The simple things

our first breakfast in Tulum Mexico, a great cup of coffee, a coconut and someone to share it with!

We were so delayed getting to the house in Mexico on Saturday night, that by the time we arrived all of the local restaurants were closed and there was no food in the house. It was almost midnight, so even though I hadn’t eaten since 1pm that day, all I really wanted to do was go to bed. The next morning however, I was up at 5 and really hungry.

I had packed a bag of Starbucks coffee (a last-minute thought) in my carry on bag before I left home. As I was doing it I had the thought, “This is really being fussy Mary. There is going to be great coffee in Mexico and you will be shopping for groceries the day you arrive.”…but I packed it anyway (in spite of the critical inner voice) and at 5 a.m. on Sunday morning, it dawned on me that the “idea” to pack the coffee was more than me being overly-concerned…it was a gentle nudge from the Universe helping me to align with something that is important to me: good morning coffee.

As I made a pot and walked outside, I felt grateful and relaxed. If I had to choose between food and coffee in the morning, coffee would win hands down, but I suddenly noticed coconut trees and an abundance of coconuts on the ground, and a couple of cinder blocks nearby to crack them open. These are the memories that bring a smile to my face…the really simple funny things, that seem to be easier to notice when I am out of usual routine. But these little moments, that feel like little miracles, are happening in all of our lives everyday. How about taking this weekend to notice the little things that bring a smile to your face.

My idea of heaven is a great big baked potato and someone to share it with. Oprah Winfrey

19 thoughts on “The simple things

  1. …or a fresh piece of banana cream pie loaded with whipped cream and someone to share it with…simple things, simple moments, simple memories, sharing dreams become special things, special moments, special memories, special dreams… and, are THE BEST! Happy weekend Mary and friends! Many smiles and much love…

  2. Well Mary,
    You and your posts are definitely not “little things”, definitely “big things” in my life, and you always bring a smile to my face! So happy weekend to you…,
    With love,
    from Fran

  3. I have to take English tea bags with me when I travel anywhere. I need to have a hot cup of tea in the morning. Great post.

  4. … or noticing a “new to me” butterfly and having someone to share the wonder of it with. Yes, these so-called little things are everywhere if we take the time to notice. They are really the essential things that feed our souls. The only thing that makes the experience even more wonderful is sharing it. Thanks, Mary.

  5. I feel like I am on a mini-vacation having spent the night at my son’s house caring for his two dogs while he is away. Just for one night, but again, it is the little things, a change of routine, having time to simply watch the dogs play, no real ‘to-do’s’. Love it! Four years ago when the house was being built, he, his girlfriend and I stopped by to walk around the property. The actual foundation had not been poured yet. On an impulse, I took three angel medals from my purse that I always carry with me, and we buried them under what is now the living room. It is so nice to know they are there. Little angels tucked into the earth, grounding and blessing his house. I look forward to our weekend assignment.

    • What a great story, Susan, about the “buried angels.” I am going to file that information and do just that when the next person I love is building a home someplace. Thanks.

      • Thanks Suzanne! After I posted this I had second thoughts, how weird is that, to bury! angels, but I am glad you liked the thought I had at the time, that even though we think of angels of hovering above us, and blessing us, I know that we planted those 3 small medals with all due reverence, as if planting a seed. Blessings and Intention. . .

  6. Have to have my morning coffee, too, Mary. Now that the weather is warmer I enjoy it outside watching the birds. It’s a little change but so nice.

    I have a larger view here in Maine than ever before in my life. Last week I noticed that the colors of trees in spring are the same as in the fall. Ins and outs in life are so similar.

    I ordered a new lawnmower for myself as a Mother’s Day present. It came in yesterday. I also have a new microwave that was donated to my Rotary Club for its auction coming to stay in my house tomorrow. We are no longer allowed to sell electrical appliances. My smaller one will go to a cousin who doesn’t have a microwave in his apartment. Little things but they certainly make me smile this morning.

    Sue

  7. Seeing Mary’s beachside breakfast, I know I’d choose jumping in the sea even over coffee! (But maybe not fresh, home-made German choc. cake). Mary’s post catches me as I’ve been trying to enjoy our area with fresh eyes, not those that have been here close to 40 years now.

    I confess a little jealousy is spurring me: one great friend is in Morocco right now, another close couple on an Italian/Greek cruise, another couple’s just returning from 3 months in Mexico, yet another’s in Switzerland for a month, etc. etc. And I’m just here. Some more. Struggling well, though, to cope with recent diabetes bombshell (i.e., numbers pretty good and I’ve lost close to 15 lbs!).

    But it’s not what I love best: TRAVEL, near or far. SO, must diligently look for the little miracles & be satisfied where I am for now. Half of the garden in, and the birds’ singing is marvelous. We shall see–happy sightings, flock folks!

  8. This is such a fun assignment! Even though I will be working tonight and tomorrow night, there will be many simple things to enjoy, and be grateful for.

  9. I’m reminded of a trip my husband and I took many years ago to Nova Scotia. Because of customs holdups at the border crossing from Maine via ferry we were very late in trying to find a campsite and restaurant. Were in the middle of nowhere and there was nothing and we were famished. Finally found a campsite way after dark. The owners kindly opened their little store and we had spam and white bread sandwiches, one of the most delicious meals I’ve ever eaten, and these are my two least favorite foods! Fun memory of this simple supper in a tent.

  10. What an affirming assignment, Mary. It will keep us tuned in and focused on finding little miracles and beautiful things all weekend. How many moments of joy would have gone unnoticed otherwise? Good job, Mary, and to all the flock, a wonderful weekend…. german chocolate cake and banana cream pie notwithstanding.

  11. Tulum is wonderful – hope you are enjoying – did you cut your hair – do you love it???

  12. Speaking of simple things….
    Just went outside to see the eclipse shadowed on my house. The lighting is so strange and different. No wonder Stonehenge was an annual event before there was scientific knowledge. Nature is spectacular!

Comments are closed.