True freedom

Esther in her favorite place; outside

About 15 years ago, I was going through a particularly rough time and while visiting a friend in California he said, “You need to see Robert. He is an amazing healer.” I was open to trying almost anything and so I did. Robert was in his late 70’s, living in a very small, unimpressive apartment and didn’t look like he was in all that great shape himself (as I recall, he wasn’t able to stand up to greet me). I sat in a chair and he waved his hands this way and that, and chanted something under his breath.  I can’t remember how long I was there, but as I got up to leave the most wonderful feeling came over me. It was as if I was bathed in a peaceful, warm light, inside and out.

I left feeling like a different person. I was relaxed, calm and felt an inner joy that I hadn’t felt in so long that I couldn’t remember. But the next day, as I went through my day, the feeling subsided and within a short time, I was back to feeling the old anxieties and worries. I so wished that I lived near Robert and even thought about moving to California to see if I could work for him in exchange for sessions, but that didn’t pan out and in retrospect, I’m glad it didn’t. Robert had learned how to focus his mind for the good of others, but the piece that was missing was my mind and my thoughts. Although there was no doubt that I felt better, I was also feeling like he did it and that was subtly disempowering.

It was my mind that created, through negative, worried thought, the conditions of my life and no person, place or thing on the outside of me could  heal that in a lasting way. I can receive temporary help (and many times that help will be enough to get me to a better feeling place so I can really work on my own thought life) but if I don’t change my dominant pattern of thought and belief, I will end up back where I started.

When we become aware that our thoughts are creating the conditions of our lives, then we are empowered to change from within, and can celebrate and embrace all the help that comes from others instead of feeling dependent in a disempowered way. We are here to help each other by sharing our unique gifts and strengths; never to make another dependent on us, but always to help others become aware of the Divine within themselves.

Only the truth of who you are, if realized, will set you free.”Eckhart Tolle

23 thoughts on “True freedom

  1. Good Morning
    This message really helped me today, Mary, I have a son with learning disabilities and suffers from major depression, and I will remember not to make him more dependent on me, and focus more on teaching him to find his way, Thank You

  2. Dear Mary….this is one of your most well-written and powerfully expressed posts…thank you! It is so very true that we ultimately create our own universe, be it negative or positive….by the thoughts we cultivate. Thank you for being not only a daily reminder of how to stay true to the beauty within, but for living those principles yourself. I love starting my day with your blog!

  3. Ahh…a balm for my inner self this morning, Mary. Thank you so much.
    I am so enjoying the individual pictures of your feline friends too!

  4. Mary, your last paragraph is really profound, no exaggeration here. I really mean profound. I am copy/pasting it into my WFF folder, – might put it on my desk to read every morning. “This little light of mine, this little light of yours” – they’re all shining this morning!

  5. Thank you, Mary, for reminding me that all the answers are inside of me. When I start to go outside to find a guru, I need to remember that I have the power without going outside of myself.

    As a cat person, I, too, enjoy the pictures of your felines.

  6. yes, yes, thank you mary for this truth today. may it be well for you, may it be well for me, and may it be well for all of us.

  7. You always give me the tools to have faith in myself, sometimes hard to remember.
    Your series of cat pictures lately have warmed my heart. So many cats, so little time I think to love them all even from afar. I can never see enough of them.

  8. Thanks again Mary. You have again reminded me we have the power within ourselves to heal and make ourselves free. We just have to be open to it and use it. 🙂

  9. One of the many reasons I so love this blog is that we all seem to own accountability for ourselves. Looking within is our intention. And, Mary, today’s post really drives that home for me. I am so learning this. I am my own thought leader. My own feeling leader. Handing that over to someone else, even in the short term, consciously or not, causes me to feel vulnerable and a little unsafe, off balance. My trigger to look right back inside. No victims here! I really love the rich discussions among the WFF neighborhood…who really get this. And while despite our good intentions, we may take a step back once in a while, the giant leaps forward, even the baby steps forward, feel wonderful! And affirm the Divine within each of us. Thank you!

  10. Like my dear, sweet Border collie, I find myself ‘running herd’ when the negative thoughts try to take my focus. I still wonder why the positive, affirming counterparts are so much less assertive! What a fun, refreshing experience that could be…

  11. I’ve learned this concept from you Mary. Over and over. You’ve made a huge difference in my soul. I think of your blog as one of the tools in my toolbox that I always have handy to help me.
    Esther’s eyes take my breath away! Great shot!
    🙂 Cindy

    • Cindy, I have been reading your comments this summer and have a question. Are you married to a Bob Chambers who grew up in Warren, Michigan? If so, we may be related…I would be his cousin from Berlin Heights, Ohio., and have lost touch with him.
      If not–sorry to have bothered you!

  12. This is one of those lessons I grasp … and then lose way too often! Thanks for the beautiful reminder, Mary. And, just when I really needed one!

  13. I feel like you are a healer – you “ooze” positive and calm energy through your blog. Thank you for helping me realize that you struggle with the same things and for providing tools to help.

Comments are closed.