1000 thank you’s

A rose plant that I bought a month ago (hoping to eventually transplant at our new home) is in its second period of blooming!

I ran early this morning and the thought came to me to see if I could say “Thank You”, 1000 times over the weekend. Doing some quick calculations, I figured that if I sat for 3 minutes in the morning and evening, and dedicated those times to just thinking and feeling the words, “Thank You”, that by Sunday night, I would have said/thought this at least 1000 times (and I am not about to actually count because that would feel like a chore and this is not about struggle in any way).  I also wondered how this might change me: what doors would open inside. And then I thought about he power of doing this together as a community.

So, it is Friday and if you would like to join me in this practice/adventure/challenge then you are invited!  It would be wonderful to hear from anyone who would like to share about your experiences either giving this a try, or with a personal story of gratitude, a quote or a word. I’ll be doing this too; both checking in and posting when I feel moved to do so.

Four Rules

1.Only do this if it feels like a Good idea…this should not be another thing to feel bad about!

2.and even if you only get to say, 10 thank you’s, you are welcome to “borrow” from the group to meet your quota!

3. Comment as many times (or not) as you would like over the weekend.

3. If you are not feeling at all grateful,  maybe dip into the pool of gratitude that will be created here and just float and absorb the Love.

“If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough“. Meister Eckhart

68 thoughts on “1000 thank you’s

  1. I’m in!
    Here is something beautiful to start everyone’s day. Make sure the sound is on 🙂

    • Oh my goodness..tears of happiness after watching this Cynthia! Thank you!

    • Cynthia…how could you possibly have known that this is one of my all time favorite songs! And there is a version by Eva Cassidy that I love too! This video is amazing…what a way to begin the weekend! Thank you!

      • Love, love, love Eva Cassidy! She left us much too soon. And her version of “Wonderful World” is right up there with Satchmo!

  2. A wonderful idea! And the first thing that came to mind was not only thank you, but Saint Theres’s prayer that hangs by my desk yet is often ignored.

    May today there be peace within. May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite possiblities that are born of faith. May you use those gifs that you have received and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be confident knowing you are a child of God. Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your sould the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love. It is there for each and every one of us.

    Thank you for reminding me to take the moment to say that – THANK YOU!

  3. Mary. Thank You for this idea. My first Thank You on the list:)
    A lost dog was found yesterday in my community, My second Thank You is for his (golden reteriver) safe return.

    • Thank you Karen…and yes a big “thank you for lost dogs being found!”

  4. A friend and I started a “thank you” tradition years ago when we were teaching together. In the face of adversity, perceived or actual, we would switch our thoughts to items we could put into our “thank you bucket”. Sometimes it would be difficult to find new things to put in, but more and more we would ourselves focusing on the “thank yous”. Sometimes we would look at each other at a meeting and whisper with a grin “that’s one for the thank you bucket”! Now we often e-mail each other with items we are putting into the bucket. Soon our buckets were and are still more than overflowing!
    Thank you Mary for you! You have been a presence in my bucket for a long time.
    From Fran
    Happy thankful weekend to all members of the WFFF.

  5. Yes, I am all in to do this! Ann Voskamp has written “One Thousand Gifts” and I am over halfway thru recording my first thousand of gratitudes. This will propel me on!! Love the community efforts!

  6. I will love being part of this energy. I recently saw a prayer that I have taken into my heart and try to express every day :” Thank you for all that has been given and for all that has been taken away,”
    It is the All Of It that creates the big juicey Wholeness. Thank You.

  7. Oh yes! Just sat for my first minute of Thank Yous. Impossible to NOT smile while doing this. What a wonderful idea! Thank You. 🙂

  8. I’m in too! With heart filled gratitude for you, Mary, and all of WFF! Every day, every comment, makes me better. This weekend I will give thanks to, and “rejoice in all things that renew your faith, refresh your spirit, and brighten the world around you…” Love to all!

  9. Thank you Mary for putting into focus the way I have chosen to live my life, with one addition, sincerely saying I’m sorry. Like “I’m so sorry I just got in your way.” I have found that it opens people up into thanks which opens me up even more. Thank you for your time.

  10. Strange . . . I woke up this morning and practically my very first thought was how thankful I was. For hot and cold running water, for clean sheets on the bed, for a cup of coffee to start the day, for my wonderful dog, for my lovely neighbors.

    I had gone to bed thinking of a family one of my neighbors, a recently retired social worker, is trying too help: The wife has cancer, the husband just lost his job, and their electricity was turned off for nonpayment. . .

    So, yes, let us have (at least) a weekend of thankfulness for, as Maud said, all that has been given and all that has been taken away. If we need help, let’s thank those who are there to give it. If we don’t (for the moment) believe we need help, let’s be thankful we have been given the gift to be able to help those who do.

    And I am thankful for Mary and every single one of you. You teach me and encourage me and give me hope. I need your help and I am thankful you are here to give it.

  11. Oh, am I ever in! And I’ll start with two Thank You’s…..one for you, Mary, who have turned my life in a new direction by making me observe just how I’m reacting to life, and the second Thank You is for all the members of the WFF flock, who have always been there with excellent support when I’ve needed it most.

    Weekend blessings to one and all!

  12. #2 – Thank you to my son Robin for his perseverance in leveling the ground for our 24ft Intex above ground pool; and for cleaning & erecting the pool lining. I am so appreciating our pool, especially with these very hot days!!!

  13. #3 – Thank you to my daughter Katharine for helping Rob erect the pool; those support bars are a 2 person job. It was great to see my son & daughter working cooperatively on something that was for good family use.

  14. Mary. I just love your homework assignments! What a wonderful way to spend the weekend by saying thank you a thousand times. Just imagine how with all your flock/followers saying thousands of thank you’s…. how much beautiful energy and light will be created for so many to enjoy. Thank you!

  15. Mary – This is a wonderful idea! As others have done, I would like to start by thanking you for creating this amazing blog. It is a positive and powerful influence in my life. And thank you to the community of kindred spirits out there who gather and share thoughts here.

    I have to share how strange it is (but no coincidence!) that you should write this message today. Early this morning I helped serve a free breakfast at our church to anyone passing by. Several people helped but I was the last one left cleaning up with the pastor. It gave me a chance to talk to her in a different setting than normal. We talked about how thankful we were that so many people stopped by (over 60 and we live in a very small town!) and how much we enjoyed talking to people we don’t often see. Then she mentioned the good energy that oozes into the walls when we do something like this. I’ve never heard her express anything like that before and I loved it! Before I left I hugged her and thanked her for asking me to help today. So when I came home and read this message, I thought – I’ve already started on my thank you’s!

    I hope everyone has an amazing weekend.

  16. Mary, once again you’ve provided just the words I need to get through the next few days. I just know you have ESP!! I have to spend this weekend with family, and that brings up in me all sorts of feelings of tension, old resentments, new resentments, old simmering anger, etc, etc. Whenever I have to deal with unwelcome obligations, I look to your blog for spiritual uplifting, and sure enough, you’ve provided just what I need. Instead of letting the negative take over my soul, I’m going to start now thanking the universe for the opportunity to make this weekend as positive as I can. I know I can do it. Thank you thank you thank you….

  17. Wow, wow, I am so uplifted by all of you here! A big hug and love and thank you to Mary, and all the flock! As ‘coincidence’ would have it, my friend’s gift of the morning devotional “Jesus Calling” has for its very topic for June 22, thankfulness! In brief, it starts by saying “Thank Me for the very things that are troubling you. Thanking Me for trials will feel awkward and contrived at first. But if you persist, your thankful words, prayed in faith, will eventually make a difference in your heart. Thankfulness awakens you to My Presence, which overshadows all your problems.” and the scripture:

    “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving!, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4: 6

    Before I read today’s post I got a call from an insurance adjustor I must deal with in an hour or so. (vandalism on our car) – I got all nervous and upset thinking they may not cover it all – old dents that were made worse by the vandal, but obviously there before. But now, I must reset my mind and remind myself to be thankful that we have insurance, that it was vandalism and not an accident. That it is after all, just a car, and if every little thing isn’t covered, I will let it go and not let it upset my day or allow myself to quibble about what’s fair. I am not going to waste my time on a hunk of metal when there is so much to be thankful for. I’m going to share the beautiful video with my little grandson Jacob tonight, before tucking him into bed, Cynthia. May our thankful hearts light up the world this weekend, dear friends!

  18. So many things to be thankful for! I’m in! The Flock will be abundant in “thank you’s” this weekend and hopefully beyond. Thank you Mary!

  19. QUICK–look out your windows
    What do you see?
    A shower of ‘thank you’s’
    Raining down upon thee.

    We’ll share them all
    No strangers round here
    There’s buckets of gratitude
    For all we hold dear.

    Let’s gather our hearts
    Our homework beseeches
    A circle of love from
    All that Mary teaches.

    Merci, danke, arrigato, gracias, thanks—my weekend is brimming already!!

  20. thank you.I love this blog.It helps me to grow.Also loved the video and poem and wonderful thoughts of others.

  21. I, too, am grateful today. I am grateful that I could find the money for an extended therapeutic massage yesterday. I woke up this morning hurting, but I am healing. I began the day by affirming that I am healed and whole, well and strong…and after a few hours, I really felt that way. So to check in now and see that we are invited to spend the weekend using the power of gratitude lets me know that I was blessed by this sacred pool of energy even before I knew it. Thank you, everyone, for the gift.
    Stoney Monte

  22. Well, I have had a wonderful day full of thanks! I am certain I have already said thanks at least 1000 times. I just wanted to let you know that I have been filled with giddy excitement all day!! I chortled a few times inappropriately in a watercolor portrait class with a live model – like when you were a child sitting in a church pew and suddenly something became so hilarious you could barely contain yourself? Well, that has been me today. It’s entirely possible that this mood was set when to the tune of “The Beverly Hillbillies”, I substituted the words “thank you” for the words in the song. For the main part of the song, it’s 25 times! Well, driving to my first ever portrait class, I sang my Beverly Hillbillies thank you song and it filled me to the brim with gratitude and thanks. I’m positively busting from the seams with it!! So, there you have it! That’s my experience so far. I’ll keep you posted on any new developments;-) Thanks!

  23. Cheryl B. by the sea, your poem is wonderful. Thanks for sharing and I forgot to thank all the others for their wonderful input.

  24. Sacred pool of energy, circle of love – I so love all the comments and images offered today. Thank you, thank you, one and all. Still dealing with my insurance issue, but it has hardly bothered me at all today since deciding I had much better things to do – be thankful! Mary, this has to be the ‘bestest’ homework assignment ever – and it’s not even work!

  25. Mary I have been following your blog for quite some time but have never commented until now. I love your idea. I have just started a three month sabbatical and it’s easy to come up with a thousand thank yous…but it’s even better when done with a community! Ps. I am a Pastor in VA.

  26. My heart is overflowing with thankfulness for Mary and her loving kindness, and for the dear “birds of a feather” she has gathered to this nest. I will chirp my thank you’s this wk-end.

  27. … thank you one and all, especially dear Mary … also, I’m
    thankful for the first weekend of summer ….

  28. I think this thank you practice will be implanted forever in my daily routine,and I love the idea of all of us doing it together. I’m recovering from breaking my right arm and having surgery that fixed my dislocated elbow. In the instant that I twisted my ankle and fell on my arm, everything in my life changed. I am now so aware of all the small unconscious things that I am not able to do, and so grateful for each little victory that I have as I discover new ways to do what I need to do to keep moving forward each day. Thank you all for inspiring this well of positive energy where I can visit and replenish my spirits!

    • This whole flock can be a source of replenishment for you, Victoria, any time you want to tune in to our collective energy! I know what you’re going through with your arm and elbow! Hard to get things done. But look at it this way: by having to find alternate methods, you are also forging new pathways in your brain. Can’t have too many of those!

      Be well and heal quickly.

  29. This morning I am saying thank you for the beautiful cool day that blew in to the North Country! And thank you for the owl that I heard hooting through last night’s open window…and for the soft crescent moon that rose over the mountain like a painting when I got up to see if I could see the owl. And thank you for the internet that allows us to gather together here each day…and for the smiles and warm hugs I feel each time I visit White Feather Farm…and for the blessing of each of you…Happy Day!

  30. I am LOVING reading all of your responses this morning and will carry them with me as I head out into my day…..on my run this morning, I held to the thought (as much as possible) of “Thank you” and then it seemed like the birds, and all of the life around me was saying thank you too…even a horse fly buzzing around my head (which ususally bugs me) sounded like it was saying thank you….

  31. I sat down at my computer this morning with a bowl of oats and gave thanks before diving into it (one of my favorite breakfast foods) and then continued on giving thanks for everything good that happened to me this week. Some came in a form of a bit of a tragedy but all and all it turned out to be a bit of a blessing. And then I finally got to your Friday blog and there you are. I love it!

  32. I’ve been doing the same – feeling much gratitude and thanking my cats, my house, the day, my friends, family, favorite blog writers, and more. THANK YOU! for your words of inspiration and reflection and shared common experiences in life. I’m sorry I won’t be at Bedlam Farm today to meet you – missed you in October – but hopefully a future time. Have a wonderful day and thanks for this wonderful suggestion!

  33. “Whatever our individual troubles and challenges may be, it’s important to pause every now and then to appreciate all that we have, on every level.”
    Shakti Gawain

    This was the ‘word of the day’ this fine Saturday morning on the GRATEFULNESS.org site. Our thanks resonates and attracts, far and wide!

  34. Thank-you Cynthia Reimer for the video. It made me cry. The tears cleanse. And thank-you Mary for your wonderful blog. I realized how much it is a part of my soul when it was silent during your most excellent vacation. Wished we could have made it to Maria’s show this w/e cause I wanted to say hello to you and give you a hug!
    Cindy 🙂

  35. Miracle of miracles! Every time a negative thought enters my mind, I interrupt it with a “thank you.” I’m brought back to the present and the negative thought has vanished. I’m keeping this practice! THANK YOU !

  36. Dear Mary, thank you for sharing this post! Hope you are moving forward with your idea. Here’s one of my favourite quotes:

    “Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”
    – Marcel Proust

  37. The “thank yous” continue . . . so many things to be thankful for! Even the wind yesterday (of which I am not fond) Thank You Mother West Wind . . . reminded me of the stories my mother used to read me, Old Mother West Wind and her Merry Little Breezes! I thanked her again!

  38. Thanks and much love to all of the flock, as well as to our Great Feathered One, Mary! 🙂 What an inspiring weekend!

    Due to an encounter with “The Big C”, my license plate reads:
    GRATI2D
    (I tried to upload a picture of the actual license plate, but WP has me stymied.)

    Thank you to all of you who brighten my days with your wisdom and wit. Flock on!

  39. I started my thank yous on Friday but just was not happy as each time I started there was an interuption and thought to myself when am I going to get the time on my own but as I sat in church today your blog came to my mind and there was a whole hour to do my thank yous. Also realized how much I must be thankfull for.

  40. Well, here I am, flapping in now after a nice weekend away, in which, curiously, I tried to thank my hubby for his extra efforts. It was rainy and cold in our county, so we fled south and got a cheap room but enjoyed walking on bluffs (him playing the fiddle as always), car and trailer shopping. I didn’t feel thankful for the huge prices they put on little cars, but we’ll work it out.

    Sounds like the muchas gracias is very potent! Maybe I can catch up, though I do say thanks a lot in daily life.

  41. I’m catching up, too. I was on retreat with Matthew Fox and 74 others on Thursday and Friday. Then a conference at which he was keynote speaker for the weekend. I said, “Thank you,” to so many people without seeing Fridays post. Amazing how the cosmos works.
    Thank you all for the intentional thank yous.

  42. Me, too! I spent the weekend with my son, daughter-in-law, and grandson for my “brown-eyed boy’s” fourth birthday. “Thanks” doesn’t even begin to contain all the gratitude I have for being given this blessing in my life. AND, the weekend was “drama-free” – no, it was actually PLEASANT – with the D-I-L, thanks in great part, I’m sure, to the WFF community sending out all your positive energy. THANK YOU ALL for continually maintaining our circle of love ♥♥♥♥

Comments are closed.