small steps

a light on our staircase

a light on our staircase

One thing that I’ve learned from observing myself over the years is this: when I’m in the mood to bad-mouth someone or when I can’t wait to hear some “juicy little tidbit” (about someone else of course), it is a sure sign that I’m not doing too well, and my first order of business is to observe my own thoughts, and correct them.

I’ve also seen that it doesn’t help to berate myself or become discouraged with thoughts like, “I’ll never change!” or “What is wrong with me?!”….I am a human being in the process of waking up. I will make mistakes in my thinking (everyday) but I can become more aware, and make them less frequently. I can move, one step at a time, toward becoming the person that I want to be….and that small thought, gives me great hope.

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” Eleanor Roosevelt

 

14 thoughts on “small steps

  1. I’m currently reading the book Awakened Imagination by Neville. I just finished chapter four the other day called The Pruning Shears of Revision. Its all about reflecting on your day. If at any point during the day you did not say, act or do the things your better self would have done, then you are to imagine the events how they should have gone. Its giving yourself the opportunity for a redo. In time if you practice this exercise, your better self will show up more often and so will the outcomes that your loving self brings.

  2. Mary , beautiful stairway and beautiful window , natural “light” and candle “light” , “a picture is worth a thousand words” and your photo says a lot. A wise friend once said “Sandy, you can make forty mistakes every day, and if you don’t use them up you can carry them over to tomorrow” , forty being just a number but the message was allowing myself to be the imperfect human being that I am, and not being so hard on myself. When these MISS TAKES, just like in a movie production happen, I can acknowledge them, let them go, and start my day over in the way I want to be acting, behaving. I get to start this 24 hrs. over whenever i need to. This helps me move forward in a positive “light” and not stay stuck in the negative behavior. Thank you for the gift of small steps today!!!!

  3. Emerson said “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” I make my share of blunders, and oh, do some absurdities creep in from time to time, but I also know that I awaken with a soaring spirit every day. And I feel great expectation from that. It helps me to dwell in the hope and not in the old baggage.

  4. What a beautiful message of hope and rebirth to start this week. We celebrate birthdays when in truth each day is born anew to us as a gift – one of last week’s themes. Jane, thank you for sharing from Awakened Imagination – I’m adding it to my must read list, and Kathye, the quote from Emerson, perfect! I learned today on Writer’s Almanac that it is the birthday of Albert Schweitzer – the brief biographical paragraph on this extraordinary man, so selfless and giving, make it another must read for 2013. Thank you Mary for starting our week with light and love!

  5. Dear Mary. Your staircase window is inviting and peaceful……as is your message for today. Thank you for the reminder that sometimes being hard on ourselves is the ultimate crime. Sometimes I struggle with self-forgiveness and spend too much time on analyzing my blunders instead of moving forward into the light of realization. Your post today helps me stay centered and loving…..just like the photo of your staircase depicts quietude and strength.

  6. Mary, what a beautiful picture of your home, it reflects back the light of those who live there. It constantly amazes me how your words and the words of the WFF flock are so relevant…right now, right here. Sending love and light back to all.

  7. “Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” Eleanor Roosevelt. Love the quote, Mary. How true is the last.
    SandyP in Canada

  8. I have always loved that quote by Eleanor Roosevelt, She was such a wise woman. Mary your house is so warm and inviting with the lit candles and warm dark wood. Every picture you take of your pets and your home are amazing and I go to bed at night with the pictures in my mind. Thank you!

  9. What’s wrong with me? Or I’ll never change! These are things I tell myself all the time when I don’t succeed in sticking to my meal plan (for type 1 diabetes) or lose any weight. Thank you for your encouraging words, I guess I remain a work in progress!
    Xoxo Marian

Comments are closed.