Wishing you all a heavenly day

Welcome friends: Our kitchen door

Welcome friends: Our kitchen door

I read this story last night and wanted to share it with you.  Even though I believe that heaven and hell are simply states of mind that we live in now, brought on by our thoughts (not places that we will go after we are no longer in physical form), I still loved this story.

A man spoke with the Lord about heaven and hell. The Lord said to the man, “Come, I will show you hell.” They entered a room where a group of people sat around a huge pot of stew. Everyone was famished, desperate and starving.

Each held a spoon that reached the pot, but each spoon had a handle so much longer than their own arm that it could not be used to get the stew into their own mouths. The suffering was terrible.

“Come, now I will show you heaven,” the Lord said after a while.

They entered another room, identical to the first – the pot of stew, the group of people, the same long-handled spoons. But there everyone was happy and well-nourished. “I don’t understand,” said the man. “Why are they happy here when they were miserable in the other room and everything was the same?”

The Lord smiled. “Ah, it is simple,” he said. “Here they have learned to feed each other.” by Ann Landers

“The kingdom of Heaven is a condition of the heart, not something that comes ‘upon the earth’ or ‘after death.” Friedrich Nietzsche

 

32 thoughts on “Wishing you all a heavenly day

  1. Good morning, Mary. Your house looks so lovely and beautiful. Just the kind of cozy place i like the best. In my Faith, heaven is described as nearness to God in this world and the next just as hell is distance from God. I feel that is true for me.

    • And, I was thinking, the image in your story will stay with me for a long time. We all help each other get close to God like you said yesterday…even with a smile. I smiled at a young nanny with a baby at the coffee shop yesterday. She sat at my table then because the stroller fit there out of the way and we hugged when she left. I was extra aware of smiles yesterday since I had just read your blog!

  2. You have placed in a few words, the words I’ve searched for so often in recent years and have never found. This is my belief. We make our own heaven and our own hell through the thoughts of our minds and here you’ve said it as Friedrich Nietzsche said years ago…that is my belief in a nutshell. Thank you for defining this for me, Mary. It is what my mind can accept.

    This morning also, I was awoken at 5 a.m. by Miss Meg’s need to go outside to go potty. This involves, in our climate, the donning of a heavy down coat, boots that don’t leak (finally discovered Bogs), turning on the outside lights, leashing up the pup and managing to get myself outside in one piece. After that was accomplished, she was returned to her crate in the bedroom, I dropped off to sleep again, thankfully. And I had the most wonderful dream. An old friend came to me in my dream, someone I had not seen for a number of years and I awoke feeling as though I’d been visited by an angel, the feeling of warmth and wellbeing was with me still. This is a double warm feeling this morning, thanks, Mary.
    SandyP in Canada

    • I like hearing about your life in Canada. Thanks for your excellent descriptions, SandyP!

  3. LOVE your wooden kitchen door and stone chimney, together they appear warm and strong , and very inviting to me. When I isolate (opposed to choosing solitude time) I’m in a “hell” of my own making, but when I connect and extend myself……it’s pure heaven. I will take a closer look at my “front door” today, Is it, am I , warm and inviting? If not, I will look for ways to change the things I can. Wishing you all heaven on earth today!!!!!

  4. Your home and kitchen door look so inviting Mary…love the wind chimes too! I’ve recently been taking some of my photos and making them into note cards…this would make a pretty card!
    Ann Lander’s story was just great, so simple and yet so true!
    I will be thinking of you today up north with your snow and icicles as I enjoy the warming up here in GA…love, Marian

  5. I also loved the photo. So warm and inviting. I even got a little excited feeling I was about to knock on your door. I will treasure it as I do the one of your living room with the tea lights lit on your round table. I feel you have given us the door into your home. Thank you for giving us all the feeling of being so welcomed and so enveloped in the essence of YOU!

  6. I have had two strange experiences — perhaps more sensations or imaginings — in my life, one that I thought was heaven and the other, hell.

    The first was many, many years ago on a morning when I arrived at my office in Philadelphia so early that no one else was there. My office was a glass enclosed space high up in (what was then) the highest highrise in the City. The sun was just rising over the Delaware River and I was suddenly infused with an overwhelming sense and sensation of connectedness and serenity and safety and fulfillment, the most beautiful feeling I’ve ever experienced, bar none.

    The second came in a (sleeping) dream right after 9/11, when the military thought they were close to capturing Bin Laden in the mountains. I dreamt that Bin Laden was killed and his being, his “soul” was cast into the utter darkness of outer space, just traveling through bleak, cold, dark emptiness forever and ever, unable to connect with anyone or anything.

    These two visions have stayed with me through the years and become my own visions of heaven and hell.

    I’ve never shared this with anyone else. I feel safe sharing it with all of you.

    • Jill!! Thank you so much for trusting in this warm circle of friends and sharing your very poignant and visual experiences with us. Isn’t it wonderful that your actual experience in your office high above the city can be recalled whenever you wish, like a small polished stone you can keep in your pocket any time you need a reminder that the moment was so very real. – I love to think of all of us, stretched over the miles, becoming closer day by day through Mary’s posts, and as we extend to one another, comfort, encouragement and love from our singular long spoons. Grace abounds at White Feather Farm – just look at that front door! Welcome it says! Welcome to all, come in, rest awhile, read today’s post, fill yourself up with the companionship of those who gather here, go on your way today, and may all be well!

  7. I love the pics you post, Mary. The kitty ones, especially since I am a kitty person. Also love seeing snow pics since I have never lived where it snows and love seeing though not sure I would like living in it. “Feeding one another” is definitely where its at for me and those of us in programs of one sort or another are so fortunate.
    Thanks again–I look forward to your posts so much

  8. Wonderful story, Mary. Gives vision to why we are all here…to help one another along our paths.

    Equally wonderful picture of your kitchen door! I can easily imagine going through it, on a bitter cold day, slipping off my shoes right inside the door and sitting down to a nice cuppa!

    Winter dreams fulfilled! Thank you.

  9. This is such a powerful story Mary and offers such insight into the dynamics of relationships, love for one another, respect for each other, and trust. It reminds me of exercises we would use in leadership training courses…the power of creative thinking, teamwork, negotiation, compromise, and communication…all of which absolutely can create our own heaven or hell. Can’t wait to knock on your door!

  10. Today I awoke and discovered my internet connection was down. Looked out and saw the snow falling but not sticking – it was only 33 degrees. Then I decided to bake an apple pie. Had only three Granny Smith apples but enough to make a small pie.

    As the pie was baking and the soup cooking decided to try the internet once more. It connected and their was your kitchen door and all the wonderful ladies posting their comments.

    Having visited hell many times I can sincerely tell you heaven is a much more welcoming place and the food is much better also – all calories are able to be converted to energy for living a wonderful life.

  11. Dear Mary,

    The ending of this story made me catch my breath! Something so simple, and free of monetary cost! Why don’t we do this automatically?? Help each other? I’ve felt my outlook on the world shift a bit into more positive territory. I can make some heaven wherever I am.

    Thank you,
    From Fran

  12. Oh Mary, I love your kitchen door. Like Suzanne said it would be so welcoming to come and share a cuppa. If you and Jack move you’ll have to take your door with you. I too love Anne Landers story. So simple yet so very thought provoking.

  13. Mary, I concur exactly with your perceptions of heaven and hell. During visits over the holidays of family members coming to check out our “craziness”—that translates to our new home—the topic of abundance and need came up over dinner. Well, it became quite animated, everyone sharing their personal opinion. I always maintain that in a country so rich in abundance that no one should go to bed hungry.
    Suffice to say, after reading my feathered friends remarks here, I hope should the need arise, I’m buying a one way ticket to the farm; there is way more compassion and generosity here on this loving site than most familial settings.

    • Amen, Cheryl. I couldn’t agree with you more. If I’m feeling down, all I have to do is log onto this site and feel the warmth and compassion of those who visit here. Abundance, I would ask…was this in financial terms or in the enriching of the soul and spirit within.
      SandyP in Canada…and who is asking, how is your Meg doing?

      • Wish I had a video camera; Meg unfolds her impish sweet spirit with each day that passes. This is a little scamp who never knew how to play—how sad is that? But she’s learning from our dear Zoey, a much bigger Border Collie, who lives to chase a ball.
        The abundance I was referring to was simply the ability to feed a hungry mouth but in doing so enriches the soul and spirit.

  14. What a lovely story, and I do believe that we are responsible for trying to create our own heaven — and therefore contributing to the heaven of those we touch — on earth. But I do believe in an afterlife, and I love thinking of my parents reunited in heaven. For me, the comfort that it gives me is worth holding on to.

  15. Wonderful story and so true. But Mary, there is a heaven. I have seen it and sometimes can’t wait to get there.

  16. A day late here, but no matter, the message is wonderfully relevant and I love the responses as always! Blessings my friends.

Comments are closed.