Singing a new song

Eleanor loves pressing her head into Luke’s big head!

A number of years ago, I was asked to help care for an elderly gentleman in the neighborhood who needed the dressing on his leg changed once a day. Even though this was not a difficult thing for me to do, I wasn’t thrilled about it for several reasons; It meant committing for an indefinite period of time to do something everyday, and because this man was a retired surgeon, and was very particular about his medical attention (as well he should have been), knowing this, and not wanting to make a mistake, made me feel uncomfortable.

After about a week of caring for his wound in a fairly mechanical way, and getting little in the way of positive feedback from him, one morning I was driving to his home and the song, Everything That Touches You, by the Association, came on the radio. Since this was one of my favorite songs, I was singing it in my car and kept singing it (in my mind) while I changed his bandage.

As I was leaving his bedside, he grabbed my wrist and said, “You have magic hands. You really do!” He had tears in his eyes and I felt wonderful. I bought the cd and kept it in my car to play everyday before I saw him. Our time together became something that I looked forward to and when his leg healed, I actually missed seeing him so often.

What we are thinking matters so much more than we can even imagine, and it is felt by everyone we come in contact with. How about this weekend, choosing a song that has lyrics which radiate the words you would love the world to feel coming from you, and try “singing into” every situation that you meet.

“Every thought you produce, anything you say, any action you do, it bears your signature.” Thich Nhat Hanh

The YouTube video for “Everything that Touches You” is below

25 thoughts on “Singing a new song

  1. I’m still pondering on an appropriate song, however I’ll be thinking about using “magic hands” for everything I do this weekend! Such an inspiring thought!
    Beautiful picture of Eleanor and Luke!

    Thank you Mary, and have a magical weekend.
    Love from Fran

  2. I have been following your blog for some time and would like to tell you how much it has meant to me. You provide inspirational tidbits to ponder thru out the day. I particularly like when you share these memorable songs. Thanks so much.

  3. I’ll be using “Peaceful” by Kenny Rankin and recorded by Helen Reddy back in the early 70s. Just listening to it drops my BP a bit, I think. What a wonderful post, Mary, and what a great photo. I’m smiling just thinking about it.

  4. Having grown up with them, it’s often the old hymns that resonate the most with me. My song for the wk-end will be “Come thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing thy praise.”

    My sisters (5 of them) and I will meet up tomorrow for an overnighter and to attend a musical, “The Confession,” so I may have a few more songs running through my head after the wk-end!

  5. Such a cute picture! I’m going to follow your advice about choosing a song Thanks Mary

    ________________________________

  6. I haven’t heard this song in years Mary – thanks for such a wonderful reminder that “everything is love”. I’m looking forward to the weekend and trying to find a song that radiates me, I’m sure I can come up with more than one.
    I hope you will remember what you have written here and remember that you have magic hands. I already sensed that in you but obviously others have too.
    Have a great weekend… xoxo

  7. Mary, I’d give the coyotes around here competition with my singing voice. But isn’t it wonderful when things and people you feel apprehensive about turn out to be such positive and warming experiences. In fact, I can’t think of any song other than Yellow Submarine and Diamonds in the Sky with Lucy…which I’d love to make into a wallhanging one day…the words are so descriptive regardless of Paul McCartney’s reference to LSD.
    SandyP in Canada

  8. “Tuesday Afternoon” by The Moody Blues….”the trees are calling me near, I’ve got to find out why”….

    LOVE it when you post links to songs, Mary. Each one takes me right to the time and place back in the day.

    And then, there’s Luke and Eleanor. Luke looks like he’s not too sure about having his foot-licking interrupted. Love it!

    A happy, song-filled weekend to all!

  9. Music is such a powerful force, inspiring, energizing, soothing. It’s hard to pick a song, I live so many, but what came to mind this morning was a Joan Baez song: “Forever Young”. I’m already humming…
    Love the picture of Luke and Eleanor, sweet!

  10. I”d go with ‘Everything is Holy Now’ – Danny Byram. Heard it on the radio this morning on the way to work & loved it.

  11. “Imagine”—John Lennon. It’s always my go-to peace place. Wishing all a harmonious weekend, even if it’s sung off key!!

  12. Maybe because I just watched a documentary on the incredibly talented Marvin Gaye this past week, I’ll be hearing “What’s Goin’ On” this weekend. “You know we’ve got to find a way,To bring some lovin’ here today” .

    Another short quote of Thich Nhat Hanh “Your actions are your only true possessions”.

  13. One of my favorites is “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life.” I’ve attached the Art Garfunkel version. There’s also one that is popular by Monty Python. I have many other favorites, but this one has a special message for me.

  14. Hi Mary, This is a great w/e assignment.Your story reminded me that you too were once a nurse. I’m an “Imagine” by John Lennon girl too.
    The picture of Luke and Eleanor is to die for!! They actually have complimentary colorings too.
    Have a great weekend, Cindy

  15. I live in Iowa, and we get bombarded with politicians for so long. I’m so weary of the toxic ads. Right now the song going thru my head is: all we are saying is give peace a chance . . . . Give peace a chance . . . .

  16. I can’t say I have a song that puts me in the best frame of mind, but what you wrote about how our thoughts affect others is something that I’m learning right now. I’m in a difficult situation with the people who own, run, and work at the board and care home that my elderly husband is in–they’re not as caring and compassionate as I would like. After a few discussions pointing out what I would like to see changed, I started to feel very uncomfortable during my daily visits and felt that the caregivers and the administrator were cool and distant towards me. But the last few days I’ve been wondering how I can hold good intentions towards them despite our differences and I realized that I really like them all. As soon as I started holding that thought, their coolness and my discomfort melted away! Doesn’t mean the problems are resolved, but at least we can get along pleasantly and comfortably as we work on them.

  17. What A Wonderful World is the one that does it for me. What a wonderful song!

    I see trees of green…….. red roses too
    I see em bloom….. for me and for you
    And I think to myself…. what a wonderful world.

    I see skies of blue….. clouds of white
    Bright blessed days….dark sacred nights
    And I think to myself …..what a wonderful world.

    The colors of a rainbow…..so pretty ..in the sky
    Are also on the faces…..of people ..going by
    I see friends shaking hands…..sayin.. how do you do
    They’re really sayin……i love you.

    I hear babies cry…… I watch them grow
    They’ll learn much more…..than I’ll never know
    And I think to myself …..what a wonderful world

  18. “Every thought you produce, anything you say, any action you do, it bears your signature.” Thich Nhat Hanh”
    Okay, I must confess I’ve tried. Running a B&B sometimes has it’s moments and yesterday was one of those. While in town yesterday morning, my car phone rang, it was my husband to tell me he’d booked guests into the front room and we were now full. The problem was, the front room was already booked. That meant we had two people over our limit of bedrooms. So, I tried very hard to remember the above quote. I tried to think that this was just a problem to be solved. I tried not to blame my husband for not listening to me when I left the house yesterday morning when I let him know we were full. I tried not to be upset because he didn’t check our reservation book…because anger would have accomplished a negative effect and so I was calm, handled myself well and was proud of myself….until….the guests in the middle room did not show up when they’d said they would, the other guests who were over our limit showed up and I gave them the other guests room, frantically called another B&B to see if they had an extra room…they did, they’d had a cancellation the night before…and I was still reasonably calm and with a good attitude. I lost it when, after leaving two messages on the missing guests tel. service that I was rearranging their location and they did not return my calls. I lost it when their son-in-law called 7 hours after their check-in time to ask if the room was still available. I got all p*ssy-faced and grumpy and went to bed with a glass of cognac. How come all my good intentions worked for awhile but then I reverted to my usual flapped-up state. I’m trying, Mary, but I do not always succeed. My euphoric state is not a permanent fixture in my life, yet. Not sure it ever will be.
    SandyP in Canada

  19. Sandy P., I felt your pain! What you went through was more than the BEST of intentions could have stood up to. On a baser level, it gave me consolation to see that there are others out there who, like me, cannot always do the ‘rosy path’ on a continuous basis.

    I guess we all can do only what we can do. Sometimes I succeed and other times, I fall face first into the hopper. And I do the latter more than I do the former.

    So I salute you, and thank you for your honesty, which gave me such a good laugh…(sorry!). You always keep it real, and I just love that. 🙂

    • Suzanne, that is why I put this out there. Mary’s postings have allowed me to rethink my actions before I react. That much I can say. She is giving me food for thought but when the chips are down, I still have a tendency to go back to my usual old stuff which doesn’t accomplish much for me. My husband, this morning, said he could just see the vapours of frustration and anger coming off me last night. I told him he was lucky to avoided the fall-out in the morning when he’d overbooked me and only because I am trying to be more mindful about my behaviour, did he not get the usual blast. But I can’t sustain it on a consistent basis. I wonder that any of us can. I can revert back to my old ways in a flash, inside me. I can revert back to the hurtful parts of my life in a flash. Now, however, I’m reminding myself that I have a choice in how I think and how I react. And how I behave. I’m just not always successful at it. I’m glad you posted, Suzanne…makes me feel a whole lot better. I ‘ain’t’ perfect.
      SandyP

Comments are closed.