Time to come Home

I covered the couch with a cool sheet yesterday to do some on-line work, and Fred cuddled up with me (and my lap top)

Jack and I were walking through Northshire bookstore the other day and a banner with the quote,       “As soon as you trust yourself,  you will know how to live” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, caught my eye. …this statement and thought is so different from what many of us were raised to believe; that we couldn’t/shouldn’t trust ourselves so we were encouraged to give that responsibility over to those who we were told knew better: parents, teachers, religious leaders, politicians, and we slowly learned how not to listen to our inner voice of knowing, learned how to silence or ignore it.

So now, in this time of awakening, our “job” is become familiar with that deep, guiding force within us. It never went away (for lack of being listened to), never gave up on us in disgust. It’s still there beeping that little signal, shining that light saying, “Time to come home. Time to come home. To yourself.”

31 thoughts on “Time to come Home

  1. Your words paint for me the image of a lighthouse, forever on, right there next to my heart…

  2. Ahhhhh, my home is truly where my heart is and your reminder to pay attention to that light in my heart is perfect. Yes, Kathye, I imagine the lighthouse too.

      • Hi Jill. I think the inner voice Mary is referring too is that one which, when you hear it and listen….your heart feels all warm and big within your chest. It’s the one that just feels ‘right’.

  3. Mary, this post hit me on so many levels today. I am synchronistically being guided to try to adopt this Golden Retriever I’m involved with from next door. I have had so many friends, none of whom know each other, telling me this week that I am the only connection he has in this world to any form of a humane and loving existence. They’ve all, in their own way, pointed out to me that he’s 10 years old and would be hard to adopt out, as people don’t generally want senior dogs. My Reiki teacher said yesterday that she felt we would both benefit each other….he from having a couple of loving years before he passes, and me having a rare opportunity to do something good and selfless.

    And so, all of these friends collectively became the channels to my ‘inner voice’ which, I think, has been leading me to this same decision all along. Wish this sweet dog could tell me what he wants and needs, for they have their own life plans as well.

    Sorry this was so long but you sure sparked this ‘need to act’ in me today. Thanks!

    • Suzanne, I will be envisioning you shining your heart light (am hearing Neill Diamond’s song as I type) upon precious Poot. I hope your neighbor is agreeable to this and he is soon in your wonderful, caring arms!

      • Thank you, Susan! He deserves so much more than he has ever gotten, and if I am to be the vehicle, all the better.

    • When I read your words Suzanne I felt a happy wave flow through me…I’m sure you will have all of the White Feather Farm community praying for the perfect solution for you and this dog…please keep us posted (and if you do adopt him, we will want a picture!)

      • Thank you, Mary. If it all works out, I will have to learn how to upload a picture from my cell. Will have to call in the grandkids for that one!

    • Suzanne, I do Aussie Rescue here in Ontario and I can tell you right up front that older dogs are hard to rehome so if your heart and mind tell you that this is the right thing to do for you…not necessarily the dog…do what is best for you. I have an Aussie girl right now, 12 & 1/2 who is facing serious medical issues. I have her in Depends, period pads and pants because she’s on Lasix and when I leave the house, I can’t be away too long. She was given to me at age 2, having been a kennel bitch who had a breeding problem and was not useful to the breeder(s) any longer. I have never regretted giving her a home. We all grow old; we all need care and we all need someone to love us and we, them. Dogs don’t ask for much in this life other than that. Please let us know how things work out…but remember, you are the one who is the most important part of this decision. It has to feel right to you.
      SandyP

      • Sandy, thank you for your very honest words about this. I admit I am torn between saving him and not having the responsibility. It won’t be easy for me, financially or physically, to do this. I live in a second-floor condo and do not have a yard to let him run out into. He’s ok now, but when his bladder and all starts to weaken, it’s going to be difficult. If he develops hip dysplasia, I will have to try to use a harness to get him up and down the stairs. I’m weighing all this out. Then I think ahead to the life he’ll have if the neighbor, who is moving in January, takes him and begins to run into these problems with him. She will not understand and be kind; she will be angry, and quite possibly will euthanize him at the first sign of trouble. It’s really hard to know whether its the universe leading me to make a humanitarian effort or if I am just being ‘too noble,’ given the conditions of my life.

        Thanks again, Sandy. You are a realist, and I sure do appreciate that.

    • Suzanne, Best of luck with your “new” Golden. :o) Most of my cats have walked into my life (one of them literally.) I love them all and never regretted them owning me. I can clearly see that Mr. Fred is an excellent data entry cat. I’m impressed. Love & Peace to all!

    • Suzanne, just checking in. . My male dog is going to be thirteen, we got him from a no kill shelter when he was just one, more or less, who really knows? He is to this day, strong, happy, – if you knew for a fact that Poot had serious medical problems that would entail lots of $$$, should you even decide to go that way, well, that would present a different scenario. I see my Dobie, going on 13! in August – Poot is ten? So embrace him where he is (doesn’t that make some of us about Poot’s age or there abouts?) And we’re still kicking and going strong! He has been calling you for some time, the little boy next door! No matter how it all works out, you have already sent him such love and intention to do right by him, and you have a lot of Poot Fans! rooting for a happy ending! Go Poot! Go Suzanne!

      • Susan, thank you for this! I am truly trying to live in the moment with Poot and not jump too far ahead to the day a decision has to be made. I’m hoping somewhere along the way, things will happen to show me whether to take the right fork or the left fork. I tend to ‘overthink’ things and drive myself crazy instead of truly turning it over and letting the magic begin. For now, I am trying to live in the moment and do what the best is TODAY, for Poot. ‘One day at a time’ never meant more to me than it does now!

        Yours is another voice of clarity, which helps more than you can know. Thanks for your support and meaningful words.

  4. Thank you, Mary, for Goethe’s quote. After years of ignoring / not trusting my inner voice, I am now trying to hear it (it’s so soft!) and heed it. Last Saturday something happened and I knew, without a doubt, that I needed and was ready to schedule a Therapy session to address family issues. This time that typically “soft” inner voice actually shouted at me. With lots of “trust in the process” I’ll begin this adventure later today. I’m excited and nervous but ready.

  5. Photo: Fred pulls another all-nighter on the ‘Net. Forget about ‘awakening’–time for a nap! Listen to your inner cat. :>)

  6. Mary, listening to my inner voice has, on occasion, gotten me into hot water with others. I did what felt right to me at the time but darned if some folks didn’t like it. It’s hard when things like that happen especially when it’s a serious family matter.
    SandyP in Canada

    • It’s true…not everyone agrees (or even likes) when we follow our own guidance, and that is part of the reason that it can feel so hard to do at times….but still, there is nothing more important than knowing our own hearts

      • Thank you, Mary, I have tears in my eyes right now; your words are a balm to my soul. Recently, I have been dealing with the backlash of a decision made over thirty years ago which affected family and which seems to have reared its head again now all these years later…still some hurt, still some wounds and yet, I would not go back and change a decision made then. It was right then and it is still right in my heart. But, it’s never easy when a decision rocks other people’s boats.
        SandyP in Canada

  7. Sandy, signing off for tonight, but just a thought, maybe some other people’s boats have to rock while you are finding your own true inner compass, that still small voice that Mary keeps referring to, the one that will never misguide you. Wounds, mishaps, – they will happen along the way, and some may leave their scars, but if your inner voice leads you out of the residue of the aftermath, and all of its pain, you will emerge all the stronger. Love, Susan

    • T’is not easy, Susan, but I thank you for your support and taking the time to comment. Stepping out of what has been accepted behaviour for many years requires change and often difficult changes. I’ve made but a few very strong and impactful decisions in my life, life changing decisions and they’ve never felt wrong to me but they have affected others. Stepping out of the dance; sometimes you loose the partners you dance with.
      SandyP

Comments are closed.