We’ll see….

Fred and Jackson (Tom and Lindsay’s dog) in the kitchen having a snack

Jack and I were deciding where we wanted to go to dinner on Saturday night and spent about 15 minutes, each offering suggestions which neither of us liked, until we decided on Saratoga. It’s interesting this feeling-out of right decisions. …why one place feels right at a certain time but not at another. A huge wind storm had come though our area about a half hour earlier, so within 5 miles of our house, the road was blocked by a tree that had been blown down. It was too big for us to move, so we turned around and tried a different road and again came to a tree across the road, but this time a car was on the other side of the tree, so Jack and the man in that car were able to drag the tree to the side of the road. Sometimes, when I feel like the trip I’m taking isn’t right, these incidences will serve as signs to turn around, but that wasn’t how either of us felt, so we kept driving.

About 10 minutes later, we were moving right along (in a fair amount of traffic) and I saw a flash of something to the right. At the same time, Jack noticed a man looking like he wanted to cross the road on the left.  We realized that it was a man whose dog had gotten away from him. I braked quickly stopping the traffic behind me, and as traffic on both sides came to a halt, the man was able to get his dog. As we started to drive way, he waved to us and said, “Thank you!” and the reason for our trip to Saratoga (not Bennington or Manchester or Glens Falls) and the 2 trees that delayed us (just the perfect amount of time) became clear.

We don’t always get such quick “happy endings to the story” …but the story is never really done. “The story” is our lives, unfolding perfectly (even if in the moment it looks like a mess).  If you’re having a tough time, or it seems like things have gone wrong, try not to pronounce it finished...keep looking for things to turn around. Sometimes even saying (in the middle of a rough spell, “I’m really looking forward to seeing what is right about this!” will help soothe our minds and emotions enough that even the thing that was seeming so wrong can look better, and when that happens we are on our way up).

Once upon a time, there was a farmer in the central region of China. He didn’t have a lot of money and had only one horse to plow his field. One afternoon the horse ran away. Everyone in the village said, “Oh, what a horrible thing to happen.” The farmer said simply, “We’ll see.” Three days later, the horse returned with two wild horses.  Everyone’s reaction now was, “What a lucky man.” And the farmer said, “We’ll see.” A couple of days later, the farmer’s son tried to ride one of the horses but it threw him off and and he broke his leg. Everyone in the village shook their heads and said, “What a poor fellow!” The farmer just said, “We’ll see.” Two days later, the army came into the village to draft new recruits. When they saw that the farmer’s son had a broken leg, they decided not to recruit him. Everyone said, “What a fortunate young man.”…

The farmer smiled again – and said “We’ll see.”    Chinese Parable

28 thoughts on “We’ll see….

  1. Mary, ANOTHER amazing story. You help me to deal with what I’m going through. It must be for a reason. Better days ahead. 🙂

  2. With tears in my eyes, Mary, may I say that I hope your ‘well’ never runs dry. This has to be one of your most beautiful and hopeful posts.
    SandyP in Canada

  3. Mary,
    I loved the Chinese parable today but most of all I loved your blog as it gave me hope. Since my husband died it has been a constant struggle with money and at 76 I am still working 4 days a week. I get very depressed and discouraged at times but then I read something like your blog and think…something better could be around the corner and keeping a good attitude with a light at the end of the tunnel thought helps me not fall into the depressed/discouraged mode. So, thanks Mary and I am sooo glad that the fellows dog did not get hurt and that you stopped to help him. Kind hearts are rewarded I do believe!

  4. It’s good to be back amongst the WFF community. I’ve just spent time reading a weeks worth of Mary’s posts and comments. All bring good thoughts and much love. Thank you Mary and friends.

  5. “[If] it seems that things have gone wrong, try not to pronounce it finished.” Thank you, Mary. I needed that this Monday morning.

  6. Dear Mary….such a hopeful and reassuring post. Thank you for your beautiful heart and the abundance of faith and love you always channel through your words. Your blog continues to sustain my spirit and uplift my soul.

  7. Like Terri, I’ve just returned… from an awesome 2 week vacation in the mountains of Montana and it is so good to be starting each morning again with Mary and WFF friends! I’ve missed you all! Not always knowing what is going to be around the next corner, or how the different pieces of our lives suddenly reveal something remarkable, can be fun…I find it fills me with hope and wonder…and then, often, a delightful surprise. This vacation, I was trying to live in the moment…I said it out loud every day…wanting to breathe in and soak up the beauty and energy of the mountains, and let the wind carry away any worries. When I got home this weekend I stumbled upon a song I had never heard, but that totally captured how I was feeliing with both it’s lyrics and catchy happy tune. I can’t get it out of my mind and it is my new happy song. So I wanted to share it…it speaks to so many things that Mary has taught us! Like, how we unwittingly lay traps in our path, how we worry about things that will never happen to us, peace in our minds, peace in our hearts, peace in our souls, and wherever we’re going, we’re already home, letting ourselves off the hook for the past, letting go of the thoughts that do not make us strong, not walking through life facing backwards…it’s by Jason Mraz…perhaps some of you already know it! It’s called “Living in the Moment”…and catching up on WFF posts and comments was like reading a short inspirational book! So much great stuff! Thank you! Happy Monday!

    http://jasonmraz.com/video/fan-video/2011/livin-in-the-moment/

    • Kathye, just reading over comments from yesterday’s post, and wanted to say, it’s easy to tell you are refreshed and renewed by your vacation, such positive and lovely thoughts you have expressed! I am grateful, and I love Jason Mraz!

  8. This post speaks to me too, today. I am facing talking with someone about some sensitive issues, things that may have happened in the past that I am not aware of, – but affecting now a young person in my life. A routine pediatrician visit brought this to the fore, and had it not been for that, I may not have had the opportunity to suggest to this person that I’d like to talk to her. Don’t mean to be vague, but this blog isn’t about posting all the details – suffice it to say, I am a true believer that events we experience, even the unpleasant ones, are ingredients to a better ending. What a beautiful unfolding, Mary – two roadblocks led you to a heartwarming reunion, man and best friend! I bet at that point, you could have shared peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and still have been happy! Happy new week to all.

    • Susan, I believe you will handle what it is you need to with sensitivity for this young person in your life. I raised four children, two of them girls. What happens to children early in life can and does affect them later in life and if there is an understanding and helping hand at an early age, it often helps children deal with issues better later on. I wish you well in your delicate endeavor.
      SandyP

  9. This post reminds me of a quote from the movie, “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” which says, “Everything will be all right in the end… if it’s not all right then it’s not the end. ”

    Words to live by…..

  10. Mary, it’s like opening the blinds behind my eyes reading your posts. I love how you express your feelings and I love how it makes me feel. Kathye, I ordered “Living in the Moment”. I loved it, thank you. Flock, you might also like the movie “An Afternoon with Marguerite”. Sweet, sweet movie.

  11. “Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” is really good; it may not yet be out on video, I just saw it at my neighborhood theatre about 6 weeks ago. I love that quote too, and the sweet thing in the movie is that it was a younger man telling this to the older folks. “It will all be all right in the end, so if it’s not all right, it is not yet the end.” Very Asian with a particular Indian twist, and a way of keeping the faith when the going gets rough . . .

Comments are closed.