What am I embracing today?!

Holly and her 2 little service dogs

an unexpected gift to see

Yesterday (being the last day of the Mayan Calendar and all!) I invited you (and myself) to let go of something that was no longer serving us. During the day, I  kept repeating, let go, and I found that it made me more mindful and relaxed. As I was walking down the aisle of the IGA later in the afternoon, I was stopped in my tracks by a delightful sight: a shopping cart with 2 little faces looking up at me from a carrier. Their owner told me that they were service dogs in training, and that she takes them primarily into VA hospitals and nursing homes.

They were such a wonderful trio of warmth and love that I felt I’d been given an early gift. As I was saying goodbye, I asked the woman her name and she said, with a smile, “My name is Holly”.

Today I invite you to embrace something that you would like to experience more of. As I write this, the word “Listen” keeps coming into my mind….listen to my world; the wind, the purrs, the barks, the chimes, the furnace humming away, the music, my breath, the cars driving past, the voices of the people who will soon fill the air.

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if you will never see them again. Extend to them all the care, kindness and understanding  you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again”. Og Mandino

 

19 thoughts on “What am I embracing today?!

  1. A lovely post for a beautiful morning with snow (finally) falling gently outside my window. The word love is the first to come to mind, but I like your idea of listen as well. Thanks Mary

  2. Mary, what a cute little pair of fuzzy faces to greet you and Holly’s face is pretty sweet too! I do want to listen, let go and love. Three L words that seem like the best gift to to ourselves and the others who share our lives. Thank you and Merry Christmas to you, Mary and all who gather here.

    • Oh I love that Terri, ( I hadn’t made the “L” connection!) Thank you and a very Merry Christmas to you too

  3. Such a sweet post! Holly and her puppies! Thanks for sharing your supermarket ‘gift’. Yesterday afternoon, during a brief hour after the wind and rain stopped, I went outside to begin to pick up all the branches and sticks in our yard from the storm…about an hour into it, the wind picked up again and the rain started. I pulled my hood over my head and when I did, above all of Mother Nature’s sounds swirling around me, I heard something and pulled my hood back off to listen. I was hearing church bells! We have a church less than a mile away but I have never heard it’s bells in our yard before. The wind carried their wonderful sound to me standing in the pouring rain. I was conscous of how surreal that moment was…that I could hear those bells above such a howling wind…and it seemed like they were within it. So I will be listening for church bells…silver bells…and it’s snowing here in Vermont this morning too! We begin our holiday trip tomorrow so I am sending pure love, peace, hope and the Merriest Christmas to all of White Feather Farm!

    • Kathye, I feel like I am enjoying vicariously those beautiful bells in your wintry Vermont! I have to settle for the snowflakes gently drifting across my computer screen living in Arizona, but I have to say Mary, I’m sure I’m not alone in feeling a real calm from something as seemingly small as these sweet flakes – it was your thoughtfulness in giving them to us too, and we surely appreciate it! Silver bells, snowflakes, and friendship on the Farm – Merry Christmas one and all!

  4. P.S. CHERYL B you outdid yourself! What a wonderful ‘jingle’ on yesterday’s post to remind us to ‘let it go’! It was fun making a ‘request’ to you! Thank you so much for your creativity, your talent, and your sharing! Much love coming your way!

    • Thanks for the request/suggestion. I love to tickle the gray matter for word play. It’s less structured than crossword puzzles (which I’m told helps keep the neuron pathways from freezing over).
      It’s a more focused way to keep the ‘monkey mind’ busy. ^-^
      Love and light back to you all.

  5. Mary, how is it that the young woman’s name would be “Holly” and that you would meet she and her little dogs so serendipitously, yesterday. Such sweet dogs and Holly’s face radiates health and wellbeing. It’s that one moment in time that lights up our world and our lives, isn’t it when it happens to us. Overnight here in southern Ontario, Canada, I have been listening to the wind howling through the pine trees and I know winter is here. We live high on the Niagara Escarpment and it sounds like a freight train coming through at times. And a moment’s vignette from my life this morning: my husband walking just now into my studio asking: “what’s with the almond milk?”. His instructions had been in the past two weeks to help finish up the two large containers of almond milk (left over from feeding a lactose intolerant B&B guest and myself)…was he allowed, he asked, to drink ‘real’ milk now or did he have to keep drinking almond milk? Why am I smiling. Normally, he can’t find anything in the refrigerator even when it’s sitting right in front of him and now restrictions on what he puts on his morning cereal…it was almost too much for him this morning.
    SandyP in Canada

  6. Merry Christmas, Mary! Thank you for sharing your wisdom, your blog always make me smile. Happy, healthy, wonderful 2013 to you, Jack and your family! Peace and love

  7. Mary, the juxtaposition of yesterday’s post (“letting go”) and today’s (“listen”) reminds me of that wonderful quote of Havelock Ellis:

    “All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.”

    And for those of us working on the “letting go”:

    “Although we have been made to believe that if we let go we will end up with nothing, life reveals just the opposite: that letting go is the real path to freedom.” — Sogyal Rinpoche

    And for those of us working on the “listening”:

    “My experience is what I agree to attend to.” — William James

  8. Letting go and listening more…perfect way to continue into the New Year.
    Love your writings Mary, thank you for inspiring all of us!
    Merry Christmas Mary….

  9. Love this pic of the Pomeranians in the sac with the snow falling down around them all…thanks for sharing!
    What a great post…listen…that means so many things because you can’t be rushing around, multi-tasking, music blaring if you are trying to listen. It tells me it’s time to turn off the noise, eliminate the distractions, slow down and be still so I can listen…what a gift!
    xoxox
    Marian

  10. I loved this post Mary. Smiling! Those cute pups would have stopped me in my tracks also. Happy Holidays to you and your man and all your sweet pets! 🙂

Comments are closed.