Gratitude

Antique letter “G” tea cups (with tea-lights inside) that I picked up at the thrift store. My sons’ last name begins with a G, so I couldn’t resist….plus, these thin, old cups are super-cheap and make wonderful soft lighting for holidays.

I bought 4 old tea cups and saucers (thinking that my sons might like them as part of the Christmas-table centerpiece), but I put them on our coffee table a few days ago, and this morning it occurred to me that there could be no better reminder of what tomorrow is: A day dedicated to Gratitude.

…But I don’t want to wait to be grateful for my life. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, or even what may happen in the next hour, so I’m not going to wait to acknowledge the gifts that I have received. I am dedicating this day to letting those people who have helped me to “see the light within” know how much I appreciate them, and I am starting with you. Thank you for being a part of this White Feather Farm blog community. Thank you for your loving energy, that I can feel whether you comment every day or never. I am deeply grateful for your presence.

I’d like to invite you to share anything (and everything!) that you are grateful for here on this blog, and if no one has told you today how special you are, let me be the first.

At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think, with deep gratitude, of those who have lighted the flame within us“. Albert Schweitzer

 

73 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Ahhhh…that inner flame…lit at one time or another by the light of so many others. And my intent is to keep it lit, let it shine, and pass it on and on. I am overflowing with Gratitude to you, Mary and the WFF community who nourish and light each others flames all through the year. May we all keep the porch light on…on this special holiday and always…Much love to all. Happy Thanksgiving! XOXO

    P.S…I just love the “G” teacups and how they spread such a warm glow! Great idea, Mary!

    • Thank you Kathye, and I love the image of all of us our keeping our porch lights on for each other…it makes me feel warm and cozy

  2. And I thank YOU Mary for all you bring to me… and this beautiful world…

    Light, Love, Warmth, Heart, Laughter, Lessons, great reminders, quotes ,photos ,inspiration…

    And much more!

    With a heart full of thanks,

    Lynn

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to all who gather at WFF! I am so grateful every day for so many things, I can’t even count … the good, the not-so-good, and the indifferent; family, friends, and strangers; the sun, the rain, and the night; solitude and togetherness; surprising adventures and comforting familiarity. I get my daily dose of gratitude reminder from your post and from http://www.gratefulness.org. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve “borrowed” your quotes to pass on to others.

    Loving thanks to all here who “spark}” my light ♥♥♥♥

  4. Another example for me today of not taking my time in reading the post or viewing the pictures from a more focused vantage point. I did notice the “bold” G in Mary’s post, but I did not notice the G on the cups and it took me a bit of time to realize that the letter G begins the word Gratitude. It also made me realize how much thought, effort and caring goes into the posts that Mary is kind enough to share with us. The subtleties are there so much of the time. (Maybe they aren’t so subtle. As in life – time to awaken to what we have – not to what we do not have, what we lost, what we wish we had, what we hope to have. I am Grateful for the many gifts of Mary and to all the group for their gifts of caring and giving. My wishes to all for a blessed Thanksgiving.

    • Thank you Mary…I very much appreciate your thoughts about the caring that goes into the blog, …even though it is the day after the official Thanksgiving, I send you blessings of happiness and gratitude and maybe even a little fun thrown in!

  5. this little quote came to mind as i took in your photo this morning and read your blog.

    “ring the bells that still can ring, forget your perfect offering, there is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in”.

    reminds me how grateful i am for the life that i have today. my life is more than ok, it is a divine adventure….now, no matter the circumstances. sometimes i forget that.

    thanks mary, for ‘spreading a banquet’ for us on wwf. i am so grateful to you and the inspiring comments which i read almost daily. may all have a blessed holiday (if you’re a holiday person) or an otherwise ‘ordinary’ kind of day.

  6. I’m grateful for my heart. In July of 2009 I received a heart transplant. A family in Providence, RI lost their beloved 24 yr.old daughter, sister, neice, friend and I am forever grateful for their decision to donate her organs.

    • Becky…indeed you are blessed, but so are others who know you and are influenced by your beautiful story. You represent the circle of life and the power of it’s incredible grace. Blessings to you and your wonderful heart!

    • Becky, what an amazing story. Three years and you must be well past the worry of rejection and all that went on back then. How wonderful for you and also for the family. To give in such a way is incredible. To receive, even more so.
      SandyP in Canada

    • Blessings on your beautiful heart Becky…oh my goodness, what a beautiful story of love. Thank you

  7. Oh Mary! Such a heartfelt and beautiful offering today! Thank you. I am grateful to you, all those who read your inspiring words…for the wonderful animals in my life, for my cherished husband, for each day that brings it’s lessons….both hard and easy, for my beloved Romeo who is in spirit and still with me in my heart, for friends who accept me as I am, for my horse-trainer who has brought so much change and goodness into my life, and for all those who spread the joy of peace and goodness in the world. Happy Thanksgiving to all!

  8. Mary, Blessings to you, your family, and the WFF. I’m so grateful for so many things in my life there isn’t time or space to list them all here. Life is so precious and short- thanks for reminding us to be grateful for every second. Happy Thanksgiving to all!

  9. Dear Mary,

    What a wonderful blog today and I loved the cups with tea lights in them…how cozy and inviting and the message of Gratitude says it all. I am grateful for you and how your blog helps me see the other side of life that I often ignore and dont appreciate.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family.

  10. Everything about today’s message is perfect. I am grateful for the enormity of just being a soul, traveling this precious earth and coming in contact with you, Mary, and all of the WFF flock.

    Whatever your plans for Thanksgiving Day, let your light shine….all of you.

    Blessings and hugs all around.

    • “The now off-line intellectual mind of my left hemisphere no longer inhibited my innate awareness that I was the miraculous power of life. . . . I was simply a being of light radiating life into the world.” My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor — if you haven’t already read this, Suzanne, I think you will find it as astonishing and miraculous as I am finding it.

      • Aahhhhhhh, thank you, Jill! I love a good recommendation! Will order it as soon as I finish replying to you.

  11. I am grateful for my good health and for having peace and love in my life. I’m grateful for your blog Mary. It brings me such joy and comfort and knowledge..
    I wish you and your family a happy and blessed Thanksgiving.

  12. I am grateful for this blog! It has helped me turn my thinking around to the positive aspects of life. I am a teacher and I changed grade levels this year. That is stressful enough, but back in September, my mother started having health issues and I have had to take her to the doctor quite often. This means getting a substitute and preparing for someone else to take my class. That is very stressful and a lot I’d work. Sometimes the subs back out and creates a whole other set of problems. I have been so looking forward to my Thanksgiving break. A time to relax and unwind. On Monday my mother informed me she had a tooth that probably needed a root canal and she had made an appointment on Wednesday to get it fixed and could I take her. t first I got very resentful and started feeling sorry for myself. On my day off I was going to have to take my mom to the dentist instead of spending the day the way I wanted. Then I realized it was a blessing. I was not going to have to get a sub and go through all of that hassle. I started thinking how lucky I was that I had a job that allowed me to take care of someone I love very much. I decided to get up early and do the things I really wanted to get done today then I would have plenty of time to take care of my mother’s needs. This is a woman who has devoted her life to taking care of her children and now I have been given the opportunity to take care of her. What a blessing. I know it was because I read this blog that my thinking was turned around and I am looking forward to my day off with my mom.

    Blessings to you Mary! By the way, my mom’s name is Mary too.

    • Off to my son’s house to start Thanksgiving preparations, but just have to check in and echo the beautiful word of the day, gratitude! for all of you who are kindred spirits and so enrich my life by your comments here, and to our Mary, for sharing so much wisdom with candor and love and an open heart. We love you Mary! Love and blessings to all for a very blessed Thanksgiving!

      • I think my reply got posted after your Vicki, because I also wanted to add that I am picturing you and your Mom today having an extra special day, even if it entails a trip to the dentist. Your story was very touching.

    • VickiV…your reply SO spoke to me today, as I, also, am the only game in town for my mom. There are times that I want to just do what I want to do, but then I realize that I am blessed in still having her here, and fairly independent at that, being 95.

      Your post reminded me how lucky I am. Thank you for touching my heart.

  13. I’m grateful for you and your wonderful insights. Many a day you’ve turned my perspective around (for the better)… thank you.

  14. I am grateful to the kindred spirits I’ve met through this blog who seek the light and to Mary for being the beacon.

  15. As a cancer survivor I am grateful for life. For a wonderful husband and supportive friends. For each new day and everything it brings – good as well as bad. I was once asked “if I was given the power to have never had cancer would I do so” and my answer was no. Because from something bad was born so many blessings and a renewed zest for life and living each day and working toward new dreams. No one’s life is ever exactly as they planned. There are detours, failures, etc. but if we can keep moving forward, keep that attitude of gratitude then the life we do live will be fuller, richer than the one we planned. I am always blessed by your blog and your wonderful insights.

  16. Mary, Before I got out of bed today, I determined to try to be a light to all I come in contact with as I am out and about…and at home. When I read your words of apprecation to us, it hit me how very much we long to hear that we mean something to someone. I hope to make others in my path today feel as loved and warmed as I did when I read your lovely words.

    I wish one and all a wonderful Thanksgiving day, no matter how you spend it . You have all enriched my life.

  17. I am ever grateful for the many ways the Love manifests for me in my daily life. Grateful for being on the path of spirit, of eyes that see such beauty around me. Glad for the crossing of our paths and for this extended community that shines such light. Blessings to all.

  18. I too want to thank Mary for this blog. It must take your time and energy to find just the right words everyday for us to savor and ponder on. That is a true gift to us all. The photo’s of the animals are wonderful, they always look so releaxed and care-free, this warms my heart too. Thank you Mary, and a Happy Thanksgiving to you you.

  19. Thank you for a lovely message, as usual, Mary. I am most thankful for having come to recognize that every moment, every hour, every day, are special and luminous interludes of life if we just remember to “mark them” as so. This awareness has brought so much richness to life and a growing ability to appreciate what others offer. Your messages help so much with this that I often share them with those close to me. Thank you, Mary!

    Best,
    ASM

  20. Thank you, Mary, for your words each day that light the way. . .for your special light and goodness. Each day is such a gift. . .the birds coming and going in my yard, my sweet crazy cat, my beloved children and friends. . . and good giving people like yourself. It’s so easy to become overwhelmed with the voices of fear and anger out there. . . Your daily thoughts and quotes lift my spirit and remind me that love is the way. . .the only way. Bless you and thank you for what you give to us each day. . .Veronica G

  21. Thoughts of Thankful Giving

    by Ray Hackett Jr

    The season has changed; our thoughts have matured and are looking at the end of the year; visions of the New Year just ahead.

    One key to holiday happiness, I have discovered, is the ability to channel the joy that you felt, for all the right reasons when you were a child; keeping alive the truest of spirits throughout the years end.

    Being thankful for the so many things we take for granted while living each new day till the end.

    Thankful we all should be for the things that parallel our lives, which keep us alive.

    Life can be simple.

    Thanks can be a given.

    Simple acts of kindness can yield unbelievable results.

    Joy in life can come from giving thanks.

    Giving thanks can be the reason for glowing during the Thanksgiving Holiday like a candle that’s always lit.

    Let this holiday season be filled with only the warmest of memories that you hold near to your heart. The memories that make holidays what they are.

    See the people in your life that have crossed over still holding your holiday hand. See the love they had for you, combine it with the love that is here on earth and bask in its combined joy.

    Let the term holiday heart be one that you are sporting with pride. Celebrate knowing you are doing your part by the loving choices you have made and watch how it affects others.

    When you hear Happy Thanksgiving, say why yes it is a Happy Thanksgiving – because I made it one.

    Here’s to lighting the candle that lives in your holiday heart. Here’s to the one extra blast of whipped cream that decorates your pie. Here’s to a meaningful, thankful time of year to remember we are blessed.

    Happy, Healthy, Thankful Thanksgiving dressed with love.

  22. I love the message, Mary and Albert Schweitzer is now on my printer beside my computer to remind me of those people in my life who have ‘sparked’ me. I also feel that we need to be open for these things to happen, too. Sparks need to be ignited at both ends.
    SandyP in Canada

  23. Thank you Mary for giving us the opportunity to put in writing our gratitude. Writing it down always clarifies it and confirms it. I am grateful for my health, my job, my friends and the many many learning opportunities I get every single day from every person I encounter. Happy Holidays to all.

  24. And I am thankful for you Mary. I’ve been reading your blog for about 6 mos and have passed on the address to many. We are all benefiting. I belong to an email gratitude list that I get to add to and read every day. What a blessing. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow and every day. 🙂

  25. I love the glow from your teacups, Mary. What a clever idea! I’ve enjoyed reading everyone’s comments and am grateful for the wonderful community you’ve nurtured here. Happy Thanksgiving to all!

  26. Mary, I am so very grateful for your blog, it continues to inform my life and open my mind and heart. I am grateful for the followers here, such thoughtful souls all. Blessings of the season everyone!

  27. Mary, I might be the last one to comment this evening but not the last on my list for being grateful for your words and sweet pictures you send to us. I am going to get out my old tea cups and copy your centerpiece idea. Have a wonderful day with your family tomorrow and also to this amazing flock.
    Becky, you are indeed an inspiration to me with your new heart. I just had my heart analyzed and the results were “satisfactory”. I asked my nephew, who is a nurse, what “satisfactory” meant and he said it was a measurement but it did not read the sweet, sensitive heart that I have. I melted in his kind explanation.

  28. Grateful for each day God gives me, and so grateful for such a wonderful husband who makes me feel loved each day!

  29. Mary thank you for this post. You bring so much joy and light to my day. It is late in the evening and I had a very rough day. I read this post and realized I needed to change my thinking. I know you say it almost everyday but today I needed to hear it in just the way you wrote it.

  30. I’m thankful for :
    traffic, rude crowds, and rain,
    the opportunity to pick up
    my dog’s poop again.

    The clamor and scree
    That inhabits TV
    And reminds me
    To breathe ‘even then’.

    For mammograms that
    squish me like dough,
    Farm trucks and seniors
    That make me go slow.

    And husbands that behave
    like a royal jerk,
    Bureaucrats clothed in
    nothing but a smirk.

    Don’t forget tax forms,
    inattention and fog.
    Small minds endlessly
    knee deep in a bog.

    I pause to remember
    the joy all this brings.
    How else could I feel
    the blessings of all things?

    I now take my tongue firmly out of my cheek to pay homage to you, Mary, and all that visit this continually THANKFUL place. May you all be well, happy and free of strife. Namaste.

  31. I’m grateful for cats. And books.
    I’m thankful for Jon Katz for leading me to your blog.
    I’m thankful for everything in my life.

  32. I’m grateful for being a member of the flock. Being part of a flock means to me that everyone is respectfully welcome and no individual is required to take responsibility for making life into anything other than what it actually is in the moment. At least, this has been my experience as a part of this flock.

    I’m grateful for Mary’s vision, dedication and leadership. I’m grateful to everyone for sharing their stories, insights, knowledge and friendship. I’m grateful to myself for generating the trust to risk sharing feelings and insights with others and I’m grateful for a universe that somehow manages to guide to find each other.

  33. “wonderful soft lighting for holidays”…just LOVE your light cups…

    dear Mary you sure know how to bring light and love to all every day… I’m grateful for this precious day of gratitude .. a quiet day, with two eighty-something dads…a sunny afternoon stroll with my husband and Happy Thanksgiving greetings from our NYC son…merci, merci, merci….

    … peace, love and light to all the WFF flock…

  34. I am of course grateful for family, friends, good health, steady employment…but this year I am particularly grateful that I could give an abandoned homeless dog a safe place to rest his head and the promise he is home now.

    • Bless your heart, Deb, there is no better feeling. You have a special place in heaven and the love of a creature that had nothing. Win-win.

  35. Happy Thanksgiving Mary and to your man and your four footed pack. Also to all who share here. I am so grateful for my life, my second chance for a true life second to none twenty-three years ago. I am so grateful I have learned how to turn fear into faith. 🙂

Comments are closed.