paying attention to the signs

A sign in Montezuma, Costa Rica

I was driving into Saratoga yesterday to have dinner with my father, and was rather unconsciously mulling over a difficult situation in my mind. Suddenly an orange balloon came flying out of the car directly in front of me, and flew right over the top of  my car. I always pay attention to unusual things like this, and usually I’ll ask the question,”I wonder what that meant?” When I asked this last night, within 10 seconds the answer came; “Let it go.”

There is always help available for the difficult and confusing situations in our lives…we just need to pay attention.

Life is one big road with lots of signs,
So when you riding through the ruts, don’t you complicate your mind:
Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy!
Don’t bury your thoughts; put your vision to reality,…Wake up and Live!”

From the song, “Wake Up and Live” by Bob Marley

21 thoughts on “paying attention to the signs

  1. thanks mary for the reminder. i am out the door to the beach today; i will watch for the signs!

  2. Dear Mary, I think signs are not only signs, they are guide posts through out life, placed there to point us in the direction that will bring the most good to all involved. For me the challenge is recognizing that signs are divine messages and not just a coincidence. Each and every time I follow one of those signs, I am never disappointed! Thanks for your post today which reaffirms that when we keep our minds and hearts open to all the signs in our lives…..we keep ourselves open to divine guidance.

  3. I am aware of signs all the time. The challenge for me is interpreting them correctly. Sometimes I can’t get out of my own way, and then I’m unsure of the true meaning. In that case, I pack it away and wait to see if another sign will clarify the issue.

    But then again, to paraphrase Freud, “Sometimes a ‘sign’ is just a ‘sign.’

  4. Another mantra, Mary, to add to my often racing mind. I stood waiting outside our health food store at noon today; groceries, dog food, etc. in the car awaiting a delivery of GF/DF rice buns that I buy in quantity and freeze. I had to wait 15 minutes and I kept repeating, because I was anxious to get on my wait: I’m so lucky; I am peaceful, I live in harmony (with that little pipsqueak of a voice piping in and saying …who are you fooling !!) but just taking my mind off my wait by repeating these phrases, allowed my mind and my heart to slow down. Something to it, Mary.
    SandyP in Canada.

  5. Since ‘signs’ seem to be the word of the day [with a Reggae backbeat] I’ll share my personal favorite from many years ago. On a beach in Negril, Jamaica was a little shanty and ‘tea’ shop with a large, prominent sign reading: Trespassers Welcome!

    No interpretation needed; but the message remains a smile in my heart.
    And Bob Marley’s music a lift in my step. Yeah, mon!

    • What a great sign Cheryl! …if you have a photo of it, send it along and I’ll post it

  6. Mary, your post, as always Is a touchstone, and to the flock such wonderful comments! Bob Marley is one of my favorite artists, he was and remains so through his music, a great social activist.

  7. I used to live in a 4th floor loft with a long wall of large windows. One morning I woke up in a bad head space and couldn’t seem to shake it. As I was struggling inside myself, I looked up and saw a red balloon appear. It bumped along the entire length of my windows. I stuck my head out and watched it continue on down the street to the corner where is turned and dissapeared out of sight. Took my bad mood with it.

  8. Oh, I love those “signs” ! Mary, I am hoping to purchase a home in Salem(I currently live in Ct) the home will be my project the next few years….. I need a good home inspection & septic inspection, do either you or Jack know of any ? I would appreciate any information or referrals. Thank you so much, Patti
    P.S. I enjoy your writing, you have a true gift with words.

  9. It’s all in what we choose to look at and I’m reminded of the little saying:

    “As you ramble through Life, Brother,
    Whatever be your goal.
    Keep your eye upon the doughnut,
    And not upon the hole.”

  10. Perhaps the orange balloon that flew out of the car ahead of you was one that someone was taking to the celebration of the boy who passed away recently and was one of those who benefited from the Melodies of Christmas childrens’ cancer center at Albany Med. Liz Bishop talked about it on Channel Six and showed all those releasing the orange balloons.

Comments are closed.