, she only weighted a few ounces and our vet said, “Eleanor is way too big a name for this little girl!”

  8. Thank you, Mary, for quiet time to concentrate on my cat Sniffles. She been overlooked all weekend. I’ll have to look at the Turbo Scratcher. She is double pawed on all her feet – more claws to grab the furniture.

    My friend Dave and his dog Mia were here for the weekend. We went to a great Seder on Saturday, to the ocean for a sunrise service, an Easter service, and dinner with my cousin on Sunday. So I shared leftover Easter breakfast with Sniff, brushed her, and now she’s happily sleeping in her basket not having to share her house with anyone.

  9. You know Mary, you may not have felt inspired this morning but your honest post certainly inspired me! It made me think back to those times when I did not want the evening to end. When I didn’t want the magical spell of friendship to be broken…we were spending the weekend at my best friend’s house. She was very close to the end of her life and we all knew it. But we wanted to enjoy every last second. We all sat on her living room floor with her 5 disc CD player and started to play songs and sing! I was technologically challenged but that night Spirit took over…as she would shout out favorite song after favorite song that she wanted to hear, I would line up the cd’s and change them and get them on the right track…one after another for hours…never missing a beat. The four of us sat there on the floor and sang everything from The Grateful Dead’s “Ripple” to Celine Dion’s “Because You Loved Me” to Brooks and Dunn’s “My Maria” (her favorite song). Each of us had to go to the bathroom during the course of this 5 hour singathon, but none of us wanted to get up and leave the room and break the spell. None of us said a word about it, but we all felt it. After she passed, that evening was chronicled in her journal…an evening that I will never ever forget. So…a blank? I don’t think so…not for me…THANK YOU!

  10. Nap time indeed!! Guess what? After hosting our family yesterday for a lovely afternoon Easter dinner – I got up at 3:30 a.m.. Yes, a.m. I couldn’t sleep knowing the carpet installers were coming at 8 a.m. I unloaded the dishwasher and then got a brainstorm on how to untangle all the internet cables in the study, lifting the end of a heavy desk at 4 a.m., so that I could reconnect it all in the laundry room so as not to miss out on a day at the farm! Well, 8 a.m. rolls around, and two very nice men start tearing up our carpet – and what seemed to be a formality, had me go out to the truck to verify chosen carpet. That turned out to be a big OH NO! moment! It was not the color we had ordered, and after a few phone calls, things came to a grinding halt. The men left, – by that time my husband was home from the gym, and was he ever mad! I was glad the installers had left. We went on down to Lowe’s and the carpet was reordered and may even arrive and be installed by week’s end. In the end, I honestly am saying no big deal. It will give me extra time to clean the baseboards from years of doggie fur build-up – and now, oh yes, now, the heavenly well deserved nap post entertaining yesterday. My dog LOVES the fact that the mattress is smack dab on the floor – the frame long dissasembled – she is curling up close as I type this. It’s funny how differently a couple can react to a situation. I have to bite my tongue with my fiery Spanish tempered husband. To me getting all worked up just isn’t worth it. You have to choose your battles, and in the long scheme of things, what is a couple more days? I’ve gone on long enough. Just so happy I won’t miss a day checking in. Funny, the little brainstorms you can have in the middle of the night. Off to visit the Sand Man. . . ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  11. “In Judo, as in life, when something blocks your path, step aside and move around it.”
    Good move, Mary. It’s fun to shake up the old patterns; that’s what naps are made for!

  12. Creating anything takes inspiration. I don’t know where you find as much fresh inspiration as you do, Mary, to continue a blog such as this. Good to know other people run dry at times. I get ideas visually; I think you might get ideas more cerebrally and through hearing or reading something that will trigger a thought or concept. It’s fun that you are so honest about it all here.

    SandyP in the wild winds of Canada today

  13. It is a gift to feel tired. Really tired from socializing and actually remembering everything that went on! So much better than the bad old days of using the excuse of being “tired” when it was really something else.

  14. Our kitties enjoy the turbo scratcher too, especially when I sprinkle a bit more catnip on it. Ah, procrastination, I’m supposed to be doing income taxes but couldn’t resist checking in with White Feather, Bedlam, Full Moon and Cold Antler… Such a nice break from number crunching…

  15. You guys are a bunch of fun and good energy! When next we wake up, we could dream a cybermap that would place us!? Nice trip up to Oregon to get a new tv. The one we had was literally the bang-on-its-sides to get a whole picture. Now if I could just fast forward through the ads. I was proud of myself that over the long weekend, I maneuvered correctly re the new diet & even ate out successfully wihout feeling deprived.

    Maybe that’s what we do when we rest and are nurtured (or bothered) by memories from the past…we let that energy propell us–is it toward peace?

      • It certainly is! …I am starting to really understand that without inner peace, it doesn’t matter where we are or what we are doing, it’s not enjoyable (and the opposite is true too…with it, life is good!)

Comments are closed.