Time-less beauty

Buttercup (not taking her eyes off her human)

As I was leaving the post office in Manchester VT yesterday, I noticed the sweetest little face looking at me from the passenger seat of a car parked in the lot.  This little dog (dressed in a holiday sweater and snuggled up in a soft dog bed) was sitting in such an alert posture (obviously waiting for its human) that I decided to wait too. After a couple of minutes, an elderly woman came out of the post office, and slowly made her way closer. She had a kind smile, and a serenity about her that welcomed interaction. She wasn’t in a hurry.

She told me that “Buttercup” was a rescue dog from Tennessee, and how this little dog had been such a blessing to her. We talked for about 5 minutes and as people passed us, most seemed to know her….all smiled. This woman had time, and she was spending it well.

Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going fast–you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.” Eddie Cantor

The winner of the skin balm is Lisa W.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Time-less beauty

  1. Thanks for the reminder, Mary, I was just thinking I need to keep my head in the day and the now. Not easy this time of year with all the hustle and bustle. Congratulations Lisa W on winning the balm….enjoy!!!!

  2. Love the quote, Mary. Last Friday I took my 6-yr-old grandson to the pottery where I take classes. We spent a few hours just creating and talking. It was time well spent. Children, like your elderly friend, can help remind us to be present in the present.

  3. It is one of the truisms of life I think. I took the time to slow down in my own post office yestereday, where every day seems to be getting more frantic. I had a kind exchange with a young mother there with her child. Thanks Mary for this reminder.

  4. Dear Mary. What a wonderful and sweet encouragement to slow down and just enjoy each moment of life. Little Miss Buttercup’s look of mellow acceptance is a beautiful example of drinking in every experience with love and peace. And thanks for the great quote. I always feel so much better, especially during this time of year…when I just take a deep breath and remember that there is no need to rush.

  5. “This woman had time, and she was spending it well.” I aspire to that…your post could be the first scene of a wonderful Christmas movie…it is so filled with lessons. I love that you waited for her…you had time and spent it well too! I love the connection over Buttercup. xoxoxo

  6. Mary – This is such an excellent quote; thank you for the reminder to enjoy experiences as they present themselves. Your blog makes such a difference in my life, making me think about so many things. Last week, prompted by something I read here, I made a point of letting a local business owner know how much his customer service is appreciated. It very unexpectedly resulted in solving a “problem” in another family member’s life. Amazing how these things work!!

  7. Mary, I think of how often I speak to quilt guilds and hear women get up and list off how many quilts they’ve made in a year and I keep thinking…what’s the rush? Enjoy the process. I’m not likely to change anyone’s thinking on it and those that enjoy the process don’t need to be reminded. I especially enjoyed reading that an older woman has a dog. I think animals are a great way of helping us slow down and enjoy the moment more.
    SandyP in Canada

  8. I had a quiet exchange with another human yesterday, in a brief moment of time, maybe 45 seconds? I was in a store browsing at Christmas decorations, when I turned down the aisle and a nicely dressed man held up a small red card with a Santa pin on it, with the message, “One moment please – I am a deaf person selling these buttons to support my family and myself until I find a job. Donate what you can. Thank you.” and on the card was also the sign for “I love you”. He did not speak, but I looked into his calm eyes and face and just felt touched at the courage it must take to approach strangers, voiceless, but for a small sign and a Santa pin. I gave him some money and he signed ‘thank you’. Such a small moment in time, but I keep thinking about him.

  9. Oh, forgot to add, the man gave me the card with the Santa pin – on the back the American Manual Alphabet, all 26 letters with hand signals was printed. That little Santa will sit on my desk this Christmas season. Better yet, I’ll give it to my nine year old grandson this weekend! Mary, I loved this story of Buttercup! “She had time and was spending it well’. That line will stay with me also.

  10. Hi Mary, What a great message esp. for this time of year. I’m a “slowsky” through and through, but I feel “be patient…” in your message. This I will work on. All this preparation for my heart procedure is trying my patience. I want a date so I can plan my life and every day I”m reminded I’m not in control here.
    This is such a sweet dog story. I always love when I see an elderly person with their dog companions. I too usually stop to chat with them. They touch my heart. Thank-you for this post.
    Cindy

  11. This post has everything, Mary….a neat story, a good quote and a doggie picture! I’m sold on all three!

  12. Oh, how I love this post!! I always stop to admire dogs in cars. It brings me pure bliss. So I can just imagine how this made your day– and then to hear the story behind Buttercup was just icing on the cake. So sweet!!

  13. Congratulations Lisa W. on your win ! Mary’s skin balm is a *miracle* healing in a tin,, from the outside to the inside ! The post and picture of Buttercup is sweet- I think both are so fortunate to have each other- love shared- it shows in Buttercup’s eyes ! !

  14. Great message but what hit me more was that the dog pictured could be a twin of my dog growing up. Really made me smile to see what looked like my Princess;)

Comments are closed.