Happy to be here

A little pin that I found at the thrift store

I was visiting my mother yesterday afternoon, and she asked me to take the water that she had purchased in preparation for the storm, but didn’t end up needing. I did not need a load of bottled water either, but didn’t mind taking it for her. This morning I opened my emails and there was one from a friend who is going to New York City this weekend with a truck-load of supplies. One of the items he was asking for was bottled water.

Sometimes we think that we are all alone. We forget that underneath our apparent differences we are all One. We are all connected to each other, to every other living thing, to all of life (seen and unseen) by this invisible substance called God (or Universal Mind, Subconscious Mind, Life, Spirit or Love).

We are here for a brief moment in time to experience being human, and to wake up and remember that we are Divine.

But I’ll tell you what hermits realize. If you go off into a far, far forest and get very quiet, you’ll come to understand that you’re connected with everything.” Alan Watts

 

8 thoughts on “Happy to be here

  1. Hi Mary, your article is so true and as we go through life, we are learning that.

    ________________________________

  2. Would love to be a hermit today. I can see that far far forest just waiting for me just to connect again.

  3. “you’ll come to understand that you’re connected with everything.” Alan Watts”
    I wonder how long it takes us all to realize this. I look at people on the street and think, they have two arms, two legs, a body and a head. I have that too. They feel things; I feel things so what makes us so different? Circumstances, money, advantages I’ve maybe had that someone else hasn’t had. But when I tthink in terms of humaness and not ego, we are all connected. That said, how do I reconcile myself with the fact that, as in nature and animals, there is a need to dominate, to swim at the head of the pack…a basic instinct in living things to control. What a dichotomy.
    SandyP in Canada

  4. Love the pin. So sweet…so true. It is within this oneness….this connection to all things (which you describe so beautifully in your blog….) that I can find my peace and let go. Thank you Mary.

  5. What a beautiful message on a day that has seen so many before it full of rancor, finger pointing, blame-gaming – ugh, of the election season. We are all one – when did we forget that we are called the ‘united’ states? – I remember feeling this oneness with others most vividly when sitting in airports, where I knew not a soul. Onne time in Miami stays especially in mind, – people of all ethnicities, colors, costumes – all scurrying here and there, and yet as SandyP said, two arms, two legs, a body and a head . . and a spirit as preciously created as my own. It gives one pause. It made me feel both tiny and small, a little bit lonely, and yet also connected. We are one. Love to all.

Comments are closed.