Something good is going to happen to you today!

My little $1 bag, getting ready to surprise someone!

I always like finding money….even if it’s a penny, it feels like a little wink from the Universe. The other day, I had the idea to drop a random $1 bill somewhere for someone else to find. I’ve intentionally dropped coins before, but never a bill.

And then, the idea grew into something better, and I thought, why not include an anonymous note?  So I wrote, “Something good is going to happen to you today, and if you are the one who found this $1, it has already begun!” I am imagining the surprised face of the person finding this little bag, but I’m the one who is really benefiting here.

Pleasure is spread through the earth, in stray gifts to be claimed by whoever shall find.
William Wordsworth, 1806

34 thoughts on “Something good is going to happen to you today!

  1. Love that idea! At our annual fiber folk gathering in Freeport, end of January, anyone can be a gift Fairy – package up little presents and bestow them at random throughout the weekend. I made myself a Fairy wand and had a wonderful time tapping people with it this year. The looks on their faces were priceless.

    • What a fun sounding thing to do Shelagh….little surprises have such power for happiness don’t they!?

  2. What a lovely, lovely idea! Let us, each member of your flock, prepare a tiny surprise to leave for someone to find. The ripples will turn into waves of good feelings spreading into our community!.

    From Fran

  3. I love this, especially the note! I’m already smiling just thinking of the joy someone will have when they find the little bag we plan to ‘drop’ today. Thank you Mary, for all the sunshine you bring to us!

  4. Oh, Mary … what a GREAT idea! I always look on surprises as smiles from God … how wonderful to be the “mail carrier” and deliver that smile to someone who needs it most. I’m looking for a little bag to put it in right now!

  5. Love this idea, I know just the place to “drop”this little bag of wonderful today! Thank you, Mary and Fran for the inspiration.

  6. Mary. What a fabulous idea. And I love Fran’s idea too of more and more people spreading goodness. I used to have dreams as a kid of finding quarters on the sidewalk…and then it became treasure chests of quarters. Your post this morning reminds me to look for the bounty in all things.

    • Debra, just this morning the Abraham message was about abundance – so your reminder to look for the bounty in all things echoed their statement. Here it is: goes nicely with this post of Mary’s:

      “You are the owner of all that you perceive. But you can’t perceive apart from your vibration. Feel your way, little-by-little, into a greater sense of abundance, by looking for the treasures that the Universe is offering you on a day-to-day basis.”

  7. Oh what a lovely idea – brilliant and fun right from the beginning! I am going to do the same today…. off I go on some errands 🙂 !!

  8. Hi Mary…..let me know when you plan to start dropping twenties around….ha ha.
    Enjoy your day, all.
    Ken

  9. Gestures of kindness….ummmm….this reminded me of something that happened to us….we we going through the toll booth and when we got to the window to pay the gentleman told us that the car in front of us had paid our toll and wished us a good day…what a nice surprise……when we went through the next toll we did the same thing for the car behind us…..it made us smile to think of the faces of the people in the car when they went through and didn’t have to pay! It made us feel a little giddy too.

  10. That is a FABULOUS idea!!! Thanks for sharing it with so many. Random Acts of Kindness are the BEST.

  11. I love this idea and am going to pull the two little bags (from a wedding we attended on Saturday) out of the trash and get them ready to go. I already know that i will leave one in the Women’s restroom at the library where I am headed later today. Thank you.

  12. Mary, how wonderful!!!!! I’m going to get some little bags tomorrow at Hobby Lobby and start spreading surprises too!!! You rock, Mary Muncil!!!!!

  13. What a lovely idea, Mary. I sometimes send small packages to family & friends in Maine as a surprise, but this sounds even more like fun!! Have a wonderful day!!

  14. Thank you all for “spreading the joy”! Many folks are having a hard time now and just a note of encouragement and small gift will perk up someone, somewhere who needs that little surprise. I will be leaving mine too!

  15. I love this idea and have some random dollar bills floating around on top of the dryer. I just need the bags. I imagine tossing one out my car window in my neighborhood where there is lots of walking around by all sorts of folks.

Comments are closed.