Desire: The guiding Light

Esther

One of the biggest challenges that I’ve had, is believing that my desires are “good” and from the Divine.  So many of us were led to believe that our desires were wrong; selfish, self-centered, or bad, that we became suspicious of them, sometimes trying to banish them altogether, or pound them down like they were evil, and so we lost our way spiritually.

Trying to figure out what others want from us, watching ourselves through their eyes to make sure that we are approved of (or doing the right thing as far as they are concerned), pushes our True Self (our spiritual center) ever further away until the discouraged feeling of “Who am I?” becomes a constant companion. We can’t know True Selves until we learn to trust that still, small voice within. The voice that often sounds like, “Wouldn’t it be wonderful if………….”

 “The desire which you have from within is the manifestation of the great universal Intelligence, craving expression through you and by means of you….Universal Energy as Mind, Life, Love, Truth and Substance is always trying to pour more of itself through us into visibility….desire in the heart is God (universal Mind), knocking at the door of our consciousness….” pp 46, 48, 49 from, Realizing Prosperity, Franklin Fillmore Farrington, published in 1923

16 thoughts on “Desire: The guiding Light

  1. Seeing ourselves through other’s eyes has merit, Mary but as you point out it may be that we are not being true to ourselves. I liken it someone else wagging the tail of my donkey. Does it come from insecurity within ourselves? Seeking approval from others? It’s something that I did for years, I have to admit…always looking for approval. Why? Well, no blame attached, my mother used to give me ‘that look’ when I stepped out of line and it programmed me pretty much for the future…seeking approval. In recent years I’ve been trying to peel away the layers and find more of me. And then there is the issue of those with whom I was always trying to please finding me not a willing participant in this ‘game’ any longer and finding fault with me because I’m no longer there in that capacity. That I have found to be the hard part. Step out of the ‘game’ and where does that leave you? Sometimes without much of a relationship with these people…
    Good post, Mary, how in the world do you keep coming up with thought-provoking commentaries…
    SandyP in Canada

    • Yes, Sandy I got that look from my mother too…and I know that she got that look from her mother. At some point we need to go inside and find our way with the belief that if it is right for me, it can’t be wrong for someone else (even if that other person doesn’t approve or like it)….after all, in a Universe (one-Verse), doing what is right cannot lead to a wrong

  2. Women have a particularly difficult time with this – so many subtle influences that are instilled in us from birth. At times it is a lonely road following one’s heart – or finding a balance.

    • I so agree with you Lynne and it also seems like there are more of us willing to risk being on that lonely road vs. not following our hearts, (and it is starting to feel less lonely already!)

  3. “seeing ourselves through another’s eyes” is already an impossibility when you come to think of it – because we can’t be in another person’s skin (or eyes) so we flounder to attach our compass to theirs, and in the process lose our true direction, the one that was planted in us, waiting to find its way and blossom. But oh! the power of a mother’s glare, or father’s – anyone in authority in a young one’s life. What an immensely daunting responsibility it is/was to be a parent.

  4. Dear Mary, this quote really struck me….thank you for this beautiful, gentle and truthful reminder to trust in our own hearts…all the time. I really needed to hear this today. Bless you.

  5. Oh, so true, Mary. I’m taking “The Artist’s Way” workshop right now which is such a good reminder of just this….trusting the still, small voice. I think it’s a life time process, but I’m always so thankful for the reminders along the way of life.

  6. Hi Mary, This is hard for me sometimes. I think of growing up as the rector’s daughter in a large Episcopal church.I remember so vividly the words in our prayer book about “freeing us from the devices and desires our heart.” One of many things I was absolutely not to question.
    Have a nice w/e, Cindy

    • For me as well Cindy…replacing those old messages (that we are defective, weak, less-than creatures with unhealthy desires) is the work of waking up spiritually

  7. Cindy, I keep re-reading your prayer book’s first words: “freeing us?” from the devices and desires of our heart – what a manipulation – offering freedom when it is really stating ‘control’ – and control your desires of the heart to conform/align with ‘the church’. Very recently I witnessed a small child told repeated, “stop asking, stop asking”, as if he was an annoyance, and I felt for his small voice, not being able to be heard. Speak up every one of us, find your still small voice, even if you only begin to talk to it all alone by yourself.

  8. Thank-you Mary. Spirituality takes effort and awareness each and every day. I’m working on it. Especially when I take a daily inventory at night.(in my cozy bed after a few pages of a great book!) You’ve helped me so much with this.
    Susan A.,I too feel religion can be a manipulation.Mine was forced on me and trampled my very soul. Those young days were tough and it’s so freeing liking who I have become today!
    Thank-you, Cindy

    • Cindy, I too, grew up in ‘churches’ although not as a rector’s daughter but the daughter of two parents, who did not attend church but supported it financially and my mother worked hard with the ladies in a church unit. My church was always the centre of my life. I taught Sunday School, became the head of that department, became an usher, headed up the Christmas Pageant, a big week-long affair. And throughout it all, I sought answers for myself that I never could find in organized religion. When I told my minister that I neither believed nor disbelieved, he said that I was an agnostic and should believe as a child believes. I never could. I’m grateful for all the years spent in and around my church in the city. I live in the country now and still consider that ‘my church’ even though I have not been inside that church for years. Yet, to repeat the Nicene Creed is not something I can do any longer. It feels negative to me; not uplifting whereas a more spiritual faith suits me now. Trying to remain calm, less judgmental, less responsive to other’s anger and my own, deliberately choosing to begin my day with a better outlook…still up and down for me; I’m far from perfect but my faith is a more conscious effort of taking account of myself every day and moments in each day. I do not wish to have organized religion tell me what to think and how to behave. I think growing up as a rector’s daughter would not have been easy.
      SandyP in Canada

  9. Thank you Mary for the quote. I love the idea that our desires are the Universe wanting to express itself through us. Because of my conditioning I so easily dismiss even an inkling of desire and know that I have missed “living life out loud”. I think that listening to that “still soft voice” within means, for me, paying attention to those desires and allowing them expression.

  10. What a lovely and timely post. I just returned from family and work and always feel the eyes upon me. I try to live by my true self but at times I get lost. Thank you for this reinforcement and little nudge. It came at just the right time.

Comments are closed.