Keeping an eye on old patterns…which way is it going?

“Jackson” (my son Tom and his fiance Lindsay’s dog) resting his head on Lindsay’s feet… but keeping an eye on things.

I didn’t post this morning, because as we were getting ready for the day, Jack noticed a large leak under the kitchen sink. As we investigated further, it was clear that the pipes needed to be replaced, so we spent the morning going back and forth to the hardware store, watching “How to repair your own kitchen-sink plumbing” videos on YouTube, and in the end, calling our plumber to fix it correctly.

In the past, we’ve had an oddly disturbing pattern of plumbing problems during the holidays. The first time we noticed it was during our second Christmas Eve together. The entire family was coming over, and our septic system stopped working (right before everyone was set to arrive). This was followed by water-heaters breaking, and various and sundry other minor (and not so minor) plumbing glitches, all occurring right before “the event”.

So this morning, what we noticed (that was different) was our issue didn’t happen during or before the days that Tom and Lindsay were here, or before the pre-thanksgiving dinners. Someone might think, “So what? You still have a problem.” But when there is a negative pattern (an issue or problem that keeps repeating itself) I am always aware of whether it is getting better or worse. If it is getting worse, I need to pay attention to my thinking right on the spot, change it, and keep it changed. If it’s getting better, (even if not completely gone) I know that it is on its way out, and that I’ve changed my thinking enough that I’m starting to see the results.

“I do not fix problems. I fix my thinking. Then problems fix themselves.” Louise Hay

10 thoughts on “Keeping an eye on old patterns…which way is it going?

  1. Love the sweet, sweet dog photo. We always had goldens that looked like your sons dog.

    Sorry to hear you had plumbing problems…..but liked your blog about fixing our thinking and the problems fix themselves. Very true!

  2. Murphy’s Law does battle with your thoughtful sense about timing and tragic events that we allgo thru. I always try to notice right away that the rain waited for me to get into my car. Or for a soccer match to end. It does happen with pipes and clouds. Mark

    • Yes, Mark,
      When I get a flat tire in my driveway, or the power goes off after dinner is cooked etc.

      Mary, I love the picture of your son’s dog, He’s precious. And good luck with the plumbing! You were right to call a plumber. We have on occasion been charged extra by professionals who had to undo work we had done and thought was going to repair a problem but made it worse!!!!

      Love from Fran

  3. That’s so interesting, because in (my version of) dream interpretation, which I dabble in, plumbing and pipes would refer to channelling emotions, abundance of emotion, and letting go of baggage. All of which might find a place at a stressful holiday family gathering. So it would be a big improvement!

  4. I, too, have noticed that where I get stuck is right where my thinking is stuck. Recently I was given the opportunity to change my thinking and found myself resisting! That surprised me. Now that I’m aware of it, I’m going to pursue that opportunity again to consciously change my thinking pattern. I can’t wait to see what happens! Thanks, Mary. Sending Love & Blessings.

  5. I’ve noticed many a time how people begin a response to a question with “The only problem is. . “, prefacing their whole train of thought, first and foremost, on a problem, imagined or perceived. What a way to look at things! I try not to use the word problem at all, substituting ‘challenge’ instead, because a challenge can always inspire us to rise to the occasion. Sometimes I even say a quiet thank you when I breeze through a green light – thankfulness for openness and a clear path. Aleksandra, that’s a very interesting comment on plumbing, pipes and emotions. Thank you!

  6. Dear Mary. Thank you for your poignant reminder about watching our thoughts. Your plumbing mishap, along with your awareness of thoughts relating to it is a wonderful example of paying attention to how we see things and changing that first! Thank you.

  7. There is one rule of thumb if you live on a septic tank and that is: it is sure to back up just before you have family in for Christmas. It may go for years ignoring you entirely and causing no trouble at all…but when it erupts, it’s like Mt. Vesuvius in miniature. When my children were young, the two of them played in the toilet in my daughter’s bathroom, stuffing toilet paper down the hole and even her baby boots one time…that was with a sitter who never came back after that one time…but up it came on the floor, in the bathtub, you name it….and try to get a septic tank person out to pump the tank out on Christmas Eve……on Boxing day they took pity on us and came. Good thing your pipes and plumbing broke down now, Mary…and it’s nice to know you have very normal problems like the rest of us.
    SandyP in Canada

  8. Thank you for presenting an alternative to whining about problems. :o) You are an inspiration, Mary!!!

  9. Mary, I love the image of you and Jack taking time to work out what to do together (including referring to YouTube, great idea!) and peacefully coming up with a plan for getting the pipes fixed. Broken plumbing is tough enough to cope with, but when issues like that bring up tension between people it becomes pretty easy for communication to degenerate into edgy battles that bring in everything but the kitchen sink (pun totally intended) making it so much worse. Way to go you two!!

Comments are closed.