Holiness

Fred

Fred

Several days ago, I was watching a documentary about a “Holy woman” who travels around the world giving hugs to the thousands of people who come to sit in her presence, but when one of her devotees said that this woman “wasn’t like the rest of us”, I just knew that this was not true. I’m not doubting the claims that others feel calmed and blessed by her, or even that her presence has dramatically changed many lives for the better, but no person is “holier” than another. No one should be worshiped or elevated to super-human status (or dismissed as unenlightened or unconscious).

The externals: titles, education, styles of worship, religious heirachy, and choice of religion (or not), have no bearing at all on who we really are. Some people are more “awakened” to their true nature (and thus become great blessings to the world) but we are all points of Divine consciousness, in the process of remembering who we are, and as this process unfolds within each one of us, we realize the equality of all.

And as Peter was coming in, Cornelius met him, and fell down at his feet, and worshipped him. But Peter took him up, saying, “Stand up: I myself also am a man.” Acts 10:26

16 thoughts on “Holiness

  1. I totally agree with you Mary. We all have the ability in us but it’s up to us to find our divine being.
    Fred looks so adorable in this photo!

  2. Thanks for your wonderful post (and photo of Fred). What you said made me think of the quote from Pierre Tielhard de Chardin, “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience.” He isn’t referring to some of us, but rather to all of us. It’s humbling to remember that, and even Peter was still on his spiritual journey when Cornelius worshipped him.

  3. Thank you, Mary. The Divine is within each of us. When we elevate people and put them on pedestals, they have to fall off because they are human like the rest of us.

  4. Dear Mary. Thank you for this tender reminder (and Fred’s precious presence chiming in as well) that each and every being is an expression of life…and therefore an expression of the divine. I am always flooded with such peace and hope when I remember this very simple yet profound truth.

  5. I agree with Kathleen’s comment…Having been to a place in MA where just such a person existed as the head of an ashram type of place, with yoga and so on studied as courses, there was my discomfort of the worship that was centred on this one man. I believe we have guides in our lives but we all have the capacity for leading and being more spiritual in how we are.
    SandyP in Canada

  6. I love the concept that everyone is holy…that everyone should be worshipped …for everyone does have something profound to offer it just may not always be immediately obvious. Anyone from whom we learn a lesson, be it a homeless person, a cranky neighbor, a precocious child, becomes a teacher…we ARE all points of Divine consciousness. Thanks Mary for reminding me that it’s not enough to remember who I AM…it is equally important to recognize the Holiness in others…if I AM truly awakened.

  7. We are assured that we were made in the image of God. Therefore there is that kernel of holiness within each one of us waiting to prosper in the Light, from the moment of our birth. And I don’t believe it’s ever to late to help someone discover that kernel of God deep within. One of the Ten commandments reminds us not to bow down before any other God or graven image, but false idols abound. May we see with discerning eyes and recognize the holy in each other. Thank you Mary!

  8. Well, I can see both sides. I personally don’t believe in the guru system because there is such a potential for abuse as we have all read about, where one person is almost worshiped, and the followers give away their power and discursive thinking. But at the same time, although we all have the divine spark in us, it doesn’t manifest in each of us equally. In some, such as a serial killer, the divine is not easily seen. In others, such as Byron Katie, the divine shines through every cell of her body.

  9. I’m always pleased to find someone who is clear about their purpose and passion as they serve their spirit. It is a good thing to have role models and mentors and inspiration. But what we are seeing in those people is a reflection of our potential. I don’t always see it in myself , but am eager to see it in someone else. A little back door glimpse at my own grace, I suppose.

  10. Fred,
    in bed,
    lies atop his head.
    His fur soft red,
    no cares or dread,
    clearly well fed.
    With all that said,
    no woes to shed,
    he purrs instead.
    Sweet Fred.

    May my next life be a cat……

  11. “The divine in me, honors the divine in you. ” A quote I have heard in yoga class. Thank you Mary and Fred is precious!

  12. Terri Brown, I agree. Fred is precious. And I really like the expression ‘The divine in me, honors the divine in you” A yoga class I attended ended with this expression. We used the Indian translation which sounds like “Jabawan.” I don’t know the correct spelling. It was nice to hear it today. Thank you.

  13. In Buddhism, it’s taught that we all have the potential for awakened mind; but some special folks have dropped more of the obscurations of it, and they can teach the rest of us or just shine as an example of what it looks like. I think this teacher is someone who has uncovered more of her fully open and awake nature than most, so she appears “special” to those who spend time with her. With traveling the world and hugging people, she expresses that nature and lives as an example of what we all can manifest. It is useful to spend time with someone like that as an inspiring and energizing influence, because it does take focus and effort to unmask the true light of our nature.

Comments are closed.