harmonica man

"Time to hatch!"...a photograph Jack took of an egg shell that I found

A few days ago, a friend sent me the video (it is about 3 minutes long) below called “Harmonica Man”….what I loved most about it (and I loved it all) was this man’s decision to take charge of his own life and “health” and to finally do what he wanted to do with his life. The clip is a few years old, and he has since passed on, but the story is lovely all the same. …

(On another note….just checking to see how your weekend of non-self-critical thinking is going?!…if you have slipped up a few times, you are in good company, but keep it up, and let your inner magnificent self get a little “air time!”)

Cherish forever what makes you unique, ‘cuz you’re really a yawn if it goes!” Bette Midler

19 thoughts on “harmonica man

  1. Happy Saturday Mary and friends! Ohhhh…I love this video…Music, sweet music…I’ve loved harmonica music since I was a little girl and got one in my Christmas stocking…it was red and silver. And it stayed in my dresser’s top drawer for years although I never really played it! Just like Andy said, I blew in and out but that was about it! I love how he expanded his world and made a difference. And great picture Jack! A very simple and beautiful way to signal Spring! A great way to begin the day! Thank you!

  2. Nice to awaken with the new post and the reminder. While lying in bed this morning I was thinking about our assignment and added something for myself to think about and am passing it along. It is not just that we have the critical thoughts that can be a problem….it is when we also BELIEVE them that adds to our discomfort.

    By the way, here’s an additional link to the video.

    • Mary Solomon, you have hit a major nail right on the head! It IS the belief that gets us into the most trouble. Thanks for that reminder to dig a little deeper.

  3. Does life get any better? A Saturday post from Mary, with such a great video message, to boot. My day is made!

  4. I found myself saying “You are such a dim bulb!” last night as I went to bed. Oh no, I’m not allowed to say that! “I am a truly fine person!” AND I love the Harmonica man. What a gift he was to so many young (and old) people!

  5. Oh Mary! A most needed upliftment this morning. Thank you. The Harmonica Man is an inspiration as well as a teacher of faith and goodness. I will keep him (and you, and all the White Feather followers) in my mind today as I wait to hear news about my Romeo’s possible laminitis diagnosis. I can use all the good vibes I can get! Bless you.

  6. We’re all with you, Debra, in support and prayer. Hope the news is good, and then your weekend will be even better! Blessings.

  7. Morning head, full of dread,
    Not yet out of cozy bed.
    Listen not to silly sady,
    She is just a crazy lady.
    Jump into this sunny day,
    And the joy it brings your way!

    A Hallmark Moment brought to you
    by Mary Rita

  8. Hi Mary and all – in reading over my little poem, I see that I made an error by not capitalizing the name Sady, or maybe it is spelled Sadie. Either way, Silly Sadie is my “Herman” – my mad voice in my head; my little worried friend. But, I do not reject her, I just pat her on the head and tell her to come along for the ride. Maybe she’ll have some fun. She usually does.
    Mary Rita.

    • I can almost picture Silly Sadie, Mary Rita, – tousled mop of curls, pointing fingers, scowling, – Good for you, pat her on the head and send her on her way! I loved the Harmonica Man Mary! (thank you Suzanne for the additional clip) Don’t know about everyone else, but the video was preceded by an ad which was almost the total opposite of Harmonica Man. I just about cracked up when a young woman earnestly said, “If I could be on my Droid all day long, I would feel SO POWERFUL!” – that contrasted to Garrison Keillor’s few lines on Harper Lee who was born this day in 1926:

      It’s the birthday of novelist Harper Lee, born Nelle Harper Lee in Monroeville, Alabama (1926). She has written just one novel, To Kill A Mockingbird (1960), but it has sold more than 30 million copies. She hates interviews and speeches, and prefers to live quietly in Monroeville, where she is known as Miss Nelle.

      She wrote: “I arrived in the first grade, literate, with a curious cultural assimilation of American history, romance, the Rover Boys, Rapunzel, and The Mobile Press. Early signs of genius? Far from it. Reading was an accomplishment I shared with several local contemporaries. Why this endemic precocity? Because in my hometown, a remote village in the early 1930s, youngsters had little to do but read. A movie? Not often — movies weren’t for small children. A park for games? Not a hope. We’re talking unpaved streets here, and the Depression. […] Now, 75 years later in an abundant society where people have laptops, cell phones, iPods, and minds like empty rooms, I still plod along with books. Instant information is not for me. I prefer to search library stacks because when I work to learn something, I remember it.”
      _____________________

      Maybe it sounds like I’m all over the place, but I think Nelle would have liked the Harmonica Man – they both have their priorities straight! Happy day to everyone. You are all so beautiful, inside and out!

  9. WOW! All of your posts confirm things I have long believed in and I am now trying to practice more of what you “preach” retraining the negative doubt out of my brain.

Comments are closed.