Saturday smiles; food and fun

We loved the roasted broccoli (from the Little B Cooks blog) and so did Luke!

I recently found a really nice cooking blog called,  Little B Cooks: Chronicles from a Vermont foodie   Every recipe that I’ve tried has turned out great, her photographs are wonderful, and I feel like I am sitting in a friend’s kitchen, watching her fix dinner, when I read her blog.

Do you have a favorite cooking blog (or do you write one yourself?) if so, please feel free to tell us about it and share the link.

(the quote below doesn’t have anything to do with this post but I couldn’t resist. Have a wonderful weekend, and remember to smile….often!)

Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you are a mile away from them and you have their shoes.” Jack Handey

20 thoughts on “Saturday smiles; food and fun

  1. Hi Mary,

    Thanks for asking about food blogs.

    My blog is at http://www.acupofkindness.com.

    In January 2007, at the age of 51, I joined a 12-step program and began my recovery from food addiction, losing 75 pounds in the process… and keeping it off since then.

    In January 2011, at the age of 55, I began my recovery from a multi-trauma accident, 36 fractures, damaged lungs, a spinal cord injury, and post traumatic stress.

    I am deeply grateful for all the kindnesses, large and small, offered to me in recovery. Here I am… alive… still making progress … still not perfect … finding a new way forward in a growing community of women and men who share a lot in common around food and life.

    One of my purely food posts (my longest post ever!) is here: http://www.acupofkindness.com/salads/

    Enjoy!

    Love & Light,

    Valerie

    • Valerie! You are one amazing woman taking on the challenges you have and rising to meet them and still stay grateful and positive. I wish I could give you a great big hug right now! But consider one flying your way from Arizona! Love and Light back to you as well! You are an inspiration! Love, Susan

      • Hi Sandy, Your lovely comment is a wonderful gift this morning. Many thanks. It took a village to lift me up out of trauma and into recovery. I am forever grateful. Love & Light, Valerie

  2. Mary – What a great idea to share our favorite food blogs – the one that you mentioned looks really good. I’m going to try one of the recipes for dinner tonight.

    I really like a blog called Orangette, http://orangette.blogspot.com, written by a young woman named Molly who has a couple of restaurants in Seattle with her husband Brandon. They just had a baby. Her writing is funny and very honest, and they are imaginative about what they cook.

    I’m looking forward to what everyone else has to share about their favorites. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Dearest Mary,
    I’m sure I’m going to find my favorite food blog amongst the ones I’m learning about today! Thank you so much for a Saturday post, a great gift for the weekend. The quote is ever so timely as is the picture of Luke enjoying your care and kindness! He’s radiating happiness.
    Love from Fran

  4. Mary – Thank you for putting out another great idea this weekend! I can’t wait to try roasted broccoli. Just this morning I stumbled upon a blog by Susan Russo called foodblogga.blogspot.com. I was looking for an almond biscotti recipe. Although I haven’t tried any recipes from this site, I love the narrative included and photos. I think I’m going to have to try the Italian Ricotta Pie with Pineapple soon!

    Happy eating, everyone.

  5. Dear Mary…..love the quote this morning and thanks for the wonderful inspirations from the food blog. I love all the additional food blogs suggested by some of the flock. Can’t wait to try out some of the recipes. I hope your weekend is filled with good food and wonderful vibes.

  6. Thanks to Pam A. for foodblogga. Now I can do some fun things with those cute baby eggplants we’ve been getting from our CSA!

    You inspired me to look more closely at the Blog Barn from Local Harvest http://www.localharvest.org/blog/all/. It’s a list of blogs about farmers’ markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food around the country.

    Enjoy!

    Love & Light,

    Valerie

  7. Oh my gosh, Mary, you’re making me hungry at 8 in the morning! And I haven’t even hiked yet – good reason to indulge in one of these recipes later! The broccoli roasted also caught my eye as I did something similar with cauliflower a while back – totally makes those veggies sweeter – almost caramelizes them. Those apple pie muffins also look decadent with the oozy filling (great photos!) In the interest of calories, less sugar and butter, etc., I bet they’d be just as good (OK, almost!) without the crumbly topping. Happy Weekend all, and smiles galore and Bon Appetit! This will be a page to save what with all the wonderful links – thanks Mary!

  8. Thanks for the suggestion of the recipe site, Mary, I’ve already found two good recipes for my Bed&Breakfast’s. But I think I’d better check out the Diabetes Daily. Unless I loose 5 lbs, my winter pants won’t do up. With family coming tomorrow, I’ve already sampled a small bowl of apple crisp.
    SandyP in Canada

  9. Mary, thank you so much. I collect recipes like some women collect shoes or husbands and am always on the lookout for a great new source of ideas and recipes and LittleBCooks is so great. I’ve already borrowed several recipes and can’t wait to try them out.

    Jo

  10. Mary,
    Thanks again, so much, for your wonderful blog! Recipe site sharing is a great idea. My favorite is http://ohsheglows.com/. Yes….it is vegan, but very tasty, and many of the recipes are quite easy. Take a look…I highly recommend.
    Jaynibeth

Comments are closed.