Easy…does it!

Our tree

The angel wings have found a home on our tree

The other day, I decided to switch back to my old style of running shoe. The minimalist shoes were just too cold for winter running. It’s been almost 2 years since I made the change, and I couldn’t even remember what brand of shoe I wore (but I used to save my last pair so I asked Jack if he had seen them, and he said that we had thrown them all away).

The next day, I was shopping at my favorite thrift store and picked up a pair of slippers that I thought someone might like. As I was checking out, the woman behind the desk said, “Shoes are, buy one pair get one free ($2 total cost). Why don’t you see if you can find another pair?” I had already looked at the shoes, but figured I may as well look for another gift-pair, and as I scanned them again, there sat an almost brand new pair of Asics Gel Nimbus in my size….that I had over-looked earlier.

What I really believe is that the Universe is throwing Itself at our feet saying, “Here you go, take this wonderful thing, idea, relationship, or opportunity” and we often (and unconsciously) say back to it, “No thank you. I haven’t worked hard enough for that. I haven’t earned it. I’m not one of the lucky ones. I don’t deserve it. There are people who need it more than I do.” So even though the whole world is ours, we settle for what we think is “fair”, our portion, logical or reasonable, which generally amounts to what we have gotten, achieved or received in the past.

But we can change our thinking and “claim” a different, easier, more harmonious life. One thing that I say on a regular basis is: “Everything that I need is provided. I always find the best stuff, and Life is so easy for me. I have so much to give!”

Man surrounds himself with the true image of himself. Every spirit builds itself a house and beyond its house a world, and beyond its world a heaven. Know then that the world exists for you. What we are, that only can we see. All that Adam had, all that Caesar could, you have and can do. Adam called his house, heaven, and earth. Caesar called his house, Rome; you perhaps call yours a cobbler’s trade; a hundred acres of land, or a scholar’s garret. Yet line for line, and point for point, your dominion is as great as theirs, though without fine name. Build therefore your own world. As fast as you conform your life to the pure idea in your mind, that will unfold its great proportion.” Emerson (quote taken from the book, The Power of Awareness by Neville Goddard, page 102)

28 thoughts on “Easy…does it!

  1. Oh my, how I can relate to this post! Isn’t it wonderful that those sneakers were just waiting for you? Your tree looks so beautiful – the wings have found the perfect home.

  2. Very lovely tree ~ I love white lights. And your words are lovely as well and just what is needed. Thanks Mary

  3. Lovely tree! Lovely post! Your angel wings and words made me think of the wonderful chorus of the the Christmas song, Believe, from The Polar Express…it is one of my favorite choruses…words, feelings, melody…

    BELIEVE IN WHAT YOUR HEART IS SAYING,
    HEAR THE MELODY THAT’S PLAYING,
    THERE’S NO TIME TO WASTE,
    THERE’S SO MUCH TO CELEBRATE.
    BELIEVE IN WHAT YOU FEEL INSIDE,
    AND GIVE YOUR DREAMS THE WINGS TO FLY…
    YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED, IF YOU JUST BELIEVE…

  4. “ask and you shall receive” …….I’m learning to ask for what I need, and amazingly the universe delivers. LOVE thrift stores, once I was looking for an older Revereware pot, that I lost in a move, and there it was, in better shape and $5. YES, I did smile and silently said “thank you” ! BEAUTIFUL tree Mary and Jack, enjoy! I remember walking on the beach with you and finding “angel feathers” !!!!XXO

  5. I love this Mary- and I love thrift shops- I have gotten so many great things, like a dishwasher for $60!! Finding most of my clothes now in thrift shops!

  6. Dear Mary. Thank you for this beautiful post! I love the quote, your angelic tree and of course those sneakers just waiting for you to discover them. Your daily reminders, messages and wisdom light up my world and give each day of my life a lift. Thank you for being you.

  7. Yesterday as I searched the aisles of the grocery store for a few last minute party platters (to no avail) I decided to hit the Salvation Army Thrift Store where in the past I have found many great “gently used” serving platters and bowls. Mary, I thought of you and your many great finds as I went up and down the glassware aisle picking up several nice pieces for our gathering last night. A trip through the dishwasher and they were all sparkling!
    Your tree is so beautiful ~ enjoy and have a wonderful weekend xoxo

  8. Your tree is perfect. I can smell the wonderful scent from here and I love that you placed the angel wings on it!

    It takes a bit of work to truly accept what the Universe is handing to us. So many of us are wrapped up in the “I’m not good enough for that” mentality, and so we cut off the supply before it even reaches us. Find the root cause of why you do that, and the work to change it becomes a bit easier.

    Thanks, Mary, for showing us the way.

  9. So much of what you said in your post today rang true with me as well. Your tree is beautiful and I loved your words to encourage each and every one of us to acknowledge our own unique worth in the world. Words really do matter and your words today certainly did have angel wings! Thank you.

  10. There’s a dialog in the Color Purple that I love where Shug tells Celie that she thinks all God wants is to be loved, and that God keeps putting things in front of us to delight us and when we ignore them God just tries harder.

  11. Mary, your tree, and your posts this week are like early Christmas presents, wrapped in your love and desire that we all find the happiness God so richly desires for us to feel, have and enjoy! Yesterday my son shared a very happy ending to what may have been a sad one. He opened his front door to find an older Black Lab just resting on his porch. The dog immediately lifted his paw, and then lifted up his torso to put both paws around my son’s legs! Such a sweet dog, but whose? The dog did have tags, but the address was in Avondale, 20 miles away! How could “Quinn”, (his name) traveled such a distance and appear to be in fine shape, not even hungry or thirsty when offered food and drink? My son and his girlfriend called the number on his tag but only got voicemail. They proceeded to make Quinn comfortable in their back yard with a dog bed and water (their own two dogs going crazy wanting to go out and meet Quinn), but to be on the safe side, they kept their dogs inside. Within two hours, a lady called, Quinn’s owner – she had just moved from Avondale and lived only six houses down from my son, Rafa’s house. She knew there was trouble with the latch on her gate to the backyard, but Quinn had never yet escaped. I just feel like an angel was watching over Quinn, bringing him to the ‘right’ front door. They walked him back home, secured the gate by placing a heavy cement block in front of it, and left some Christmas cookies for the lady at her front door. She called later to tell them they were her Christmas Angels! – My Christmas wish is for everyone here to be visited by an angel this week. Love, Susan

    • Susan, it’s obvious that the apple (your son) hasn’t fallen far from the tree (you). He has his heart SO in the right place, and I’ll bet he got that from his mom!

      Nice job! Wonderful story!

  12. I had a psychic reading once, and the lady said, “the universe wants to shower you with blessings, but it can’t if you stay under an umbrella.”

  13. Merry Christmas to you! One last little reminder by the store clerk led you to exactly what you needed! May we all be reminded of the offerings of the universe this season. Love to all.

  14. I love thrift stores too Mary and I’m so happy you found just what you needed at just the right time. Thank you Susan for the great story regarding your thoughtful son and Quinn who apparently knew which door to knock on. Have a peaceful, gentle Christmas flock.

  15. The tune is already in your head….

    Hark, the herald angel wings
    This tree smells of all great things.
    Peace on earth, oh what good news
    Lots of love in those used shoes!
    Joyful all our voices rise
    ‘Specially in the perfect size
    Gather all our hearts so warm
    All are blessed on Mary’s farm.

    Everyday is a gift for me here on this blog. Wishing each and every one of you that share this circle of grace a wishful, wonderful season of glad tidings.
    Namaste.

  16. Mary, your tree is lovely and if I had the room inside for a tree, I would hope for one just as yours. Because I’m limited for space with guests using our living room for our B&B, we’ve cut an evergreen these past many years and placed it just outside our familyroom door on the porch which L-shapes with the dining room. We put white lights on it and enjoy the tree from inside from November to April each evening until midnight and then it comes down the middle of April with spring cleanup. I do miss the evergreen scent but for that, I walk back into my softwood forest and sniff the pine bark. I’m also amazed at the gift of your running shoes.
    SandyP in Canada

  17. Hi Mary, What an uplifting story! So nice for the Holidays. God works in mysterious ways. My dominion is a small older vacation cottage in the woods. It’s as cute and cozy as a bug in a rug. The woodstove is going as I write this. Your tree is spectacular! It doesn’t get much better than this! 🙂
    Cindy

  18. Mary – is it your creativity or that of Word Press…..how did the snowflakes just happen to appear? They look so lovely passing over your beautiful Christmas tree. Really sets the tone for the photo and the comments.

    • Mary Solomon! Thank you for commenting on the snowflakes! that are so sweetly and slowly drifting down as I read the posts tonight! At first I thought I was losing it! 🙂 but I think now, our Mary Muncil has a wee bit of Elf! in her! and we are all the more blessed! Thanks for the magic, Mary!

    • thanks Mary! WordPress offered snowflakes to be added to the blog for the next few weeks, and I said yes!

  19. And to think I thought my computer was ready to crash or something! These “snowflakes” were on another blog also. Thanks for the enlightenment! I am so concrete.
    Merry Christmas, Cindy

Comments are closed.