nothing to say…but “keep flying!”


(a great photograph by Mark Cronin*)

I tried to write several different posts this morning and nothing came together. It’s 7:10 am and I need to leave for my office but had a thought….I loved this photograph by Mark Cronin…it feels like what we have to do in life sometimes…just keep flying, even when those annoying little circumstances, events (and sometimes people), seem to want to clip our wings…

If you could give a title to this photograph, what would it be? Feel free to comment!

Don’t dwell on what went wrong. Instead, focus on what to do next. Spend your energies on moving forward toward finding the answer“. Denis Waitley



40 thoughts on “nothing to say…but “keep flying!”

  1. Don’t you wonder, Mary, why the well runs dry on some days and on others you can’t keep it from overflowing. A lovely, honest post. The picture: well, my late mother-in-law kept apologizing to her son for not having borne him with wings on his feet as he’s been ‘up in the air’ ever since he was twenty-one years old and he’s now 75 . So the bird makes me think of my husband and how he would wish himself to be. Airforce, airline pilot, glider pilot. His career was one long love affair with the sky above him and thankfully, still is. Mind you, it doesn’t help when he’s on the ground when his head is off in the clouds most of the time…(smile)
    SandyP in Canada

  2. The first thing that popped into my “mind” this morning was “opposites attract” – so that is my comment for the day!

  3. My title is “Don’t Let The Bast@#$s Keep You Down”. And now you know what my day was like yesterday. ;-{

  4. Look at those wings!

    Makes me think of Mary’s wonderful warm wings, enfolding us all, day after day.
    Thank you for a lovely message and beautiful picture.

    Love from Fran

  5. Mary – The first thing that popped in my head when I saw this photo was “David and Goliath”. It also reminded me of something I witnessed several years ago. I love watching birds and have had Baltimore orioles nesting in maple trees near my house for years. One day I heard the orioles squawking loudly in the tree, and looked out to see robins, cardinals, and red-winged blackbirds flying around the tree and calling as well. A sharp-shinned hawk was attacking the oriole’s nest and all these birds were dive-bombing the hawk to make it leave. They were successful and the nest was saved. An amazing event to witness!

    Thank you for the post – love the quote!

  6. the first thing that popped into my head was…” get the h#@& away from my babies!” my two “babies” are moving off into their own lives, and i am trying so hard to let go and WILL be successful in time…but if any one or anything would try to harm them…WATCH OUT FOR MOM!!!!!

  7. I often see the large birds flying overhead with little ones chasing them or pecking at their heads. It makes me think “Don’t let the little peckers get you down! Keep on flying!”

  8. First thing I thought of was “Catch Me If You Can!”. In the ever-harmonious doings of nature, there is always some kind of balance being played out, even at those times when we may not understand the why of it. I find great solace and helpfulness in studying the mysteries of animals and their behavior. What may seem insignificant may also be a symbol. Perhaps the symbol of these birds is to trust in the order of things, to to think of things in a playful way and to persist in what we know is right within our hearts.

  9. I like undeterred. It can apply to both birds; and each person who continues to work through those blocks. Thank you Mary.

  10. “Don’t mess with a MOM!”

    Isn’t it interesting that some of us (myself included) saw this as the chasing away of the larger bird, while others saw it as play between the two! Kind of a Rorshach test among our flock. In thinking about it, I think I might rather be among the ones who saw it as play. It’s a much more positive view of the world.

  11. The secret to my success was that I always managed to live to fly another day. (General Chuck Yeager) I have this quote in my daytimer and it helps me. 🙂

  12. If I may add one more post to yours, Mary, I love this poem by John Gillespie Magee, Jr. called “High Flight” and I’m sure many would remember it……
    SandyP in Canada………………………….

    Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of earth,
    And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
    Sunward I’ve climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
    Of sun-split clouds, –and done a hundred things
    You have not dreamed of –Wheeled and soared and swung
    High in the sunlit silence. Hov’ring there
    I’ve chased the shouting wind along, and flung
    My eager craft through footless halls of air…
    Up, up the long, delirious, burning blue
    I’ve topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace
    Where never lark or even eagle flew —
    And, while with silent lifting mind I’ve trod
    The high untrespassed sanctity of space,
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God.

  13. I’m about to head out to Sedona today as tomorrow my son who is 38 is marrying tomorrow for the first time. I think I’ve mentioned before that his bride to be has a nine year old son. One time last year, he asked permission to do something in our house (my son, Carlos and the little boy’s Mom were present) – I said to him, “honey, maybe you should ask your Mommy and Daddy”. To which he replied sort of quietly, “I don’t have a Daddy.” Just broke my heart, me putting my big foot in my mouth. Up until they were engaged in December, he simply called my son Carlos. Now I delight in hearing him call him “Daddy”! Music to my ears, and I’m sure my son’s as well. This sweet boy still loves to have my son pick him up in a big bear hug – my son is tall and super strong, and the little boy just holds on for dear life embracing him almost like a younger child would, legs wrapped all around, head nestling into his big shoulders! To me this picture says, “Jacob, you will always have me now. I will always be your Daddy and lead you and protect you. We are a family now”. So off I go to see it made official! Back on Monday! Wonderful weekend to all!

  14. Picture title: “Dare to Fly”. Many years ago, I was reading a novel called
    “Fear of Flying”. It was controversial because the female author dared to curse and include certain scenes that were blunt and graphic. It was said at the time that “she wrote like a man”. In fact, she was just taking flight into her real talent as a writer!

  15. Meet a fantasticly enthusiastic friend of my sister’s this past weekend in NC who is a personal trainer and I know she would love to share with you her motto that sits well with this photo:

    “Be Determined or Be Disappointed”.

    I give her so much credit towards all that she has overcome in her life and all she is doing to help my sister overcome what has been dealt to her as well.

  16. Thank you for your timely post. My sister came for a visit this past weekend. She is a high energy person, very opinionated. I immediately felt from this picture how I feel when she and I are together. Thank you, time for me to move on.
    Carol

Comments are closed.