Loving the vision

a centerpiece that I put together this past Sunday, with some odds and ends from Jack’s store (and a nest below). I didn’t notice until this morning that it reminded me of a hot-air balloon

A few days before Thanksgiving, I was out on a run and suddenly had a vision that I was up in a hot-air balloon, throwing gifts down on the houses of people as I floated by. It was a beautiful vision and I felt happy while I was imagining the scenario. For several days after, I had the feeling that I would see an image of a magical hot-air balloon somewhere (either on a poster or I’d receive an email or card with a picture of one). I’ve come to expect that when I hold a positive vision, confirmation, from this Great Mysterious Spirit of the Universe, will be following. But nothing seemed to appear.

On Thanksgiving morning, I went out for a short run and just as I was heading out the door, something in the sky caught my eye. It was a hot-air balloon, floating up over the mountains behind our house. It floated up in the sky as I watched in awe, until I needed to turn around and head back home and then, almost on command, it slowly began to descend until it was out of sight.

Dream lofty dreams, and as you dream, so shall you become. Your Vision is the promise of what you shall one day be. Your Ideal is the prophecy of what you shall at last unveil.” James Allen

p.s. I am having such a good time reading the comments from yesterday’s post…thank you to everyone who played along and if you haven’t yet (or if you want to again) please do!

11 thoughts on “Loving the vision

  1. I love the vision of the hot air balloon, Mary. One of my great memories is of a balloon ride over Albuequerque a few years ago, a wish on my bucket list that was fulfilled.
    Thank you for your daily delights. I look forward to them and you always give me something to ponder.

  2. I love hot air balloons! In 2011 when our Omaha house was on the market, I was preparing for a showing and noticed a lot of activity going on in the empty field behind our house. A group was setting up for hot air balloon rides for the evening! It was so random, this had never happened before. They were all set up and ready to go just as we left to give the prospective buyers privacy for their viewing of our home. I remember thinking, is the universe conspiring to help with the sale of our home? It was so cool! As it turned out, it was the oatmeal raisin cookies that I baked fresh on a lovely fall day that sold our home a couple months after the balloon rides…I’m pretty sure!

  3. Dear Mary. I love the symbol of hot air balloons…..floating through a blue sky, representing magic and mystery…dreams and hopes. Thanks for such an uplifting (pun intended!) post this morning. And…your center piece is perfect!

  4. Boy, is this a hard one to put out there, Mary, and to be honest I didn’t comment yesterday because I was afraid to. So here goes…In my wildest dreams I would love to make good living as a songwriter and musician as well as selling my art! I would love to wake up everyday in the spirit of creating beauty out of thin air – and have the time to do it. It is my form of worship.

  5. Everything about this is just so beautiful and affirming…from your vision of floating through the air bestowing gifts on the world below (which you do everyday Mary, from your virtual/cyber hot air balloon!), to your run and seeing the hot air balloon soaring along with you, to your sparkly centerpiece that really does look like a hot air balloon! Yes…the circle is complete!

  6. Mary, what a beautiful post. I really, really needed this one. All my dreams are so close I can almost touch them, I just have to be patient a little while longer. Lynne, I hope you follow your heart.

  7. My big time wish is to be a dog trainer to help at risk kids and/or vets with PTSD. I know dogs can help heal!

  8. Dear Mary,
    I have an early morning ritual to check in to your blog. Here on the west coast, it’s my quiet and reflective time and I really enjoy and am inspired by your challenges and ideas. I wish for that connection to continue. Thank you. Linda

Comments are closed.