Slowing myself down: Setting in motion the creative forces of the Universe

My niece Mary's dog, Jade, sleeping on our couch after playing hard with Luke

My day unexpectedly opened up on Monday, and I decided to take a ride to Middlebury VT, (a town we are thinking about moving to) just look around and get a feel for it. It was a fluke of a warm day here (almost 90 degrees) and the drive was like heaven. I arrived in town and started slowly driving up and down every street. I didn’t want to miss anything.

After about an hour, I started to get tense and tired. It was hot, and I was in an unfamiliar town (which has traffic…a thing I’m not used to!). I pulled over and took a deep breath and reminded myself that I would be guided and shown what I needed to see, if I could relax and get out of my head, and into my heart. I never used to be able to stop myself like this. The more wound-up or frustrated I felt, the more I would try to DO SOMETHING to change it. That usually ended up in an escalation of the chaotic feelings until things got worse; either I made some rash decision, or crashed from emotional exhaustion….a tiring way to live at any age, but the older I get, the more I feel the negative effects of out-of-control emotions.

When I get excited about something, I have a tendency to want to “make it happen” and I know the reason for this is that I temporarily forget that I’m not in this (thing called my life) alone, and think that if I don’t figure it out, it won’t happen. I think that I know how it should happen, and forget that I don’t really ever get to see the big picture….this is where faith comes in.

It is a thrilling thought, that the Spirit of Life wants me (wants us all) to have a big, abundant, happy, loving, fulfilling life experience, but I notice that on a pretty regular basis, I need to be reminded that faith in this spiritual Truth is the real door-opener.

After my short period of “remembering”, I slowly drove up a hill into a lovely residential area that turned out to be a dead-end. I was turning around, just as a man was walking out of his driveway. He smiled, and looked at me like he thought I might be lost and in need of help. I told him that we were hoping to move to Middlebury and he said, “I don’t think there is anything for sale, at the moment, in this neighborhood, but a really nice old colonial home in town, just came on the market a few days ago and I can give you directions. I hadn’t known about the house he mentioned.

I did a drive by and it was the nicest and most “perfect for us” looking place that I have seen so far. I wondered, as I got home later in the day, if I would have dove-tailed with that friendly, helpful man, if I had been all stressed out and rushing? I don’t think so. I don’t believe that our energies would have matched. My little time of slowing down actually moved things along so much faster because I was working with the energy of the Divine (which always has the big picture and never rushes!)

There is a basic law that like attracts like. Negative thinking definitely attracts negative results. Conversely, if a person habitually thinks optimistically and hopefully, his positive thinking sets in motion creative forces – and success instead of eluding him, flows toward him.” Norman Vincent Peale

63 thoughts on “Slowing myself down: Setting in motion the creative forces of the Universe

  1. Good Morning! Beautiful post, Mary. I can almost see the house that you saw and I look forward to hearing what unfolds for you with it. Middlebury is an interesting town, in the Banana Belt of VT. I, too, have been reminding myself daily that I am not walking this path alone. I am allowing myself to open my inner ears a bit more to hear what I might not otherwise. Have a great day!

    • Well, I never heard that expression before Diana….The Banana Belt of VT… It sounds tasty!…what does it mean?

  2. Good Morning Mary, up early today before heading off to work and had a little time to check email. I’m so glad I did! Your post is just what I needed. I am retiring on April 25 after 34 years as an RN and I’ve been getting a lot of comments (I’m 57) from people, are you sure your ready, what will you do with yourself, don’t be to idle, ect. Usually I just shine it on, but after so much skepticism coming at me I have been out of sorts and a little depressed and second guessing myself. Your words remind me to have faith- in myself, in God and the Universe. I just want to let it unfold and be, why does there always have to be a plan? People mean well, I know. I’m so glad you stopped and settled yourself, your meeting with this man may have lead straight home! Blessings, always…

    • Good Morning Mary and Terri,

      Congratulations on your retirement! and best wishes for much enjoyment ahead.
      What I have loved about my retirement of seven years is exactly what Mary reminds us of in today’s post. We can slow down and notice and revel in happenings in our life that we didn’t believe we had time for previously. The deadlines are for the most part self imposed and what ever doesn’t happen today, can be accomplished tomorrow, if it is still important tomorrow. Be available for joy in new accomplishments and happenings.
      Best wishes to Mary in her quest for a new home, and best wishes to Terri in her new life.
      From Fran

    • Terri…I was your age and had 34 plus years of service when I retired 4 years ago! I heard many of the same comments you are hearing. When people ask what will you do or what am I doing I tell them I am working on me! And you deserve to do that after all of your giving! You are absolutely right, you don’t have to have a plan! Because God does! That’s part of the fun! I am busier now than when I worked and wonder how I used to fit it all in. And it is the best decision I made. I find that time goes even faster now…it flies by…so slowing down and enjoying it is wonderful. Congratulations to you. The skeptics aren’t “there” yet. And this is your story, your reality, your opportunity, your journey, not theirs! Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy. I’m so happy for you! Live your retirement dream! Cheers!

    • I love how all the sisters are putting their arms around you Terri! Congratulations and know it’s your time now to spread your wings and do things you never had the time to be before. 34 years of nursing, what service indeed! Love to you!

    • Hi Terri, I have been retired for about three years now and people said the same things to me…what will you do with yourself, you’ll get bored, you won’t be contributing any longer, yadda, yadda, yadda.

      What do I do with myself? I do whatever I please on most given days. Am I bored? Not a wit! I’m luxuriously catching up on reading, and seeing friends I haven’t had time to see in ages. Am I contributing? I’ve just completed certification in Reiki and am helping people and even some animals in ways that I never had my hand in…ever!

      So go and enjoy, as the Universe has called you to do. A new life awaits….

      • Suzanne, thank you for your kind words. I am looking forward to so many things, just go with the flow of that river! congratulations to you on your Reiki certification and doing what the universe has called you to do.

    • I love all of the supportive replies to you Terri! You certainly have the support of this community behind you! ..Good for you for going with your heart (without a plan!)…From my experience, I’ve never been given a plan ahead of time and the few times that I thought I had one, things unfolded much differently anyway (but always good)

  3. A lovely post, Mary, and I am so glad you had that experience with the kind man who showed you the way to an alluring home. Middlebury sounds charming.

    Today is a day that I sure need this “relax and let Spirit do the planning” reminder. I am meeting with my academic advisor later this morning because the university I attend has revised its class schedule, thereby throwing an unwelcome delay into my graduation plans. I spent most of the last four hours wide awake, seething and stewing about what to do next. Thanks to you, I am going to take fifteen minutes to sit quietly after I finish this comment: I plan to take a relaxed, happy attitude into my day instead of this angry struggle. I’m willing to wonder, “What if it is all perfect?” 🙂

  4. Mary, what a wonderful post…for someone who needs to be reminded to slow down and let things take their course. I have always been an over thinker, worrier. But since I have been reading your blog, I am taking more time to enjoy the right now; not worry about what next?! I may live down South, but I feel like you are a neighbor and friend who offers me the wisdom to be a better person for everyone; not just my family, around me. It really is true…take time to stop and smell the roses!!!

  5. Wonderful post! Thank you—————I am in the midst of a big transition in my life….a very positve one, but it gets difficult to sometimes “let things go” and remember that we cannot control all of the outside forces.
    So, I will live in the moment and take things as they come. What is meant to be, will be.
    Have a wonderful, peaceful day. 🙂

  6. Good morning Mary, I am facing a difficult day at work today, knowing it will be full of drama. Before reading your post this morning I was already wound up and ready to argue. But after, I sat for a minute, and thought about the coming day and how I can control how I act and react. I have a new perspective on the day and now see it in a positive way. Thats why I love your blog. You help me to take a minute, take a breath and just think first. Sending out positive thoughts today will get me much farther. I am now expecting today to be a good day. Thank you!

  7. Good Morning Mary
    My “slow down time” is spent with you each morning:)
    You focus me for the day.Thank You

  8. Wow! How significant that the dead end street turned out not to be a dead end at all, but a ‘lead’ and connection to your next stop. Divine guidance for sure. Middlebury is calling you…you feel it…and it feels you. I know Middlebury well and I can see you and Jack there with smiles in your hearts and on your faces! Cheers to this journey! Much love…

  9. Good morning WFF family!

    Mary, your post reminds me to use my daily affirmation: “Surrender, faith, patience, self-acceptance” more often – especially when I start to feel my muscles tightening as my brain says “This (whatever it is) should be DIFFERENT.” Kelly’s post also brings to mind another good affirmation: “Everything is perfect just the way it is.” But I keep looking for the morning e-mail from God outlining the day’s agenda and asking for my approval ☺

    “The Divine plan is not an option. It will unfold. Our only choice is whether we resist it – or not.”

  10. What a great reminder today as I am entering a busy day at work trying to MAKE things happen… Thanks for this.

  11. I also have issues “pushing the river” and like you mentioned it most often ends in chaos when I try too hard. My mom used to say to me all the time when I was younger, “Let go and let God” and as I get older, I am appreciating how much those words help.

  12. Mary,

    I truly loved your blog today and the reminder to slow down and not always be in control of things, which I certainly have a tendency to do and not always with the best results I might add.

    I am still working and am 75 years of age and wouldnt be if I didnt need the money…however, there are times lately I would like to quit and move to be with my boyfriend who lives two hours away and wants me to sell my condo and move there with him. (If I sold my condo I could pay off my bills and would still have a decent income)…….However my fears are leaving my Doctors…I know that sounds silly but at my age I do have some issues with blood pressure, my eyes, and high cholesterol…and he lives out in the country a long ways from a hospital or Doctors office…..I have been in turmoil over this for some time as life is passing me by so to speak the older I get and I would like to be with him. Whats your opinion Mary? I would like to hear it.

  13. This post today is so timely. Today is my birthday – 65th. I have had sleepless nights thinking about the next phase and am slowly coming to a place of peace and openness and your posts and the responses from the “flock” have helped me get to the place of peace and trust in whatever this may mean. And yes eagerness too. Thank you. Love you all.

  14. I truly love your posts in the morning Mary. You are always right on base with great “food for thought” and wisdom. I do believe that negativity attracts the same but give someone a smile and you will usually get one in return. I always say in my dog rescue work that “every dog we rehome ends up in the home they were meant to be” and I guess you ended up on the road you were meant to be that day. xoxo

  15. What really popped off the page Mary, was “get out of my head and into my heart”. I need that today too! My husband has invited friends over from his gym for dinner, and I have to admit, I’m a bit dinner’ed out between two family birthdays already in April, then Easter, a neighbor’s birthday we hosted here – and last week’s carpet installation. On dinner party days I tend to be a bit franctic wondering if I’ll pull it all off – and I always do, but it nags at me all day. I am going to stop now, and take a moment to regather, breathe deep, glance once more at all these sweet names that have posted comments this morning and know that I am blessed to be able to check in here every day and get a shot of affirmation, wisdom and love. Get out of my head and into my heart! oh yes!

  16. What a wonderful message you wrote this morning. It seems a happy piece of synchronicity as I have just finished reading Tolle’s book “The Power of Now.” We all seem to have a tendency to think we can, or need to, control everything – so much more peaceful to let go and see what happens!

    • I’m wading through The Power of Now for the 2nd time, thanks for the encouragement to keep going.

  17. This is a wonderful and affirming post today, Mary. I love to see Spirit take over when someone opens up and lets it in, as you did. You have taught me so much this past year about this very subject. Because of that, I’m no longer pushing the river, I’m on my inner tube letting it take me where I’m supposed to be. Love you for that!

  18. Dear Mary, thank you for such a beautiful reminder that we’re not ‘in charge’ and that divine wholeness is always working. I especially needed to hear this today as I work with my own worries and concerns over my horse Romeo and his current health challenges. It IS true that when we take the path of quiet faith, the universe conspires to help us find just the answers we need.

    • Suzanne, I have read of reiki being received by animals as well as humans. Interesting in that energy and healing does not have to be understood by our rational minds. It just is, and animals without having any prejudice or inclination to understand how it works, well, maybe they even receive it better. Debra, may Romeo feel our loving thoughts and prayers for the challenges he faces. All will be well, and he is loved.

      • You are correct, Susan. Animal Planet aired a segment not too long ago ‘starring’ the Reiki master who taught me Reiki. She used it on horses who were in trouble and the results were fascinating. I have been using “distance Reiki” on the poor dog next door who has no human companionship for 23 out of 24 hours. I felt moved to try to ease any negative feelings he might be experiencing. I am now taking him for one day a week, so we are becoming close. I believe that ‘energy medicine’ will have a much larger roll to play in healing in the not-too-distant future.

      • Dear Susan, Suzanne, Kelly and Deb….I figured out how to reply correctly….(duh!)….thank you all for your support. I know in my heart that your kindness and concerns are reaching my sweet boy. Animals are far more trusting of the energies they feel and take it all in without asking too many questions. Romeo is the ultimate lover….and especially appreciates the attentions of the ladies. Your support fills my heart!

  19. Hmmm. Whether Middlebury becomes your new zip code or not, it speaks volumes about the location itself when there are no (or almost no) real estate listings. It’s so fine that no one wants to leave!!
    Happy hunting; slow and easy wins the day.

  20. I have a cat who gets reiki treatments, sometimes actually with the person and other times it’s “sent,” and she is receptive. She’s getting older and arthritic and her back legs are less bent and her tail’s up after the treatment.

  21. Dear Suzanne, Susan and Kelly….many, many thanks for your kind and loving thoughts and prayers for my beloved Romeo. I have a dear friend who is a Reiki practitioner and she is amazingly helpful…Romeo loves her! Because of her work with him over the weekend, his condition improved so much….Sorry for not posting this earlier…and for not posting it into your comments…couldn’t figure out how to do that. Bless you all for your support.

    • Dear Debra, I am just reading all the comments again late tonight and i have to put myself in the ‘shoes’ of your horse, dear Romeo, who had not a clue that this morning, all sorts of love would come his way from all over this country. Sounds like you, and like I and many others, have had to try and figure out how to post a comment or a reply , hitting what? Reply ?? Comment?? but you know what? We all heard your concerns this morning and it all worked out, just as it will for your beloved Romeo. I do believe that! Signing off from Arizona! Loving pats to Romeo. .

      • Dear Susan,
        Thank you for your generous, kind words and healing thoughts for my boy. Indeed, yesterday before I left for home, his eyes were brighter and his spirits uplifted. I am a firm believer in distance healing, prayer and the amazing power of good thoughts. By the way, hit ‘reply’ to have the comment included in the correct box. (duh!)

  22. Congrats on your retirement from nursing Terri! I know exactly how you feel as, I retired from nursing two years ago and I got all the same critical and judgemental flack from most everyone around me. It was bothersome and instilled self doubt and insecurity in me. I got help with this step in my life from a very wise therapist. I am happy and fulfilled! You are going to love your life! It’s time to end the caretaking and begin to treat ourselves! Best to you, Cindy

    • Thank you Cindy, from one nurse to another, I am looking forward to retirement and whatever it holds. Caregiving will probably always be a part of me, I think it’s hard wired in, just more on my terms now!

Comments are closed.