An excellent example

our living room

My sister-in-law Jeanne has never been to our house because she is highly allergic to cats. We met for lunch last week and she was telling me that she loved seeing the photos of our house on the blog (usually the house is in the background and I am showcasing one of our furry mammals). I asked her if she’d like me to send her some pictures of our home and she said yes. I took a bunch last night and when I looked at the photo above, it reminded me of the inside of an Aladdin’s lamp. When I was a young girl, I loved the TV show, I Dream of Jeannie. The inside of her magic bottle was especially appealing with all of its pillows and soft places sit. I wanted a room like that so much…I think I finally have it.

Most of the furniture in our home is from some thrift store. With 6 cats, a big fuzzy dog, and 2 human beings, who are not very neat and tend to spill things on a regular basis, I need to have a house that I can live in and not worry about if something gets broken, spilled on, nails sharpened on, thrown up on, (by the animals, not us) and sometimes even a little worse than that. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I once heard a very wise statement, “Don’t cry over anything that cannot cry over you.” The comfort and happiness of the things with beating hearts always comes first.

Life is for living now; for using up fully, not stored away, over-protected, or worried about.

“Live life fully while you’re here. Experience everything. Take care of yourself and your friends. Have fun, be crazy, be weird. Go out and screw up!  You’re going to anyway, so you might as well enjoy the process. Take the opportunity to learn from your mistakes….Don’t try to be perfect; just be an excellent example of being human.” Anthony Robbins

51 thoughts on “An excellent example

    • I agree with you Lynne and think that you are just that: an excellent human being!

  1. How cozy, warm and inviting. I can picture all of us sitting around having a wonderful time getting to know each other. Your home is welcoming even from a distance. Can feel the love. I will be visualizing this for snuggling, loving thoughts. Thanks for sharing your home and warmth.

    • I’ve often imagined all of us gathered here Mary…sending you a hug across the miles!

  2. Mary, Love the photo of your living room, it is really for living ! Just looking at your photo, I felt like I was getting big welcoming hug. The warmth of the room gives off a smile to everyone. Thanks for sharing !

    • so funny…when I wrote, living room, I hadn’t really thought about the significance of that term..thank you Jude

  3. Such a magical, soft and cozy room…like sitting around an outdoor campfire, all snuggly and warm. Love seeps out of every pillow, the glow of every light, every quilt and reaches up, like Jude suggests, and gives you a warm hug and you instantly feel a part of “it’. Your ‘Jeannie’ room is just like you and Jack…emanating that warm sparkle the moment you enter…ahhhh….

    • I’m a little nervous if things are too clean (except if I’m staying in a hotel)…a few animal hairs here and there are always a good sign to me

  4. love the picture of your living room, with or without cats… charming and lovely and warm. I am highly allergic as well so I enjoy your cats vicariosly (sp) altho I do have a sweet little dog.

  5. Dear Mary, thank you for sharing such an intimate glimpse into your home. Your living room is inviting and cozy….such a loving vibe it exudes. And the quote from Anthony Robbins is inspiring! Here’s to living life with an open heart and a full spirit!

  6. Your living room is so cozy and inviting. One could just sink right into it! And I totally agree about your line “The comfort and happiness of the things with beating hearts always comes first.” Material possessions are just that, possessions. We love and have relationships with the animals who share our lives. So much more important.

  7. I have always felt cozy and comfortable at your house, Mary! It is my absolute favorite thing about visiting- looking forward to next weekend. xo

  8. Love that show I Dream of Jeannie too, and always loved her cozy bottle house. Your place looks wonderful & love the reference to letting the creatures be comfortable. Mine seem to lounge everywhere and one in particular thinks her paws are made of sugar when it gets cold or rainy & uses the bathroom rug as her back-up place to …. well you get it, it’s washable & in the wash as we speak. Great message today. Thanks Mary.

  9. Well now, Mary, don’t be surprised to find me at your door, wanting to curl up in one of your wonderful, cozy chairs! What an inviting picture this is, not to mention the wisdom of your words!

    I cannot believe the changes and accommodations I have had to accept with taking Poot, the Golden Retriever, into my home. He is all over the place, with lots of hair and spit. I finally just had to laugh, throw my hands up and say, “I’ll vacuum when I can!” Your post speaks volumes to this today.

    Life can change you for the better when you let it.

  10. Mary,this is my favorite post so far! Your home does look warm,cozy and inviting-as if magic happens there. I appreciate and know your feelings about furniture and living with a multitude of animals. I currently have catnip scattered all,over the living room floor. I love the warm glow of the lamps. I never use my overhead lights,just the soft radiance of the lamps.

    • I’m a catnip scatterer too Ann…I love watching the cats roll around and then run off and come back for more…a happy thought

  11. Your living room is supremely cozy and inviting Mary. Simply lovely, and as human who is sadly allergic to cats, I always appreciate the glimpses of home and critter from afar. Good message too!

  12. Thank you Mary for sharing your home with us. It does not look unlike any home in which animals are loved, cared for and allowed to share our furniture with us. A friend in California bought an Australian Shepherd puppy two years ago. The intention, as it was with their last dog, to have it live outside given their weather and the fact that they had a suitable covered run for it. Two years later, the Aussie has managed to train his family that he should be allowed inside, allowed to share their bed and when they are not looking; their toothbrushes. I can’t imagine a life without a family pet. The love from a dog is unconditional as long as it’s fed; a cat seems to be more selective.
    SandyP in Canada

  13. What a warm and cozy room! It looks like the perfect place to curl up with a good book and a warm critter. I loved the show, too, and thought Barbara Eden was so beautiful. The last line of the quote – “Don’t try to be perfect; just be an excellent example of being human.”- is a wonderful philosophy to follow. Thank you for another great post, Mary. (The table in the center of the room looks really neat!)

  14. I loved your post today Mary. I have had the “Don’t cry …” quote on a sticky note on my computer for years … where I see it every day. Your post reminded me to follow the quote … and I needed that reminder today, so thank you. 🙂

  15. Your living room looks so cozy and warm. Love all the pictures of your furry friends. The statement you quoted about only crying over things that can cry over you really hit home with me. Made me stop and think about what is important. Thank you.

  16. Thanks for disclosing this lovely room in your home. Cozy and peaceful. Our little cottage is alot like this. I love your colors.
    That quote is great! Going for it ! My heart hasn’t responded to meds, several complications, so I’m not waiting around. I’m going for it too! In the midst of pre-op work-up and will go for a catheter ablation procedure in Boston. I’m too young to be old! I want this fixed and off my plate so I can live my life. I’ve got so much to do! 🙂
    Cindy

    • You GO, girl! A friend of mine finally had this done and it was like a miracle in how it changed her life and her outlook. She finally started to feel and be well after such a long time of fighting it.

      Good energy and prayers go with you, Cindy!

  17. Hugs back at you Mary. Thanks so much. Suzanne T., great to hear about your friend.So encouraging for me. I’m not wasting away denying and fighting. I’m young and healthy now. So I’m going for it. Need to move on. There’s horseback riding lessons to be had!
    Cindy

Comments are closed.